SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Sew Baby> 23 (petal dress)

2 more reviews
Viewed 1610 times 
Reviewed by:sewgeeky
photo

 
 
About sewgeeky
CA USA
Member since: 6/20/04
Reviews written: 1
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 1
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/20/04 10:03 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 3 people   
See other patterns in this category: Accessories    Baby clothes    Toddlers    
Available for sale on PR: $8.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $8.95 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Rivkah said...
I forgot to mention, I made the 12 month size and the pattern for the dress is right on but my grand-daughter's head isn't. I made the hat that is included with the dress and it came out too small.
5/9/10 7:50 AM
Rivkah said...
I have also made this dress, in 2 coordinating cotton prints, and it it came out really well. I agree with Sewgeeky about how the bodice is sewn onto the skirt. If done her way, the dress could possibly become totally reversible!! On mine I used my inside facing fabric to make a coordinating baby panty.
5/9/10 7:47 AM
sewgeeky said...
Ack, could I be any lamer? Double post!
6/24/04 8:05 PM
sewgeeky said...
Aw, thanks everyone! I need to get a picture of the baby in the dress - she had it on last night and it was So Cute! It's especially good since she is crawling now and her knees can get out through the petals. Is there anything cuter than chubby little baby legs? She was actually wearing it backwards by the time I saw her, because the first thing she did was go for the buttons, just as I predicted. So I definitely need to shift the placket back next time, which will of course open up a nice space to play with trims or do some embroidery. I can't say much about sizing because I don't have much to compare to. I made the 12 month size; BabyK is mostly wearing 9-12mo right now and it looked a bit big but not ridiculously so. Her mom thought she would be able to wear it all summer at the rate she's growing. I didn't get the hat pattern (which is separate) but I think I may have to now. I used up all the fabric making a diaper cover, but I'll make a hat to go with the next version. There isn't a diaper cover in the pattern, either, so I just used one off another pattern. I'll write a review of whatever pattern I end up using for her Christening dress, I promise!
6/24/04 8:02 PM
Hilary said...
I LOVE LOVE LOVE this dress!! I'm so glad you reviewed it! I've been thinking about ordering it, now I think I will...how did you find the sizing, pretty true or does it run big or small? Thanks! Your version is really cute!
6/22/04 8:44 AM
SouthernStitch said...
Welcome sewgeeky - I too have enjoyed your site! Such a cute, different dress - I love your silly dress too!
6/21/04 2:51 PM
Deepika said...
oh how pretty! thanks for sharing
6/21/04 2:07 PM
JDpenelope said...
This "silly dress" is too cute. Very special
6/21/04 2:04 PM
MaryBeth said...
So glad to see you post here, have loved your site for the last few years, congrats on your wedding. And Welcome! I agree with your impulse to put the buttons in the back but I didn't get the part about putting the lining over the skirt seam...do you mean "bag" the bodice?
6/21/04 11:48 AM
TanyaMT said...
I saw this pattern at Sew Baby too. So glad to see a review for it.
6/21/04 11:18 AM
Speech girl said...
Very cute dress--and fun fabric.
6/21/04 10:56 AM
Runrover said...
I love the dress, especially the retro look. Wanno echo that it's great to see your reviews here. I enjoy your personal site a whole lot.
6/21/04 9:26 AM
Annika said...
This is a beeeuuutiful dress! I love the style and the fabric you chose.
6/21/04 9:14 AM
AnneM said...
Welcome to PR. What an adorable dress. And good idea to insert this in-between the wedding dress & the christening gown!
6/21/04 7:42 AM
Tini said...
sooo cute, I'm working on a christening gown too! Great pattern, maybe I should show that one to my SIL too!
6/21/04 3:43 AM
Liana said...
Darling, darling dress! It will be just as cute or cuter with the buttons in the back.
6/21/04 1:29 AM
Ingiepops said...
What a gorgeous dress! I love it!!
6/21/04 1:14 AM
Georgene said...
Great pattern, and great rendition! Are you going to make the hat? I'd love to see it modeled on the lucky baby.
6/21/04 0:19 AM
Mandolin82 said...
So cute and fun! I love the colors.
6/20/04 10:46 PM
Jackie M said...
Great to see you over here, Sara! Love the baby dress -- very funky fairy.
6/20/04 10:37 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

StyleArc Jenny Shirt

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Simplicity 9885 from 1980

photo
by: cowgirlcre...

Review
THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

THE COLLARS - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Buy Now
Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Sew Chic Valentine Slip Pattern (ln1207)

Buy Now