SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Wild Ginger> Vogue7766 KnockOff (Vogue 7766 KnockOff)

Viewed 2487 times 
Reviewed by:MaryBeth
photo

 
 
About MaryBethstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 1/1/03
Reviews written: 103
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 90
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/20/04 7:47 AM
Last Updated:6/25/04 8:39 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PVA said...
Wow, Mary Beth, I'd say you certainly did find that balance! What an interesting skirt, and just wonderful with the beautiful top! Somehow I missed that post when you did the first review. I too have a very short wide body, and I would normally shy away from that style, but I think all the vertical lines from the fullness of the skirt give you the balance you're looking for. Wonderful summer look. I'll bet that moves and flows beautifully! Thanks for this review as well as the first one. The embroidery on the neckline of the top is just lovely!
6/20/04 10:03 AM
CatherineN said...
That skirt looks great! What an interesting way to construct it.Your top is beautiful too. Your top and skirt have graceful, youthful lines that are flattering to you.
6/20/04 12:01 PM
Georgene said...
MB, I like your tablecloth! Very fun, and the circle insert is a great touch. Are you going to try the same thing in a drapey rayon or silk? I think it would be a fabulous pattern cut that way also. Maybe the cotton jacquard will wash down and become softer?
6/20/04 12:05 PM
MaryBeth said...
Hm, I fully expected more negative comments about this skirt. Yes, rayon is the next thing to try and actually I have a rayon acetate blend check I'd like to do on the bias to go with a shorter Dupioni top. But I don't think I'll be inserting a lingerie circle into that one, hehehehe.
6/20/04 12:09 PM
mudcat said...
Mary Beth, even with your permission to be blunt I find myself reluctant to express my opinion which differs from the other comments. Although I like the skirt, I think it would work better with a different top. I think you are getting to much fabric bulk at the waist. I'm not sure what kind of top would work. I think it may have worked better as a dress using the skirt as it is but a princess seamed top of some sort. I'm not sure. Have you tried tucking the existing shirt in to see if that has a more streamlined look? ~Alice
6/20/04 4:59 PM
MaryBeth said...
Actually this skirt looks exactly like I thought it would look. You ought to see it without the top! Wait, no, you don't deserve that! I really did try to bring some proportion to the skirt and thought the top could "fix it". I just think it's a tough design for a short wide-body to wear, no matter what you do on top! Yes, I guess it is hard to be blunt and it was probably unfair of me to ask it. I've got to thank you for coming forth, though. We just don't learn much without the "nays" to balance the "yeahs".
6/20/04 5:38 PM
els said...
Hi MaryBeth, you asked for an honest opinion. The first impression I got while looking at the picture was of a Dirndl skirt like the Austrian women wear. I do not find the skirt very flattering to you. It accentuates the waist and hips. There is so much fabric around the middle part of the body and with your slim legs it makes the waist more heavy than necessary. Maybe when you sew this skirt in a very thin drapery fabric the pattern can work. I think a sleek skirt will do more for your body type. Your top is so lovely and well made it deserves a nice skirt to accomplish the total look.
6/20/04 6:12 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I love the top and read the review for it. In comparison to the other top in the picture the teal is more flattering. As for your skit, maybe less gathers at the hip and waist. I like the look you were going for as I have seen Elsa's skirt on PMB site and something fun to tackle. I think a darker skirt and a drapy material will make for a more flattering skirt. I am short and wider than I use to be and I now stay away from light colors on the bottom most of the time. They tend to make me look wider as I usually have a darker color on top, I really should reverse that.
6/20/04 6:26 PM
LindaS. said...
Mary Beth, I love the skirt - what a unique idea with the circle inset. I looked at the picture first, before I saw where you wanted comments on the balance of the complete outfit and truthfully didn't notice anything glaringly wrong with the fit. Looking more closely, I do notice that there seems to be too much going on around the waist but I really don't think it looks bad, just not maybe the best look for you. It looks less bulky in the picture where you are holding up the edge of the skirt. Maybe you could put a loop at the hem and put it on your wrist like they do with bridal trains. (kidding!) The top is gorgeous and fits you very well.
6/20/04 11:45 PM
Tinka said...
I have to agree that the gathers of the skirt that are under the top do cause you to look bulkier than you really are. Have you considered making both the yoke AND the skirt longer? If you lowered the bottom of the yoke to the hem of your top, and lengthened the skirt to perhaps ankle length, in a flowing fabric, I bet it would be terrific! I love your colors, the blue especially and the workmanship is wonderful. Good luck with your next project!
6/21/04 4:17 PM
MaryBeth said...
