SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 2723 (Oscar de la Renta skirt)

Viewed 1537 times 
Reviewed by:jlg
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jlgstarstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/03
Reviews written: 189
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 156 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/21/04 7:19 AM
Last Updated:6/21/04 7:23 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
19 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindyann said...
Very nice skirt. I really like the pleats and the waist treatment. What technique do you use to mark your fabric for stitching and matching?
6/21/04 8:32 AM
Sew it seams said...
Very pretty skirt. That shirt jacket looks like it would be nice, too. Thanks for the thourough review and the "heads-up" on the incorrect drawing. That will save some time. (I always spend too much time trying to decide whether or not something is incorrect in the pattern or I just don't understand it.)
6/21/04 9:08 AM
Hilary said...
That's a beatiful skirt, I really like the pleats! They came out great, you'd never know it was your first try at pleats. I really like that jacket, too~it does look hard though :o) Thanks for the review!
6/21/04 9:10 AM
Asa Hagstrom said...
Really nice skirt, jlg! The pleats make it look special.
6/21/04 9:21 AM
drsue said...
What an interesting pattern. You did a great job and it looks excellent. Thank you for bringing this to my attention. It looks like pleats are coming back into style.
6/21/04 9:33 AM
jlg said...
Thanks guys for the nice comments. Cindyann, I just used a tracing wheel and paper; it didn't show through the fabric. By the way, I recommend making pleats out of something besides linen, even a blend, because I am already a wrinkley mess from behind even though the front isn't wrinkling too badly.
6/21/04 9:35 AM
GorgeousFabrics said...
Very nice! You did a great job on the pleats. I second the recommendation for Zappos. Talk about a shoe lover's paradise! -Ann
6/21/04 9:46 AM
PVA said...
Very nice job on the pleats! Thanks for this review -- it really is helpful to get the heads up on an element of the directions that's not correct! I like the top, too.
6/21/04 10:06 AM
Liana said...
Very nice skirt. I always wonder about pleating linen. It looks so great at first, but then the wrinkles...Will you be making the jacket?
6/21/04 11:02 AM
MaryBeth said...
I love this pattern, jlg. Did you have any trouble moving the pleats to accomodate your sizing alterations? That always gives me the jitters!
6/21/04 11:50 AM
jlg said...
Mary Beth, I didn't make enough changes to even call it an alteration. The pleats stayed right where the pattern had them. If I had had to do something with them, I would have put the pattern right back in the closet. Liana, I don't think that I'll make the jacket. I don't like that kind of collar on me.
6/21/04 12:20 PM
KarenP said...
I LOVE this pattern and am so excited to see a review for it! Your skirt is beautiful.
6/21/04 12:21 PM
MaryBeth said...
cool, jlg, I'd consider making it based on your review if no pleat moving is involved!! unfortunately I was looking at linen, too. hmmmm. Thanks a bunch
6/21/04 2:22 PM
Lisette said...
Beautiful skirt, I have been considering this pattern, just waiting for next sale at Joann's
6/21/04 2:43 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Lovely skirt. Love the pleats. I may have to give this a try. May have to give Zappos a try also. I am addicteed to shoes.
6/21/04 3:57 PM
AnneM said...
Great review, nice looking skirt. Sounds like a good pattern for both a learning experience and a nice outfit!
6/21/04 6:57 PM
JeanetteE said...
VERY cute skirt jlg, both sexy & demure. Hancocks has Vogue on sale this week. I will be looking for this pattern.
6/21/04 7:31 PM
Debbie Cook said...
Lovely skirt! Very feminine and summery. I wouldn't worry a whole lot about the wrinkles ... that's what linen is supposed to do!! Now, do I go look at Zappos or do I try to enlist some self-control ... tick, tick, tick ...
6/21/04 9:17 PM
cynthia w said...
beautiful skirt! and yes, zappos.com is addictive. where do you live that it is so green!? i've always lived in the dry arid west...sigh...
6/23/04 2:29 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Simplicity 2528

photo
by: Stacy Sews

Review
Simplicity 1443

photo
by: fourkid

Review
PerfectFuse Light Black

PerfectFuse Light Black

Buy Now
Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Petite Plus 150 Pattern

Buy Now