SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 7335 (Misses' Caftan, Top & Pants)

7 more reviews
Viewed 326 times 
Reviewed by:marec
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About marecstarstarstarstar
Member since: 5/11/08
Reviews written: 161
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 75 people
patterns reviewed: 156
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/28/10 3:00 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Sleepwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
12 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
lindaee said...
I was considering this as the cut of the pattern seems so interesting! Yow, it kind of looks like one of those cleaning lady aprons! Maybe you could slit it up the back and attach ties -- be sure to make matching pot holders! Do you think this would work in a softer, more flowing fabric than those suggested?
1/15/12 8:58 PM
Daylily2 said...
Love your review. Just the same results when I made this up years ago. The center panels are just too wide and fall off the shoulders, in that very sexy way you pointed out. I'm going to make this again for my MIL and will take out a couple inches from the front and back panels. It is a lovely pattern otherwise. Good luck with your next attempt.
3/22/11 7:02 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
You are so funny Mare! Maybe if this was made out of a lacy or transparently sheer fabric it would have some sex appeal. It has possibilities. The sex appeal photo made me laugh.
1/3/11 1:15 PM
AnitaJJ said...
The fabric is so sweet. Too bad the pattern turned out too big. How about finding a pattern with darts or princess seams and making it more fitted, keeping the pretty neckline and lovely wide sleeves. Or slim like a fitted tunic. I would LOVE to have that print!!!
11/29/10 8:34 PM
JETrinity said...
I just made a pattern that husband said was atrocious and he will not let me wear them as pj's. I hope someone has luck and inspires you.
11/29/10 8:25 PM
petro said...
Great cut to this pattern. Maybe you can reduce those front panels a smidge?
11/29/10 1:40 PM
Annette1 said...
:o)) Well, DARN! Maybe if you bare BOTH shoulders, your husband will think it's suitable for PJs. :o) It really is a cute pattern, though. I like the somewhat geometric lines of it, and I expect you'll make a winner out of this yet. :o)
11/28/10 7:33 PM
Aroura said...
Great pic Marec, lol. I'm sure you'll be able to salvage it somehow :)
11/28/10 6:27 PM
MNBarb said...
I'm giggling at your sex appeal photo. The very first top I ever made at age 10 was almost a clone of this. We called them angel tops. Hey Mare! Are you trying to avoid the fitting woes by choosing loose fitting garments?
11/28/10 6:15 PM
sewtime said...
I don't know, it shows great shoulders, could have some sex appeal!!
11/28/10 5:47 PM
Rhoda K said...
I like the pattern and do think the top has possibilities. Now, when you get that worked out ;-0.
11/28/10 4:38 PM
CypGrl said...
Funny review. There isn't a circle for that!
11/28/10 3:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8856

photo
by: shaleenyma...

Review
StyleArc Safari Sam Overshirt

photo
by: clothingen...

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

Victoria Jones Collection Child's Hawaiian Muumuu Dress or Nightgown

More Info
Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

Victoria Jones Collection Happi Coat & Hanten (230)

More Info