SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> AB041LI (The Liverpool)

19 more reviews
Viewed 557 times 
Reviewed by:heathertyfeatherty
photo

 
 
About heathertyfeathertystar
MO USA
Member since: 7/30/09
Reviews written: 30
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 13 people
patterns reviewed: 29
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/28/10 8:15 PM
Last Updated:11/29/10 7:21 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
A great shirt - well done. You've really made this pattern your own! I sympathize with your stretch sewing problems; I'm new to stretch fabric myself and still learning about it.
11/28/10 10:14 PM
Kayseri said...
Great looking result, especially in a knit. I use stretch interfacing for knits, but whether I interface depends on how structured I want the result.
11/29/10 2:15 AM
donna mel said...
I love it in knit...I love anything in knit! I am going to try it, tho I will struggle with the same issues that you did.
11/29/10 7:56 AM
valerie sews said...
What a lovely pattern. Your top looks very RTW.
11/29/10 7:28 PM
Kathy in NM said...
Your shirt looks great!!! You did a wonderful job - no one would know you don't sew knits much. As Kayseri mentioned, there are stretch interfacings you could use to provide body, but still stretch. A small piece of non-stretch interfacing, or the wash-away stabilizer your mom suggested would help support the button holes while sewing. The collar - interface or not depends on how you like the feel of the fabric. Make a sample, or two, and decide if you like the knit interfaced. I will also use the knit interfacing along the hem if it needs stability. Make samples to see what works best - each knit is different. Then you won't be afraid to sew the actual garment. I really like your top - I wouldn't have used this pattern for a woven fabric, but the knit is a great idea!
11/29/10 7:31 PM
JETrinity said...
Your version should be on the pattern envelope because I would buy it then. Nice job. Yes, indeed.
11/29/10 8:38 PM
Christas said...
I would have thought that you had been sewing knits for years if your review hadn't said otherwise. Wow! I really love what you did with this pattern ....... VERY nice!
11/29/10 8:39 PM
21wale said...
Excellent shirt/tunic! The fit looks great.
11/29/10 8:57 PM
Sew4Fun said...
I love this in a knit! I decided a few days ago I too want a knit shirt so your review is timely. I even have this pattern but I haven't made it yet.
11/30/10 0:17 AM
Rhoda K said...
Very nice shirt! Looks so nice on you.
11/30/10 4:03 PM
Calder and Co. said...
Great job...looks great...your review was helpful!
4/18/11 10:24 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 08-2005-102

photo
by: yummymummy...

Review
Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Bluegingerdoll The Betsy Pencil Skirt Paper Pattern

Buy Now
Fanny Pack or Purse

Fanny Pack or Purse

Buy Now
New Look 6723

photo
by: 3kids1036

Review