SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Lazy Girl Designs> 108 (Sassy Bag)

9 more reviews
Viewed 2738 times 
Reviewed by:Rustybobn
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Rustybobnstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 4/5/02
Reviews written: 119
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 61 people
patterns reviewed: 114
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:4/29/08 11:34 AM
Last Updated:6/17/02 7:58 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    
Available for sale on PR: $8.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $8.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
said...
Thanks for calling this to my attention! I like my purses small, too, and this seems like a wonderful little pattern.
6/17/02 2:44 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
This looks like a pattern I could use. I HATE carrying a big clunky purse. But a cute small one like this would be fun-also a good way to use my leftover fabrics. I am always looking for gift ideas, and this looks like a good one.
6/17/02 4:20 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
what a cute purse! I love it. I've never made a handbag before. What types of notions and special skills (if any) are required for this?
6/17/02 6:10 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
All you need, other than fabric, is a piece of hook-and-loop (like Velcro) for the closure, 11 inches of 1/4" elastic which controls the main compartment, and some craft fleece to give the bag body.
6/17/02 6:52 PM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Looks very good, congratulations!
6/18/02 2:17 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
What a cute purse! Where can we get this pattern?
6/18/02 10:36 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
said...
Duh on me - I see the web address in your review. I'm really not that clueless, just haven't had coffee yet. :-)
6/18/02 10:39 AM Click here if you wish to edit your comment
clc said...
I just made three of these and couldn't be happier. The directions are good and simple- the only thing I did differently was to use a zigzag to attach the elastic to the folded edge. The straight stitch just took the stretch out of it. I also attached the front flap from the back for better visibility rather that take a chance on "catching" all the layers. I ran out of craft fleece on my third one, so I used Warm and Natural -- turned out fine. Next one I make might get an applique treatment on the flap.
3/11/03 11:32 AM
Rustybobn said...
I saw many of these made up at a quilt show last weekend. They made me want to make more--so neat, so cute, so useful!
3/12/03 11:18 AM
Rebecca H said...
There are now a lot more Lazy Girl Designs bags: http://www.lazygirldesigns.com/bags.html, and she also sells acrylic bottoms for them now, so they will be more stable. I really want to make one of these. Thanks for the review.
2/1/04 9:33 AM
Stargirl7 said...
This is really cute. Thanks for the tip about turning the flap - I hate cutting the fabric and I don't mind leaving a bit of a seam open as I'm always topstitching everything anyway.
7/11/06 9:31 AM
cindy3539 said...
Thanks for the heads up on the fusible webbing idea!
11/14/07 2:44 PM
Oceanpeg said...
This is really a nice bag. Yours came out good. Just the right size to be used as a camera bag. I like the larger ones for daily use, such as the Miranda Day Bag. This one sorta reminds me of a messenger bag. Just made my first Sassy up and about to write a review on it.
2/26/09 5:00 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Simplicity 2959

photo
by: Alice Wang

Review
Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Sewing Workshop Ann's Cardigan & Tank

Buy Now
Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Sew Chic Fifth Avenue Dress Pattern (ln1311)

Buy Now