Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1944 (Vera Wang Bridal) thumbsup - Type:Formalwear    printable version
Viewed 3139 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 12 people   
Reviewed by:alicia
photo
Friend of PR
About aliciastar
NY USA
Member since: 9/1/03
Reviews written: 22
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 14
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/18/04 6:02 PM
Last Updated:6/18/04 9:28 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
minieme said...
Love the dress! Now you'd have to show us more photos of this GORGEOUS dress!!! The dress would have meant much more to your cousin with all the love and effort put in by yourself and your aunt.
6/18/04 6:14 PM
alicia said...
I forgot to mention that part of the difficulty with using a jacquard with a pattern was matching all the pieces. I used the matching notches on the pattern pieces and put them at the same point on the jacquard pattern - painstaking work, but the pattern flowed beautifully around the dress. Her husband didn't see any of it until she came out for the wedding... the look on his face was worth every moment!! ;)
6/18/04 6:16 PM
Oziroo said...
Gosh! what a project. It looks wonderful. Congratulations!
6/18/04 6:18 PM
alicia said...
I forgot to mention that part of the difficulty with using a jacquard with a pattern was matching all the pieces. I used the matching notches on the pattern pieces and put them at the same point on the jacquard pattern - painstaking work, but the pattern flowed beautifully around the dress.
6/18/04 6:29 PM
TanyaMT said...
Absolutely beautiful!
6/18/04 6:46 PM
Levone said...
Beautiful gown!
6/18/04 7:01 PM
SouthernStitch said...
What an accomplishment! The dress is gorgeous. Now you deserve to indulge yourself in some great outfits for you!
6/18/04 7:43 PM
moushka said...
Breathtaking! What a special gift. You provided your cousin with the priceless gift of your time and TLC. Please post some more pictures for us to admire.
6/18/04 7:47 PM
Linda E. said...
Beautiful dress and you go great painstaking work I love it.
6/18/04 9:14 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Beautiful job, congratulations!
6/18/04 9:49 PM
Mandolin82 said...
Beautiful Dress, great review! I picked up this pattern at a Joann's closeout, just because it was so gorgeous. I'm glad to see it made up!
6/18/04 10:48 PM
PVA said...
Oh how absolutely lovely! ! ! Thanks for all the pictures showing more detail. What a wonderful thing to do for a special person in your life. I certainly do look forward to the pictures of the bridesmaid dresses. I love the story of all the care you took to showcase the fabric and get it all just right. Thank you for this review. It made my day!
6/18/04 11:09 PM
Lori V said...
Alicia, what an incredible dress. Thanks for the in-depth review. Your gift of sewing for your cousin makes the gown even more special
6/18/04 11:17 PM
Ann Smith said...
Well this is just stunning! Imagine matching all that pattern. The picture with the red wine in front made me nervous....
6/18/04 11:18 PM
els said...
Alicia congratulations on the beautiful dress you made, it is gorgeous.
6/19/04 5:10 AM
Tini said...
Absolutly gorgeous! You did a really good job!!!
6/19/04 5:34 AM
AnneM said...
What a wonderful gift. It came out beautifully, also. That was very adventurous for you to do all that formal-wear sewing. Good review also, and thanks for the additional pictures.
6/19/04 6:16 AM
kathi s said...
Wow! There ought to be a pattern review rating for bravery! Absolutely gorgeous dress! Do you have pictures of the bridesmaids? Congratulations on a wonderful job. (Anne Smith, I saw the glass of red wine and went "Whoa!" too- lol)
6/19/04 8:19 AM
Lorna C. Newman said...
WOW just does not fully express the wayI feel about this project! Nicely done!
6/19/04 9:22 AM
cindyann said...
What a wonderful gift for your cousin. Beautiful dress. She looks radiant in it. I can appreciate that you didn't breath during the construction. LOL Thank you for the excellent review.
6/19/04 10:35 AM
Beezer said...

6/19/04 1:56 PM
Beezer said...
Wow! This is what I aspire to in my sewing. Thanks for sharing.
6/19/04 1:58 PM
Beezer said...

6/19/04 2:00 PM
Beezer said...

6/19/04 2:07 PM
bheath said...
Alicia - truly a labor of love! The dress is absolutely ethereal! What a wonderful gift! Fabulous job
6/19/04 3:17 PM
KathleenS said...
Great work and what a lovely present (though I think I would have put my foot down about all those bridesmaids! eek) Looking forward to seeing the bridesmaids' dresses.
6/19/04 11:53 PM
Sew it seams said...
Alicia! What an incredible dress! You must need a vacation after all of that work! Absolutly stunning! Thanks for all the photos. I, too was wanting to grab that glass of red wine out from in front of that gorgeous silk.
6/20/04 9:15 AM
Mbarkle said...
Wow, you are a terrific cousin to do this for her. Spectacular dress.
6/20/04 12:15 PM
alicia said...
thanks everyone so much - this really was a great project and I hope to have the other patterns reviewed very soon. I think the red wine belonged to the maid of honor who was sitting next to her... she was expressly FORBIDDEN to drink any !!! ;) Since myself, my 2 daughters and a niece were all in the wedding I couldn't complain too much about the bridesmaids dresses; besides, how many times in your life are you handed 35+ yards of different silks and told to play?? LOL
6/20/04 8:58 PM
JDpenelope said...
Well done! Is your breathing back to normal now? Beautiful work.
6/21/04 2:19 PM
TSingh said...
I'm impressed!! You're really talented! You should be proud of yourself!! I must say you're very brave!!!
7/8/04 9:08 AM
Cristina_TC said...
You are fantastic!!!!
12/13/07 9:01 AM
alviana said...
wow! great job! very "vera-wang-look" :)
12/22/08 2:08 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Vogue Patterns 8805
photo
Review by BarrieHayw... on 6/12/12
Read Review

Simplicity 2146 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 2146 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6139 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )
McCalls 6139 Pattern ( Size SML-MED-LRG-XLG )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2009-120 Knit Henley
photo
Review by Elizabeth ... on 4/7/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo La Jolla Swimsuit Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern
Salme Playsuit Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern
Sewing Workshop Mimosa Top & Pants Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us