SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2723 (Oscar de la Renta skirt)

Viewed 1538 times 
Reviewed by:jlg
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jlgstarstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/03
Reviews written: 190
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 156 people
patterns reviewed: 173
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/21/04 7:19 AM
Last Updated:6/21/04 7:23 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cynthia w said...
beautiful skirt! and yes, zappos.com is addictive. where do you live that it is so green!? i've always lived in the dry arid west...sigh...
6/23/04 2:29 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Lovely skirt! Very feminine and summery. I wouldn't worry a whole lot about the wrinkles ... that's what linen is supposed to do!! Now, do I go look at Zappos or do I try to enlist some self-control ... tick, tick, tick ...
6/21/04 9:17 PM
JeanetteE said...
VERY cute skirt jlg, both sexy & demure. Hancocks has Vogue on sale this week. I will be looking for this pattern.
6/21/04 7:31 PM
AnneM said...
Great review, nice looking skirt. Sounds like a good pattern for both a learning experience and a nice outfit!
6/21/04 6:57 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely skirt. Love the pleats. I may have to give this a try. May have to give Zappos a try also. I am addicteed to shoes.
6/21/04 3:57 PM
Lisette said...
Beautiful skirt, I have been considering this pattern, just waiting for next sale at Joann's
6/21/04 2:43 PM
MaryBeth said...
cool, jlg, I'd consider making it based on your review if no pleat moving is involved!! unfortunately I was looking at linen, too. hmmmm. Thanks a bunch
6/21/04 2:22 PM
KarenP said...
I LOVE this pattern and am so excited to see a review for it! Your skirt is beautiful.
6/21/04 12:21 PM
jlg said...
Mary Beth, I didn't make enough changes to even call it an alteration. The pleats stayed right where the pattern had them. If I had had to do something with them, I would have put the pattern right back in the closet. Liana, I don't think that I'll make the jacket. I don't like that kind of collar on me.
6/21/04 12:20 PM
MaryBeth said...
I love this pattern, jlg. Did you have any trouble moving the pleats to accomodate your sizing alterations? That always gives me the jitters!
6/21/04 11:50 AM
Liana said...
Very nice skirt. I always wonder about pleating linen. It looks so great at first, but then the wrinkles...Will you be making the jacket?
6/21/04 11:02 AM
PVA said...
Very nice job on the pleats! Thanks for this review -- it really is helpful to get the heads up on an element of the directions that's not correct! I like the top, too.
6/21/04 10:06 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Very nice! You did a great job on the pleats. I second the recommendation for Zappos. Talk about a shoe lover's paradise! -Ann
6/21/04 9:46 AM
jlg said...
Thanks guys for the nice comments. Cindyann, I just used a tracing wheel and paper; it didn't show through the fabric. By the way, I recommend making pleats out of something besides linen, even a blend, because I am already a wrinkley mess from behind even though the front isn't wrinkling too badly.
6/21/04 9:35 AM
drsue said...
What an interesting pattern. You did a great job and it looks excellent. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. It looks like pleats are coming back into style.
6/21/04 9:33 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Really nice skirt, jlg! The pleats make it look special.
6/21/04 9:21 AM
Hilary said...
That's a beatiful skirt, I really like the pleats! They came out great, you'd never know it was your first try at pleats. I really like that jacket, too~it does look hard though :o) Thanks for the review!
6/21/04 9:10 AM
Sew it seams said...
Very pretty skirt. That shirt jacket looks like it would be nice, too. Thanks for the thourough review and the "heads-up" on the incorrect drawing. That will save some time. (I always spend too much time trying to decide whether or not something is incorrect in the pattern or I just don't understand it.)
6/21/04 9:08 AM
cindyann said...
Very nice skirt. I really like the pleats and the waist treatment. What technique do you use to mark your fabric for stitching and matching?
6/21/04 8:32 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Blueprints to Blue Jeans
Blueprints to Blue Jeans

Class Details

Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Simplicity 2942

photo
by: Marnie D

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2013-112

photo
by: Julietta82

Review
Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

Sew Chic Contance Dress Pattern (ln8404)

More Info
Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

Sew Liberated Flora Tunic and Twirly Skirt

More Info