Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Simplicity: 4207 (Mens shirts, shorts, belt) - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 160 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 4 people   
Reviewed by:AnitaJJ
photo
About AnitaJJstar
FL USA
Member since: 7/6/08
Reviews written: 38
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/16/10 8:35 AM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RLL said...
What a great fabric. I make all my hubby's shirts..both casual/Hawaiian and his dress shirts. He loves that he can pick out the fabrics (I once was not able to even drag him into a fabric store!) You did a very nice job but a warning to you.....he WILL want more!
11/16/10 10:12 AM
marec said...
I love the look your dog is giving him! A great shirt in a wonderful fabric. It's not too long in my eyes.
11/16/10 10:25 AM
cloudyhn said...
Very nice Anita. I agree with Marec it's not long. He's quite a model for the photos :)
11/16/10 12:08 PM
Skaapie said...
Your Doggie steals the show! This is how I picture the dialogue..... Dog: "What are you doing?" Man: "Pondering the meaning of Life, the Universe and Everything" Dog: (Rolling eyes) "Time for lunch" I think all our review pics should have a pet in them! Oh, and by the way, the shirt looks pretty cool too. :-)
11/17/10 4:58 AM
voet said...
I appreciate any woman who sews for men. You did a great job and I would really like to know where you got that fabric. I like rayon for camp shirts; it is so comfortable to wear. Regarding the length of the shirt, I disagree a bit with some of the other posters. I think it would look better shorter. There is a very fine line sometimes, but in the longer length it says "home-made" to me. Also, if I were wearing a shirt that long, I would find it a bit annoying to have to pull up all that fabric to get something out of my pocket.
11/17/10 8:26 AM
Diane333 said...
Great shirt and fabric. Love the models. I think it does need to be shorter.
11/17/10 8:31 AM
JEF said...
Love the shirt!
11/17/10 9:07 AM
Hilary said...
I love it! The shirt came out beautifully, and the fabric is gorgeous. I love the photos-and the dog is the perfect questioning companion, hehe). I have 3 DS and DH too (not to mention 2 dogs), so the photo shoot description really had me LOL-it all sounds so familiar! lol, thanks for the great review!
11/17/10 10:18 AM
JuanitaVA said...
Great shirt. But that photo shoot... wow. That's fantastic! I can imagine my bf doing something similar, if I was ever kind enough to make a shirt for him.
11/17/10 10:41 AM
Renren said...
Love the shirt and the fabric! Love the dog and his/her "What, sir, are you doing?" look! Love the man and his many poses! And Anita, you are just a fabulous matcher of patterns to fabric! (And everything about your recent reviews screams--in a decidedly nice way--FLORIDA!) I think your review has convinced me I can make a shirt for my dh. Hmm, rayon challis.
11/17/10 10:47 AM
maryfrana said...
Great shirt and that fabric!! Hard to find rayon Hawaiian locally. Wonderful model. Your work is always so beautiful.
11/19/10 12:32 PM
angela langan said...
Nice job, I am looking at mens patterns andthis may be just what I need. Your model looks a bit dubious, lol. You are quite the seamstress. Do you ever buy fabrics for mens shirts from Michaels? He has awesome shirt fabric I think.
11/25/10 10:28 PM
AnitaJJ said...
Thanks for the nice comments. I appreciate it. And to the opinions of too long vs. OK length. My bf says it's fine as is, so that's good enuf for me. Angelout... thanks for the link to Michael's. No, I haven't shopped there. We found lots of Hawaiian fabric on a trip to Maui and also at a fab store in Seattle.
11/29/10 9:14 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Vogue Patterns 1087 MISSES' DRESS
photo
Review by Mazzygirl on 6/6/10
Read Review

Burda 7086 Pattern
Burda 7086 Pattern

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 9448 Pattern
Burda 9448 Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Other no. 12
photo
Review by Tini on 6/4/04
Read Review

You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Pyramid Purse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $6.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Flat Cap Digital Pattern
You Sew Girl Flat Cap Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $11.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 605 Pattern
Petite Plus 605 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby "I Can Do It" Cloth Activity Book Pattern
SewBaby

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us