SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 3101 (Misses Evening Dress from 1954)

Viewed 966 times 
Reviewed by:Kellie R.
photo

 
 
About Kellie R.starstar
Member since: 7/4/07
Reviews written: 58
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 55
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/18/10 9:29 PM
Last Updated:1/18/11 11:07 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 29 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
45 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
DesignsByDenise said...
What a beautiful gown. I love the color. Thank goodness for cruises, for without them most of us would never have occasion to dress up, I'd wager. I wish now that I had made something as lovely as your gown for my cruise in October (although I wouldn't have had room for it in my luggage!).
2/5/11 5:26 PM
mesewlot said...
What a beautiful gown!!!
1/19/11 11:52 AM
redhotpepper said...
Stunning! You always do such beautiful work. I agree that there are not nearly enough formal occasions anymore.
1/18/11 9:37 PM
kwpanthermom said...
Wow this is just gorgeous! And I just saw this pattern on a vintage site today while looking for a design for a prom dress. The ruching is stunning and I adore the color. Thank you for such an informative review!
1/18/11 5:34 PM
Terri A said...
Fabulous!
1/18/11 3:10 PM
sharkycharming said...
Amazing, Kellie -- absolutely gorgeous. I missed it the first time you posted so I am glad I noticed it this time.
1/18/11 11:26 AM
sewbehind said...
Wow! That is just gorgeous, Kellie. The dress is so nicely made and shows off your figure beautifully.
12/1/10 6:41 PM
pammieh said...
Excellent finish! I love the dress - congrats! Now, I have something to aspire to!
11/30/10 1:21 AM
Barbara V said...
So beautiful. You did a fabulous job.
11/29/10 10:33 PM
booran said...
You and your gown looks stunning - hope you have a wonderful cruise
11/29/10 8:29 PM
Jali said...
Beautiful work and truly a piece of art. Hope you get to wear this gown over and over. It deserves all the best compliments.
11/29/10 7:45 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Thanks for sharing your fabulous photos! You looked stunning!
11/29/10 3:35 PM
Paris75008 said...
Total glam! Beautiful work, beautiful dress. You can be really proud of your creation. Love the color and fabrics. The inside is almost as exquisite as the outside.
11/29/10 11:46 AM
DorothyK said...
Absolutely stunning. You did an impeccable job. Wearing this dress will be the highlight of the cruise.
11/21/10 10:54 AM
Donna Likes Golf said...
Unbelievable! Absolutely gorgeous! Stunning! Awesome! You do beautiful work!
11/21/10 8:57 AM
Annette1 said...
THERE she is, MISS AMERICA! :o) You look BEAUTIFUL! Look at your TINY little waist in this dress! The RUCHING is to die for (did I mention I LOVE ruching). Even the BACK is gorgeous. And the COLOR shows off your tan to perfection. Each step of construction is masterful, as well. Bravo!
11/20/10 7:27 PM
Kellie R. said...
Thank you so much foir all of your kind words. This is one of my favorite projects to date and I just cannot wait to wear it. I promise to post pics after the cruise - you ladies are the best!
11/20/10 11:11 AM
sewmytime said...
Gorgeous gown, wow!!!!
11/20/10 9:17 AM
MarianS said...
Drop Dead Gorgeous!! Beautiful fabics, beautifully constructed! You look amazing in it. Congratulations, and bon voyage!!!
11/20/10 0:25 AM
cmarie12 said...
I'm speechless at how gorgeous this gown is! You are going to be absolutely stunning when you go to dinner on the cruise!
11/19/10 11:41 PM
Wino said...
Fabulous dress ! You look so glamorous-dressing up is such fun.
11/19/10 9:57 PM
no7262 said...
GORGEOUS! Nora :)
11/19/10 7:56 PM
pwellock said...
Beautiful dress...looks very elegant on you.
11/19/10 7:32 PM
SewWil said...
Gorgeous! Beautiful job on the sewing. I love the color
11/19/10 3:16 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Outstanding and excellent review.
11/19/10 2:23 PM
JennifeRose7 said...
I love it! Soooo Grace Kelly!
11/19/10 11:51 AM
Twinset said...
So beautiful, so flattering! Thanks for reviewing this and thanks for all the pics!
11/19/10 11:35 AM
drsue said...
Just wonderful!! It's terrific that this classic design has been brought to life by you. Enjoy the cruise.
11/19/10 11:08 AM
cindyann said...
You look amazing. Very nice work on that gown, it's beautiful.
11/19/10 10:20 AM
Gelbean said...
Stunning dress! Thanks for adding so many photos!
11/19/10 9:36 AM
RLL said...
Absolutely beautiful.
11/19/10 9:23 AM
carolynw said...
Really gorgeous - you will be sure to turn heads at the formal party - like you I love the dress up evenings during a cruise - you feel so good and special and also lots of fun to see the other ladies in their best!!
11/19/10 9:11 AM
neverenoughtime said...
Kelly, that is so pretty! Your sewing is beautiful too. This is one of those garments that is as pretty inside as out. Your writing style is easy to read. You have been the treat with my morning coffee. Cindy
11/19/10 8:25 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
All your painstaking work on the inside is reflected on the outside of this stunning dress. Aren't you so pleased to see how beautifully the dress hangs and how perfectly it fits? Love the rich color. You did a fabulous job!
11/19/10 8:19 AM
macgardenia said...
Wow! what a beautiful dress. I wish I had the opportunity to sew it.
11/19/10 7:51 AM
marec said...
Kellie, this is outstanding! The color and fabric itself are so rich. I look forward to seeing pics from your cruise. Congratulations on completing such a difficult dress-it is beautiful.
11/19/10 1:44 AM
Sue W said...
Incredible. Just incredible! You did a wonderful job and you look absolutely stunning in it.
11/19/10 1:13 AM
candicer said...
What a lovely gown! Wear it with pride on your cruise - you did a beautiful job!
11/19/10 0:20 AM
mm said...
Wow!
11/19/10 0:11 AM
Christas said...
Stunningly gorgeous! Wonderful review!
11/19/10 0:04 AM
Sarsez said...
Fabulous gown. The colour is gorgeous. Terrrific work. I'm with you, there are so few opps to get really dressed up that when they turn up you have to go all out!
11/18/10 11:54 PM
marjoriekh said...
Stunning dress and very informative review. I've just looked back through your past reviews, too -- you do beautiful work!
11/18/10 10:49 PM
Erin D said...
You did an amazing job!
11/18/10 10:44 PM
21wale said...
This is just lovely! Wonderful fit and the color really suits you.
11/18/10 10:01 PM
DaisyEsq said...
Your gown is just gorgeous!
11/18/10 9:54 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Class Details

Butterick 5744

photo
by: LTC

Review
Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

Christine Jonson Inset Jacket

More Info
Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

Christine Jonson Cross Your Heart Top & V-Neck Tee

More Info
Simplicity 2437

photo
by: LM2HYD

Review