SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 10-2009-126 (Leather Jacket)

1 more reviews
Viewed 633 times 
Reviewed by:mylittleelephant
photo

 
 
About mylittleelephantstar
NA UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 1/1/07
Reviews written: 21
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 24 people
patterns reviewed: 19
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/18/10 8:33 AM
Last Updated:11/19/10 8:05 AM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 34 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
44 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
no7262 said...
This jacket turned out great! Thanks so much for such a detailed review! Nora :)
11/18/10 8:42 AM
Nan Kay said...
Jacket looks good. Your idea to use the machine without thread to give you marks for hand stitching is great. I hadn't tried that method. Sometimes 3-4 layers of leather just won't stitch on a regular machine, so I'll try your way. thanks for sharing.
11/18/10 8:57 AM
solosmocker said...
Gorgeous and those elbow patches are really great.
11/18/10 9:03 AM
annie11 said...
LOVE this jacket! Thanks for your pictures of how to un-petite the pattern. It really has beautiful lines.
11/18/10 9:23 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Thank you ladies for your comments, this jacket took me whole autumn to make and as if to reflect that the review became very long, so thank you for even reading this ;-)
11/18/10 9:25 AM
ChristinePDX said...
I am admire you so much for making a leather jacket AND using Burda instructions to do it! I love it.
11/18/10 10:05 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Remarkable job! Fabulous jacket! I am in awe. I so enjoyed reading your review. Thanks for the accompanying photos and very helpful hints. This is truly "the review of the day!" PR should feature "the review of the month" at the end of each month, and I vote for yours to be featured for November!
11/18/10 10:07 AM
French.Seam said...
It looks good, I've only ever sewn leather on an industrial machine, I wouldn't attempt it on my plastic Janome. "There has never been a better Singer or perhaps a better sewing machine ever made than the 201k"
11/18/10 10:11 AM
Elke said...
Beautiful jacket and it looks fabulous on you! Great fit! Thanks for a very helpful review.
11/18/10 10:17 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Just beautiful and the fit looks great! Thanks for all the tips in your review, love the look on you.
11/18/10 10:21 AM
Twinset said...
Fantastic leather jacket with great finishing inside! Wow, be proud of yourself!
11/18/10 10:48 AM
Catbird said...
I'm in love with this jacket of yours!! This was the pattern I picked as the winner from the October Burda, but I haven't traced mine out yet. (I dread that part.) I LOVE the way yours came out and thank you for this inspiring and detailed review. I agree with AnneMarie60: Review of the Month!
11/18/10 11:36 AM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous jacket! Thank you for the detailed comments about the process
11/18/10 12:08 PM
in between things said...
Great review. Super Jacket! You will have this for years to come and always remember the trials but ultimate success! Lovely job!
11/18/10 1:10 PM
lakaribane said...
I love it and I don't even need a leather jacket in this weather but if I did, you sold me on this pattern!
11/18/10 1:29 PM
Kayseri said...
Marvelous jacket, you should be so proud.
11/18/10 1:37 PM
Amanda S. said...
I think it's gorgeous and can't believe this is your first leather project! This design is one of my favorites and I have plans to make it up, but most likely won't get to it until next winter. However, I'm using a fake leather because real leather intimidates me. Thanks for such an awesome and informative review! I'll definitely be referencing it when I make this pattern. Great job!!!
11/18/10 2:46 PM
CynthiaSue said...
oh i am beyond green eyed right now. this is my absolute dream dream jacket that i have wanted to sew ever since it came out and I have to un-petitie as well. yours came out so amazing. it looks so good on you. i am glad you reviewed because it will hlep me when i make it but i'm stilll jealous, jealous jealous!! You have such a great figure for the siluoette as well.
11/18/10 4:09 PM
Sew4Fun said...
Totally gorgeous! You did an AMAZING job!! I want you jacket!
11/18/10 5:17 PM
Sarsez said...
Yes, I want your jacket too! Beautiful fit and great work add up to a show stopper of a jacket.
