SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8696 (Misses Jacket And Belt)

5 more reviews
Viewed 650 times 
Reviewed by:VirginiasDghter
photo

 
 
About VirginiasDghter
OH USA
Member since: 3/6/10
Reviews written: 33
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 33
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/27/10 5:34 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
Really lovely - this is one of those patterns you go by and then someone makes it and you think WOW!! Your jacket looks wonderful in every way you showed how to wear it - elegant!!
11/27/10 5:45 PM
Athene said...
A beautiful coat. After seeing your review and angelout's review I must now get this pattern.
11/27/10 5:48 PM
dukaqwn said...
I loved your review. Normally, I would not have looked at this pattern, but your review and your pictures have changed my mind! Your blog is also inspiring; thanks so much for sharing.
11/27/10 6:47 PM
Wagtail said...
Your coat looks stunning. I love the things you did with the collar. It is so me too. Even though I'm down under, in almost summer, I must get this pattern for next winter. Hope it looks as good on me as it does on you.
11/27/10 8:08 PM
no7262 said...
This looks amazing on you! Nora :)
11/27/10 8:59 PM
Lori V said...
So elegant.
11/27/10 11:32 PM
lynne1nor said...
Wow that is stylish! Looks fabulous on you!
11/28/10 0:17 AM
lesliez said...
Fantastic coat. You wear it well.
11/28/10 0:50 AM
tess said...
A really classy looking coat, you look beautiful in it!
11/28/10 6:43 AM
Elke said...
Gorgeous coat and fabric...looks fantastic on you!
11/28/10 7:45 AM
JETrinity said...
Nice looking versatile jacket. I need one like this.
11/28/10 9:00 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
& so wonderful with the beret! Just lovely!
11/28/10 10:05 AM
christinawo said...
Your jacket is terrific and you look so chic in it. Thank you for your review. I never really noticed this pattern.
11/28/10 10:20 AM
annie11 said...
You wear this coat with such style! It looks wonderful on you. I have this pattern and have been stuck on what fabric to make it out of- I really like your choice.
11/28/10 11:08 AM
RLL said...
So stylish and classy. Wonderful look on you.
11/28/10 2:26 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
Thank you, thank you for the nice comments! This really is a fun and easy jacket to make. Happy sewing to all!
11/28/10 9:59 PM
DorothyK said...
Stunning. I love all the ways you can wear this coat.
11/29/10 1:00 PM
jsgirl said...
I love you coat! I have bought the pattern today but it does say that it needs to be made up in jersey I think. Did your fabric have some stretch?
11/29/10 7:23 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
Hi jsgirl - yes, you are right - the pattern does call for jersey. I wanted a little more structure than I thought jersey would give. The fabric that I used has some (one-way) stretch but certainly not enough to pass a "stretch" test - lol. FYI - the versatility in looks will depend largely upon how you situate the collar. This will also determine the amount of drape you get in the front. The more fluid the fabric, the more the drape - the less fluid the fabric - the less drape. Hope this helps!
11/29/10 8:37 PM
Jane S said...
Fabulous coat and terrific styling going on! Bravo.
11/29/10 8:43 PM
jsgirl said...
Hi Godsgirl Thankyou so much for your help but, can you tell me, are the sleeves quite snug fitting if not made up in a stretch fabric. I'm concerned that I may not be able to pull the sleeves on over another fine knit sweater.
11/30/10 8:00 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
Hi jsgirl - I think that if you wore a fine knit sweater you'd be okay. Anything more and you'd probably have to use a stretchier fabric or widen the sleeves some. I find that the sleeves on my jacket are good - not too snug. I had on a turtleneck underneath and could have still comfortably worn a fine knit sweater.
11/30/10 11:13 AM
angela langan said...
great job, I am going to retry it in a light weight wool like this!
12/2/10 10:29 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
Thanks Angelout! I look forward to seeing it! Happy Sewing!
12/3/10 6:12 AM
Sweetiebop said...
This is gorgeous and Thanks for your mention of the pockets.
12/3/10 7:18 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Kwik Sew 3478

photo
by: globalgran

Review
BurdaStyle Downloadable 01/2011 #130

photo
by: JustineSew...

Review
ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

ZIPPERS - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Buy Now
Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Victory Anouk Paper Pattern

Buy Now