SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Amy Butler> AB041LI (The Liverpool)

19 more reviews
Viewed 570 times 
Reviewed by:heathertyfeatherty
photo

 
 
About heathertyfeathertystar
Member since: 7/30/09
Reviews: 42 (patterns: 41)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 18 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:11/28/10 8:15 PM
Last Updated:11/29/10 7:21 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 12 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Calder and Co. said... (4/18/11 10:24 AM) Reply
Great job...looks great...your review was helpful!
Rhoda K said... (11/30/10 4:03 PM) Reply
Very nice shirt! Looks so nice on you.
Sew4Fun said... (11/30/10 0:17 AM) Reply
I love this in a knit! I decided a few days ago I too want a knit shirt so your review is timely. I even have this pattern but I haven't made it yet.
21wale said... (11/29/10 8:57 PM) Reply
Excellent shirt/tunic! The fit looks great.
Christas said... (11/29/10 8:39 PM) Reply
I would have thought that you had been sewing knits for years if your review hadn't said otherwise. Wow! I really love what you did with this pattern ....... VERY nice!
JETrinity said... (11/29/10 8:38 PM) Reply
Your version should be on the pattern envelope because I would buy it then. Nice job. Yes, indeed.
Kathy in NM said... (11/29/10 7:31 PM) Reply
Your shirt looks great!!! You did a wonderful job - no one would know you don't sew knits much. As Kayseri mentioned, there are stretch interfacings you could use to provide body, but still stretch. A small piece of non-stretch interfacing, or the wash-away stabilizer your mom suggested would help support the button holes while sewing. The collar - interface or not depends on how you like the feel of the fabric. Make a sample, or two, and decide if you like the knit interfaced. I will also use the knit interfacing along the hem if it needs stability. Make samples to see what works best - each knit is different. Then you won't be afraid to sew the actual garment. I really like your top - I wouldn't have used this pattern for a woven fabric, but the knit is a great idea!
valerie sews said... (11/29/10 7:28 PM) Reply
What a lovely pattern. Your top looks very RTW.
donna mel said... (11/29/10 7:56 AM) Reply
I love it in knit...I love anything in knit! I am going to try it, tho I will struggle with the same issues that you did.
Kayseri said... (11/29/10 2:15 AM) Reply
Great looking result, especially in a knit. I use stretch interfacing for knits, but whether I interface depends on how structured I want the result.
FreyaStark said... (11/28/10 10:14 PM) Reply
A great shirt - well done. You've really made this pattern your own! I sympathize with your stretch sewing problems; I'm new to stretch fabric myself and still learning about it.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Online Class
All About Buttons and Buttonholes
All About Buttons and Buttonholes

Class Details

Other GNBBS: Shirtwaist Dress

photo
by: froggiegir...

Review
Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Paradiso Designs Carry-All Shoulder Bag Pattern

Pattern Details
Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Pattern Details