11/18/10 5:32 PM
gabrielle said...
That is my ideal jacket! Great job.
11/18/10 6:11 PM
Paris75008 said...
Oh my, that jacket is just unbelievably gorgeous. It looks so professional! I love the zippers, the inside lining and finishing and just about everything else. You can be really proud of yourself, you've done an absolutely outstanding job! Great review too, with lots of helpful tips.
11/18/10 6:16 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
Wow, your jacket is amazing!!!! You should be so proud! Thanks for all the helpful advice too. I've always liked this pattern.
11/18/10 7:40 PM
DaisyEsq said...
Your jacket is perfect!
11/18/10 7:52 PM
khunter said...
fantastic!!! That is an understatement. I have to know where you got your zippers? thanks !
11/18/10 8:42 PM
JillyBe said...
What everyone else said - it's perfect and it's gorgeous on you! And thank you for an excellent review as well!
11/18/10 9:19 PM
sew2little said...
WOW!
11/18/10 10:02 PM
Sharonspils said...
Gorgeous jacket and thank you for the detailed review.
11/18/10 10:47 PM
Lori V said...
Fantastic jacket.
11/18/10 11:37 PM
Laurasews said...
Love this! Very inspirational.
11/19/10 0:01 AM
mm said...
I think you HAVE made the perfect leather jacket. It is amazing.
11/19/10 3:10 AM
Auntchelle said...
Beautiful work. A stunning jacket. Wow.
11/19/10 3:49 AM
mylittleelephant said...
Thank you ladies for your comments, there's nothing like receiving positive comments in PR especially after a time consuming project like this :-). khunter, I added more info about zippers in the review. Amanda S., I can understand some people don't want use real leather, the reason can be ethical, the smell of it, or just the texture etc.... but if it's only because " intimidating to use", I'd say you might as well just try it. I find leather a lot more flexible material and controllable than I thought of it before, it doesn't ease like fabric but it's kind of spongy as opposed to a cheap imitation leather I used for a muslin which I felt was a bit like a cardboard. The curve of back peplum of this jacket is very deep and I needed a bit of effort on making a good flat hem, I folded, and pinched and left it overnight see here, and next day I took clips out and skived those fullness. As you can see in the photo, hem edge isn't affected much and I managed to press it more flat by fingers, to make clean hem, rest is hidden under lining. I think I could press it because real leather has spongy hand, whereas my cheap imitation leather stayed and behaved like a cardboard, I had to make deep wedges almost to the folded hem edge to make it really flat, means that it wouldn't be possible to hide them by lining, which wouldn't be nice. This obviously depends on which leather you would use and quality of imitation leather you would use but this is what I mean.
11/19/10 7:18 AM
papago said...
Stunning and Inspirational!!!!
11/19/10 8:42 AM
Dynamo said...
What a tremendous amount of work. You should be extremely proud of your fabulous jacket!
11/19/10 8:45 AM
Batik said...
Amazing documentation - thanks, I learned so much.
11/19/10 9:12 AM
inkstain said...
Beautiful work! Inkstain http://chanelno6.blogspot.com/
11/19/10 9:56 AM
Maree P said...
Your jacket is exquisite - I adore it - and you look so chic in it - congratulations. Your review is very helpful to others wanting to make this.
11/19/10 7:37 PM
Renren said...
Elegant and edgy! Great review.
11/19/10 10:02 PM
MNBarb said...
I'm in awe of your sewing skills on this jacket. It's just beautiful and is a style that will last for many seasons so you can enjoy your hard work for years.
11/19/10 10:11 PM
sewbehind said...
That is such fine work. Gorgeous, beautiful jacket. Wow, I am very impressed with your work.
11/19/10 11:16 PM
cindyann said...
Bravo! Nicely done. I have this pattern traced but I've never gotten the nerve to move forward with it. Thank you for the fantastic review.
11/20/10 9:41 AM
Kay Y said...
Your jacket is fantastic! Very good execution with difficult materials. And the pictures are so helpful. Thanks!
11/21/10 11:11 AM
spottedroo said...
Beautiful jacket and a great review. I have been thinking about making this jacket for a while. It's great to see how your came out!
7/31/11 9:56 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

McCall's 6436

photo
by: Doobee64

Review
Simplicity 8911

photo
by: Sdtex

Review
JSM-Pant 1

JSM-Pant 1

Buy Now
Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern

Favorite Things A Wallet Purse Pattern

Buy Now