Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8696 (Misses Jacket And Belt) thumbsup - Type:Coat/Jacket    printable version
Viewed 647 times 5 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:GodsgirlT
photo
About GodsgirlT
OH USA
Member since: 3/6/10
Reviews written: 32
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 32
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/27/10 5:34 PM


See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
25 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
Really lovely - this is one of those patterns you go by and then someone makes it and you think WOW!! Your jacket looks wonderful in every way you showed how to wear it - elegant!!
11/27/10 5:45 PM
Athene said...
A beautiful coat. After seeing your review and angelout's review I must now get this pattern.
11/27/10 5:48 PM
dukaqwn said...
I loved your review. Normally, I would not have looked at this pattern, but your review and your pictures have changed my mind! Your blog is also inspiring; thanks so much for sharing.
11/27/10 6:47 PM
Wagtail said...
Your coat looks stunning. I love the things you did with the collar. It is so me too. Even though I'm down under, in almost summer, I must get this pattern for next winter. Hope it looks as good on me as it does on you.
11/27/10 8:08 PM
no7262 said...
This looks amazing on you! Nora :)
11/27/10 8:59 PM
Lori V said...
So elegant.
11/27/10 11:32 PM
lynne1nor said...
Wow that is stylish! Looks fabulous on you!
11/28/10 0:17 AM
lesliez said...
Fantastic coat. You wear it well.
11/28/10 0:50 AM
tess said...
A really classy looking coat, you look beautiful in it!
11/28/10 6:43 AM
Elke said...
Gorgeous coat and fabric...looks fantastic on you!
11/28/10 7:45 AM
JETrinity said...
Nice looking versatile jacket. I need one like this.
11/28/10 9:00 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
& so wonderful with the beret! Just lovely!
11/28/10 10:05 AM
christinawo said...
Your jacket is terrific and you look so chic in it. Thank you for your review. I never really noticed this pattern.
11/28/10 10:20 AM
annie11 said...
You wear this coat with such style! It looks wonderful on you. I have this pattern and have been stuck on what fabric to make it out of- I really like your choice.
11/28/10 11:08 AM
RLL said...
So stylish and classy. Wonderful look on you.
11/28/10 2:26 PM
GodsgirlT said...
Thank you, thank you for the nice comments! This really is a fun and easy jacket to make. Happy sewing to all!
11/28/10 9:59 PM
DorothyK said...
Stunning. I love all the ways you can wear this coat.
11/29/10 1:00 PM
jsgirl said...
I love you coat! I have bought the pattern today but it does say that it needs to be made up in jersey I think. Did your fabric have some stretch?
11/29/10 7:23 PM
GodsgirlT said...
Hi jsgirl - yes, you are right - the pattern does call for jersey. I wanted a little more structure than I thought jersey would give. The fabric that I used has some (one-way) stretch but certainly not enough to pass a "stretch" test - lol. FYI - the versatility in looks will depend largely upon how you situate the collar. This will also determine the amount of drape you get in the front. The more fluid the fabric, the more the drape - the less fluid the fabric - the less drape. Hope this helps!
11/29/10 8:37 PM
Jane S said...
Fabulous coat and terrific styling going on! Bravo.
11/29/10 8:43 PM
jsgirl said...
Hi Godsgirl Thankyou so much for your help but, can you tell me, are the sleeves quite snug fitting if not made up in a stretch fabric. I'm concerned that I may not be able to pull the sleeves on over another fine knit sweater.
11/30/10 8:00 AM
GodsgirlT said...
Hi jsgirl - I think that if you wore a fine knit sweater you'd be okay. Anything more and you'd probably have to use a stretchier fabric or widen the sleeves some. I find that the sleeves on my jacket are good - not too snug. I had on a turtleneck underneath and could have still comfortably worn a fine knit sweater.
11/30/10 11:13 AM
angela langan said...
great job, I am going to retry it in a light weight wool like this!
12/2/10 10:29 PM
GodsgirlT said...
Thanks Angelout! I look forward to seeing it! Happy Sewing!
12/3/10 6:12 AM
Sweetiebop said...
This is gorgeous and Thanks for your mention of the pockets.
12/3/10 7:18 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

BurdaStyle Magazine 01-2009-106
photo
Review by Lisette on 3/26/10
Read Review

Salme Yoke Blouse Digital Pattern
Salme Yoke Blouse Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S School Bus T-Shirt Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Self Drafted Pattern 103821-1003
photo
Review by mowse on 7/8/08
Read Review

Veronica Pocketbook
Veronica Pocketbook

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pants Sewing DVD
Pants Sewing DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8839 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )
Vogue 8839 Pattern ( Size LRG-XLG-XXL )

Details
Price: $27.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8828 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
Vogue 8828 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $25.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us