Know what? the tops just meets the bottom of the yoke. bet that yoke needs to be taken in, huh? Before reviewing I had planned to apply little straps (think short belts) to the folds of the skirt to pull the volume in. Might have to just do it. Great skirt for working in the shop during the day, though. Taller folks might want to try this easy, inexpensive skirt pattern!
6/21/04 5:34 PM
Georgene said...
When it really IS toast! Consigned to the flames! I love it. I'm sure that your offering was well received.
6/25/04 8:34 PM
Meredith P said...
LOL! A good solution to keep you from pulling this out of the trash (which is what I would agonize over ;-)
6/25/04 8:41 PM
drsue said...
I love it!!! We should have a contest for the best wadder photo!!!
6/25/04 8:43 PM
mudcat said...
Oh, my. I'm sorry you decided to wad the skirt because I thought the concensus was the skirt was a success..just what to wear with it was the issue. DrSue, I don't think anyone will be able to top this wadder photo. :)
6/25/04 8:49 PM
candyo said...
well, the photo made me laugh, but I thought the skirt looked good on you.
6/25/04 9:02 PM
JeanetteE said...
That is the funniest thing I have ever seen! Thank you, thank you! I have, on many occations, offered fabric to the washing machine gods to see if they are machine washable when the bolt says hand wash or dry clean only.(With varying degrees of success!)
6/25/04 9:04 PM
Debbie Cook said...
OK, now that I'm done laughing hysterically, it's time for my blunt, brutal honesty here ... because you asked for it. :D I am GLAD to see the skirt go up in flames. I thought it wasn't your most flattering or ... er ... well-made creation. I have seen the other wonderful garments you've made, and I just didn't think this was even near to your usual very cool stuff. I think the top is gorgeous but the skirt just didn't come close to matching its beauty or class. In short, I just didn't think they went together at all. OK ... I think I've said more than enough. Thank heaven your flaming is done for the day, or I'd be in big doo-doo. LOL!
6/25/04 9:32 PM
jen_e said...
Your picture made my day. I clicked totally expecting to see yet another lovely sewing project...and oh how funny. You've inspired me to do the same with a dress I've been trying to complete/fix for three years now. :)
6/25/04 9:36 PM
alicia said...
Hope that the "cleansing by fire" gets you excited about gettting back into your sewing room!! :) Great photo.
6/25/04 9:37 PM
Ann B. said...
All right Mary Beth! You have the courage to do what I am sure every one of us here would have liked to at some point. (I wonder what the sewing deities would do for an offering of a half made cashmere blend Miyake coat literally wadded up in a grocery sack in the attic?)
6/25/04 9:55 PM
kathi s said...
ROTFLOL! Great way to rid yourself of an offending object! I didn't comment the first time around because, in the immortal words of Thumper, "If you can't say somethin' nice, don't say nothin' at all".
6/25/04 10:52 PM
carolw said...
I absolutely roared laughing when I saw the ceremonial cremation of this creation, hope it makes you feel at lot better.
6/26/04 4:09 AM
MaryBeth said...
I've learned my lesson: I can't sew unless it's something I really want or need to make. This was a major violation of my sensibilities and I must say I'm sorry for posting it here. Maybe someone will try this easy pattern and enjoy it and I hope they do post but for me, I have some repentance to do in the sewing room. Mea culpa, maxima mea culpa.
6/26/04 8:37 AM
Jill Giard said...
Mary Beth - you don't know how many times and how many projects I've wanted to do that to! You made my day.
6/26/04 9:10 AM
Elemenopeo said...
That is hilarious! Sorry it was a wadder but at least you have a sense of humor!
6/26/04 10:29 AM
Joyfullife said...
LOL! I think you have to be TALL and very thin to pull this skirt off. In this skirt, I would look like I'm holding a king-sized sheet around my waist.
6/26/04 2:16 PM
cindyann said...
HaHaHaHaHa.................my DH and I both got a good laugh over this. He's seen me dispose of some of my creations, although never with as much ceremony as you. LOL
6/26/04 3:20 PM
els said...
MaryBeth what a funny photo lol, but I am glad you had the nerve to get rid of that skirt.Bravo.
6/26/04 5:31 PM
Tini said...
You made my day ( better night...). I still can't stop laughing. I think the skirt wasn't very flattering and a ritual burning for the sewing godesses are always good :)
6/27/04 2:55 PM
Saskia said...
How often have I thought about burning my stuff when thing didn't work out. I often jump up and down on this stuff und scream! I think a "Rituelle Verbrennung" for the sewing goddess is what I'll do next time :-)
Honestly, I think this skirt doesn't even look good on pattern envelope - may the model be thin or thinner! You did the right thing!
6/28/04 3:18 AM
Modiste Madness said...
I just saw this photo for the first time. Hilarious! I have been tempted to viciously cut a garment into tiny little pieces with my sharpest scissors but never tempted to burn one. That is truly creative and must have been most satisfying. I am still smiling.
5/14/05 11:05 AM
StitchQueen101 said...
I've heard about this review, and well, its everything I've heard about! I love it! What we all want to do when we get a wadder, and well you did it! Here's to the toast!
11/20/05 9:12 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

New Look 6097

photo
by: imsewcrazy

Review
You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Renaissance Cape Pattern Pattern

Buy Now