Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1060 (MISSES' COAT) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 921 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 5 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:iSewQuiltArt
photo
About iSewQuiltArtstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 4/4/08
Reviews written: 104
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 53
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/17/10 2:21 AM


See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jilly cooper said...
such a shame it didn't work, thanks for being honest, it definitely helps :)
11/17/10 5:30 AM
MNBarb said...
I wonder what happened? It's so close to working. I went back to look at other reviews to see what was different. You did a really nice job with your sewing and fabric choice. The front looks good from what I can see. I also have a rectangle shape and always hope the shaped waist will make me look curvy. Maybe just smaller back darts could have prevented that poufy-ish upper back. So sorry you worked so hard and ended up with something you didn't like.
11/17/10 7:43 AM
sewing addict said...
What a pity that all your work didn't pay off. Other than the upper back area, the rest works well. There is definitely surplus material between collar and waistline.If it were lined it may sit better - it looks like it is sticking to your clothes. Great review and timely as I too was attracted to that pattern - liked the stitching at the waist area.
11/17/10 8:02 AM
Sewliz said...
Nice work! It looks like a cozy coat. The fit isn't as bad as it appears in my opinion. I think the back darts are not placed where you need them. They look like they are too low for your figure. Perhaps you can un-sew them and place them higher.
11/17/10 8:37 AM
carolynw said...
Sorry this did not work out for you - at least you hadn't spent a lot on fabric and maybe you will be able to sell the pattern
11/17/10 8:52 AM
RLL said...
How upsetting after your hard work. I agree that it does NOT appear to be a good look for you. Shake it off and move on :) .
11/17/10 9:26 AM
Vonnevo said...
QQ, your coat is quite close to working. I can see the darts at the back seem to have made the back section smaller and the front is being pulled to the back. Just a suggestion - Is it possible to release the darts in the back to add extra width across the waist section? This should take care of the fullness above the darts and also reduce the flare at the side seams. A self fabric belt could add shaping at the back.
11/17/10 9:41 AM
mastdenman said...
Is it possible to refit the darts in back. Maybe let one set out so that it's looser? It seems that the darts may be too low or maybe that a horizontal pinch of fabric needed to come out of the back.
11/17/10 10:25 AM
clio59 said...
Sorry it didn't work out how you hoped. The front looks good - it's just the back darts that are the problem. I also think that a lining would make the coat look very different on. Thanks for your honest review
11/17/10 12:06 PM
iSewQuiltArt said...
Thanks for the good ideas and feedback everyone. If the darts were any higher at the front, they'd be up over the top of the centre of my bust. The back darts are doing something funny, but so is the fabric from the dolman sleeves- its like there is just too much fabric back there. I had thought to taper in the sideseams and change the line of the coat, or even shorten it to a jacket length but I am still thinking is it worth it with this fabric, do to that. Maybe I'd be better to start over with a different pattern with the collar style the same and some flared cuffs, but which has more seams where I can take in or let out to try to fit the coat better to my body. The last thing I want to do is invest more time on a coat that still may be disappointing if its a matter that the style isn't compatible with my shape through the back/shoulders/ waist. And its not a total bust, I did learn quite a few valuable things from making this that will be very useful when I later make another coat.
11/17/10 3:58 PM
bebrown said...
$30 for a Vogue pattern -- OUCH!
11/18/10 9:14 AM
iSewQuiltArt said...
Yes, $30 does smart. I have discovered wonderful online pattern shopping, sometimes even with shipping the patterns work out alot cheaper when on sale.
11/18/10 11:12 PM
sewbarbie said...
I really like the way the unbuttoned coats looks on you, except for the back. I tried mine on and noticed that mine fits a little lower on the hip. What if you released the center back seam below the waist so it will sit lower on the "bum". If it were mine I would also raise the hem 1-1/2 inches. You did a beautiful job and I think its easily salvageable.
2/15/11 12:57 PM
Gendun said...
I agree that the darts on the front could not be higher - they look too high as it is. The person who recommended a muslin nailed it: Like any fitted garment, it really needs to be adjusted for personal shape. Vonnevo's idea seems like a good one. As for $30 for a pattern, I buy mine when Vogue online has a sale. They go for as little as 3.99 $US. Sometimes the shipping bites (for those of us not the US), but at that price order a few at once. Thanks for the review. :)
9/10/12 12:25 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

HotPatterns 1089
photo
Review by Immelu on 8/29/09
Read Review

Simplicity 4043 Pattern( Size ALL SIZES )
Simplicity 4043 Pattern( Size ALL SIZES )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6277 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
New Look 6277 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 7911
photo
Review by goosegreen on 3/30/10
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Classic Footed Pajamas Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Classic Footed Pajamas Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate A-Line A La Mode Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate A-Line A La Mode Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us