SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2776 (mens pants)

3 more reviews
Viewed 2368 times 
Reviewed by:Beezer
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Beezer
FL USA
Member since: 9/19/03
Reviews written: 14
Sewing skills:Beginner
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/18/04 7:21 PM
Last Updated:6/18/04 7:39 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
eleda said...
You did a wonderful job. The pants look great.
6/18/04 8:11 PM
Karla Kizer said...
These pants look great. You must be very pleased that this more complicated project turned out so well; apparently your BF is, too. I think your recommendation about the velcro is a good one.
6/18/04 8:28 PM
TanyaMT said...
These look just like DH's RTW pair (even the color). You did a great job.
6/18/04 9:02 PM
sailonsilvergirl said...
Looks fantastic! I have this pattern too, and have had the same problem of pocket flaps curving up on RTW. Good idea to use strip of velcro ... thanks!
6/18/04 9:40 PM
Millie said...
Thanks for reviewing this pattern. I've been trying to buy DH cargo shorts but to no avail. This will be perfect for him.
6/18/04 9:50 PM
Georgene said...
KwikSew's 1/4" seam allowances are treacherous for wovens, I'd add for any KS pattern in woven. These look great! I won't be making them any time soon, I know that DH would be wanting me to make them all the time!
6/18/04 10:54 PM
AnneM said...
Very nice - not surprising your DF is pleased. I have had many "design opportunities" (ie, mistakes) in the few years I have been sewing. (P.S. Let's hear if for the Nature Conservancy! Great organization.)
6/19/04 6:27 AM
Mini said...
Congratulations! Menswear sewing is not the easiest, so I think you have advanced beyond beginner level by making this. Comparing the pattern to a finished pair that he likes was a good idea.
6/19/04 7:41 AM
cindyann said...
Great looking pair of pants. I think my DH would enjoy a pair like this so I'm adding to my wish list. Great work.
6/19/04 10:40 AM
Debbie Cook said...
Hi Beezer, the pants look GREAT!! We must be neighbors if you shopped at AK S&S. Too bad they closed -- I loved that store!
6/19/04 12:57 PM
Beezer said...
Thanks for all the compliments and encouragement. I was excited to discover PatternReview. None of my friends sew, so it is great to have found a sewing community to share and learn with. Hi Debbie, yes I loved AK Sew and Serge too. I live near Lake Wales and went there almost every week. I still haven't recovered from the loss.
6/19/04 1:49 PM
Beezer said...

6/19/04 1:52 PM
Beezer said...
.
6/19/04 1:55 PM
Beezer said...

6/19/04 1:55 PM
els said...
Great pants.
6/19/04 5:39 PM
Jay Cadiramen said...
Beezer, I don't like baggy pants myself, but THESE LOOK GREAT! You did SUCH a good job! They look like RTW, which (to me, at least) is the highest accolade! It's no wonder he wants another pair (make him pay for the fabric though!). Despite your alterations, are these pants relatively slim fitting? I've never really considered this pattern before as the pictures makes it look very saggy and drapey, but your picture has changed my mind... I might give it a go!
7/10/04 4:02 AM
Beezer said...
Hello Jay. Thanks! I'd have to say that the pattern is fairly slim fitting through the legs. I made adjustments to make them more loose fitting to suit my boyfriend's taste. His waist size called for a Medium, which had plenty of hip ease, and then I expanded the legs to size XL (he really likes his pants loose fitting in the legs - which I hate on him). So I would say that without adjustments, this pattern is fairly roomy in the hips but slim in the legs. I used a stiff twill so the pants weren't drapey at all.
7/12/04 7:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Burda 7743

photo
by: Sandi S

Review
Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Sew Liberated Woodlands Shirt

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Sewing Workshop Now & Zen Shirts Pattern

Buy Now