Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Lazy Girl Designs: 108 (Sassy Bag) thumbsup - Type:Accessories    printable version
Viewed 2735 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Rustybobn
photo
Friend of PR
About Rustybobnstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 4/5/02
Reviews written: 119
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 60 people
patterns reviewed: 114
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/29/08 11:34 AM
Last Updated:6/17/02 7:58 PM


See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $8.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $8.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Thanks for calling this to my attention! I like my purses small, too, and this seems like a wonderful little pattern.
6/17/02 2:44 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
This looks like a pattern I could use. I HATE carrying a big clunky purse. But a cute small one like this would be fun-also a good way to use my leftover fabrics. I am always looking for gift ideas, and this looks like a good one.
6/17/02 4:20 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
what a cute purse! I love it. I've never made a handbag before. What types of notions and special skills (if any) are required for this?
6/17/02 6:10 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
All you need, other than fabric, is a piece of hook-and-loop (like Velcro) for the closure, 11 inches of 1/4" elastic which controls the main compartment, and some craft fleece to give the bag body.
6/17/02 6:52 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Looks very good, congratulations!
6/18/02 2:17 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
What a cute purse! Where can we get this pattern?
6/18/02 10:36 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Duh on me - I see the web address in your review. I'm really not that clueless, just haven't had coffee yet. :-)
6/18/02 10:39 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
clc said...
I just made three of these and couldn't be happier. The directions are good and simple- the only thing I did differently was to use a zigzag to attach the elastic to the folded edge. The straight stitch just took the stretch out of it. I also attached the front flap from the back for better visibility rather that take a chance on "catching" all the layers. I ran out of craft fleece on my third one, so I used Warm and Natural -- turned out fine. Next one I make might get an applique treatment on the flap.
3/11/03 11:32 AM
Rustybobn said...
I saw many of these made up at a quilt show last weekend. They made me want to make more--so neat, so cute, so useful!
3/12/03 11:18 AM
Rebecca H said...
There are now a lot more Lazy Girl Designs bags: http://www.lazygirldesigns.com/bags.html, and she also sells acrylic bottoms for them now, so they will be more stable. I really want to make one of these. Thanks for the review.
2/1/04 9:33 AM
Stargirl7 said...
This is really cute. Thanks for the tip about turning the flap - I hate cutting the fabric and I don't mind leaving a bit of a seam open as I'm always topstitching everything anyway.
7/11/06 9:31 AM
cindy3539 said...
Thanks for the heads up on the fusible webbing idea!
11/14/07 2:44 PM
Oceanpeg said...
This is really a nice bag. Yours came out good. Just the right size to be used as a camera bag. I like the larger ones for daily use, such as the Miranda Day Bag. This one sorta reminds me of a messenger bag. Just made my first Sassy up and about to write a review on it.
2/26/09 5:00 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

McCall's 5616 Girl's Dress
photo
Review by Erica B. on 5/19/08
Read Review

Butterick 5281 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Butterick 5281 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4201 Pattern ( Size 20-22-24 )
Butterick 4201 Pattern ( Size 20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2178
photo
Review by Johanna Lu on 7/5/11
Read Review

Oliver S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )
Oliver   S Book Report Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 5-12 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )
Peek-A Boo Bathing Beauty Swim Cap Digital Pattern ( Size infant- toddler- child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern
You Sew Girl Mod Bag Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern
Sewing Workshop New Yorker Jacket Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us