Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 2966 (Tops) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1974 times 12 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
Reviewed by:Debbie Cook
photo
About Debbie Cookstarstarstarstar
Member since: 4/11/02
Reviews written: 192
Favored by: 387 people
patterns reviewed: 179
 
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/18/04 11:53 AM
Last Updated:7/10/04 9:02 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
29 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
els said...
Hi Debbie very nice blouse. quote:The other problem with this blouse is I've got that back neckline riding up thing again.quote. You have very straight shoulders that is the reason why your neckline rides up.You can alter this by scooping the back neckline out a bit.
6/18/04 12:37 PM
jlg said...
Very pretty, Debbie. I love the embroidery.
6/18/04 1:00 PM
PVA said...
Oh Debbie, what a wonderful job you have done with this pattern! Your shirt-tail looks so much nicer than the straight-across finish on the pattern photo. Way more flattering! I'll bet that seersucker is going to just get softer and softer, and even more wonderful in that hot humid climate. thanks for the review!
6/18/04 2:20 PM
Mbarkle said...
Debbie, this looks great on you. The darts aren't noticeable to anyone but you, I promise. I love this pattern too.
6/18/04 7:40 PM
AnneM said...
It does look like it was made for you! Darts, what darts? I really didn't notice the darts & had to go back & look after you mentioned them. I love what you did with the embroidery. You are an inspiration.
6/19/04 6:08 AM
Debbie Spriggs said...
I really like how your choice of embroidery draws the eye to the flattering vee-shaped neckline of your blouse. Beautiful!
6/19/04 6:56 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Nice save on gaping armholes.
6/19/04 7:10 AM
mag said...
I like your review. It is very thorough, and it is nice to have the pics of back view, etc. Very nice outfit.
6/19/04 9:30 AM
Modiste Madness said...
Another alternative to fix the back neck riding up is to change the slope of the shoulder seam. Raise the arm side probably 1/4 to 1/2 inch and redraw the seam line to the neck. It is hard to tell how much you will need just from a picture. You will need to ADD the corrresponding amount to the bottom of the armscye and redraw that area also. You and I are identical twins in the shoulders so I knew what the problem was right away. I am going to look at your other pictures to see what else might look good on me. Your blouse turned out great and is very flattering.
6/19/04 12:46 PM
Modiste Madness said...

6/19/04 12:53 PM
Skymom said...
Very attractive. I love the use of the embroidery--it's nicely integrated into the blouse design.
6/19/04 9:00 PM
Jennifer West said...
Very pretty blouse, Debbie. Great job on the fitting alterations.
7/10/04 9:15 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Blouse #2 is every bit as gorgeous as blouse #1! I really like how you've integrated the embroidery into the collar, and and the angled front hem treatment! The fit looks great, too!
7/10/04 9:18 PM
Awlful said...
What an absolutely beautiful shirt and it looks good on you!
7/10/04 9:39 PM
Awlful said...
what an absolutely beautiful shirt! Good on ya!
7/10/04 9:41 PM
jlg said...
Debbie, this is just lovely. Very becoming;
7/10/04 9:45 PM
kathi s said...
Really pretty blouse and very becoming. I don't think the length is unflattering- the embroidery is the focal point. Really nice alterations and the angle in the front is a great feature.
7/10/04 9:56 PM
Lori V said...
Wow, Debbie, I love the new blouse. Belinda and Armstrong give great advice. The length looks great and the fabric is so pretty.
7/10/04 10:42 PM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Your new blouse looks smashing, Debbie! Great use of the embroidered fabric.
7/11/04 4:01 AM
els said...
Debbie your new blouse fits you perfect, it will be definitely a winner now you already have made all the alterations to get that fit. I like the angled hemline on you.
7/11/04 5:57 AM
CarolynGM said...
Love the way you did that linen top. It was clearly worth all the effort. You should make several more of these.
7/11/04 7:02 AM
Rebecca D said...
The blouse turned out beautifully and while the length may not be perfect for your figure (as it would not be for mine), it looks wonderful on you. It's so bright, summery, and fresh.
7/11/04 7:30 AM
Hilary said...
AWESOME review, Debbie!! I have this pattern and have been chicken to try it. But with all the help from you and the other Talented Sewists on this board I am finally able to fit my own FB :oD I appreciate the time you all take to give such complete and informative reviews-I will use these tips!! Oh, and your blouse is *beautiful* I like the fringed selvedge instead of a hem~and the angled front center too. Great blouse, great review :o)
7/11/04 8:20 AM
JDpenelope said...
Beautiful! What an analytical sewist you are. I appreciate your clear descriptions and illustrative photos of your many strategic tweeks to make this pattern a winner.
7/11/04 8:50 AM
Sherril Miller said...
Debbie, I want that blouse! I love everything about it. The length is great and just where I'd wear it. Thanks for the review. I think this one will be part of my fall wardrobe--with sleeves though. Thanks for sharing your problems and great fixes.
7/11/04 11:07 AM
LoriB said...
Great review. Thanks for passing on the info about altering the armscye for the sleeveless version. This will save me frustration in the future, I'm sure! Your blouse is beautiful too. Very pretty!
7/11/04 2:29 PM
LindaS. said...
Debbie, this info is so helpful, especially about the extra ease in the armscyes where there will be sleeves. I'm not clear on how to remove this without adding an armscye dart as you did. Can it be done another way? Right now I've got a blouse already cut out and a dress ready to be cut out that will be sleeveless but the bodice pattern is the same as for the view with sleeves, so now I'm leary of attempting this. It sure does explain alot, though.
7/11/04 9:05 PM
Debbie Cook said...
LindaS, let's see if I can explain better -- the striped blouse with the armscye dart is BEFORE I knew about the excess ease which needs to be removed. In that case, I had to add the armscye dart because there was too much gaping without it. There is no armscye dart when you remove this ease, as I did for the white blouse. What you do is rotate that ease out of the armhole, which using slash/spread transfers it to the bust dart. If you do not have a full bust, you may not notice much gaping with an un-adjusted sleeveless pattern. The only way to know for sure is to sew up a test, or the top you already have cut. If you want to explore this more (and remember, I'm still learning), let's start a new topic on the Message Board.
7/11/04 9:17 PM
LindaS. said...
See the new topic on the MB.
7/11/04 11:17 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Vogue Patterns 2676
photo
Review by arianamani... on 6/19/09
Read Review

Butterick 5794 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 5794 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 5847 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )
McCalls 5847 Pattern ( Size 14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 5594
photo
Review by andread on 2/23/07
Read Review

Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (6m-4)
Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (6m-4)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern
Megan Nielsen Tania Culottes Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants
Sewing Workshop Quincy Top and Pants

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us