Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3123 (Mens' coat) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Jackets
Review submitted in Winter Wear Contest    printable version
Viewed 630 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 17 people   
Reviewed by:dfr2010
photo
Friend of PR
About dfr2010star
FL USA
Member since: 3/27/10
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 19 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/10/10 4:39 PM
Last Updated:12/16/10 5:38 PM


See other patterns in this category: Mens - Jackets    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
35 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mssewcrazy said...
Your review in progress made me look at all the reviews - I think I want one of these myself. Fleece and canvas/denim/or twill sounds wonderful.Thanks I would never have thought of using a men's pattern to do one.
12/2/10 7:17 AM
ColorMeHome said...
Great review. I love Kwik Sew patterns!
12/2/10 8:39 AM
MNBarb said...
Aren't KS patterns wonderful to use? It doesn't surprise me that the shoulders are a bit wide. If you look at the envelope drawing it does show a dropped shoulder and these patterns tend to have more ease than some. I suggest always doing a flat pattern measure before getting started. This review makes me want to start sewing for my husband again. Thanks.
12/2/10 9:09 PM
PatM said...
My Hubby usually buy large shirts, but KS medium size fits well. Maybe you could tell him that KS is drafted large.
12/2/10 10:13 PM
AnitaJJ said...
This is looking great. Yes, I also LOVE KwikSew. Very nice job.
12/3/10 7:21 PM
AnitaJJ said...
... and the pretty pink plaid really spices it up. I LOVE the idea of mixing fleece and canvas. Fleece alone doesn't break the wind, we find even here in Florida the last few days of almost freezing weather.
12/3/10 7:21 PM
Manalto said...
Thanks for a thoughtful review. I like this coat - it can be dressed up with a nice wool, more casual out of a denim or canvas, or it can be unique and inventive as you've done here. The coat doesn't look way out of proportion on you - a bit oversized, which may be nice with a heavy sweater underneath.
12/10/10 6:40 PM
dfr2010 said...
Manalto - your review and pic inspired me ... and convinced hubby on this pattern!
12/10/10 6:50 PM
Manalto said...
That's terrific! I'll vouch for it, too. I wear it a lot. I've thrown it in the washing machine a couple of times, and it's starting to look broken in, like an old pair of jeans.
12/10/10 7:42 PM
GlButterfly said...
Looks good plus lots of good info in the review.
12/10/10 8:41 PM
mary in FL said...
Great coat! I like your description of Florida winter coat = [yankee] light jacket, because it's true!
12/10/10 9:00 PM
newmama said...
I would never have guessed that the color-blocking wasn't part of the pattern! I'm with the others on liking the fleece/canvas mix--fantastic!
12/10/10 9:31 PM
Gelbean said...
Very Nice!
12/10/10 10:45 PM
Annette1 said...
VERY STYLISH with your PLANNED color blocking. :o) You know, I was JUST tonight looking online onSierra Trading Post (in order to avoid W-O-R-K-I-N-G), and there was a Powder River Jacket that was SO cute in CORAL, but they only had it in an XS, WAAAAAAAAAAAAY too little for me, but your jacket is very much like that jacket. I may have to get this pattern and hope mine turns out as cute as yours has. I also LOVE the fabric for your hubby's.
12/11/10 0:26 AM
Aroura said...
Amazing! I can't believe this is just a test/mock-up. I also like the color blocking. Fantastic job, I bet your DH is going to love his version!
12/11/10 0:35 AM
jannw said...
Great Job! Topstitching and the buttons look good. Looking forward to seeing DH's version
12/11/10 1:55 AM
Margaret said...
Great jacket! Love the color blocking and the fleece/canvas combo, and the fabric choices for DH's version too. It looks like a very useful jacket and a great pattern!
12/11/10 5:04 AM
mssewcrazy said...
I like this but I know that as narrow shouldered as I am I would need to work on the shoulders a lot but I still want one. That canvas/fleece combo sounds so great and looks nice with the color block.
12/11/10 5:54 AM
JEF said...
Super helpful review and I love your coat!
12/11/10 10:54 AM
clio59 said...
Great jacket and the colour blocking definitely doesn't look like an afterthought.
12/11/10 12:03 PM
treefrog said...
You jacket looks excellent. I love the colour blocking.
12/11/10 5:36 PM
mhk3boys said...
Wow! I love your coat! I love your fabric combo! I'm glad you like Kwik Sew as they are my favs.
12/11/10 6:30 PM
PittyPat said...
Fantastic job! Glad your DH loves the pattern too and can you got a chance to convince him which is the right size for him. Yep... topstitching though all those layers is a real trial for a machine. Love my old [40yrs old] Kenmore machine that handles heavy fabric and layers like a champ.
12/11/10 9:30 PM
Hilary said...
I think your coat is very pretty! I love the color blocking~and forgive me if you don't want this idea (I thought of it while looking at your pics) but I think binding the edge of the collar in blue canvas would really tie it together and be so cute! Forgive me if you hate that idea :P ~ it was just a thought. This is such a helpful review, I have this in my stash and have been too intimidated to try it-my DH is 6'2" and would require at least a large-ack, all that fabric! lol~can't wait to see your hubby's coat!
12/15/10 9:22 PM
Maggiedoll said...
That turned out wonderfully!
12/16/10 5:59 PM
MNBarb said...
Uh, oh. After making this for your husband you are really opening a can of worms. He will be relentless in his desire for custom-fit, beautiful clothing. This coat is so very nice.
12/16/10 6:07 PM
dfr2010 said...
Barb, I opened that can of worms back in June ... this coat is one of his specific requests.
12/16/10 7:26 PM
Christas said...
Both coats are absolutely wonderful. I can see why your husband wouldn't want to wait until Christmas to wear his new coat. You have done some very nice sewing on these!
12/16/10 9:22 PM
jannw said...
Great job on DH's also...collar and topstitching looks perfect..understandable why he doesn't want to wait to wear it!
12/17/10 1:30 AM
Cat MacGregor said...
Awesome job! Great to finally see the finished project after all the chat talk. I really like the colour blocking on yours. Well, except for the pink. 8P
12/17/10 9:45 PM
maryfrana said...
This is a great looking coat and your DH is very lucky. I also love the mock up, especially the plaid. Very detailed review too.
12/21/10 12:36 PM
Annette1 said...
I can see why your hubby wanted to show this off. :o) This is one classy coat, with exquisite topstitching. After I saw your first jacket, I bought this pattern and am hoping to make it for my brother.
12/22/10 11:48 PM
JillyBe said...
I've oohed & aahed over your coats on the boards, but I'll add my official Awesome Job on your review as well - hubby should be very proud & happy!
12/30/10 3:35 AM
katlew03 said...
Both coats turned out great. Like the color blocking.
1/3/11 5:13 PM
KathleenS said...
Nice work.
1/4/11 3:53 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Simplicity 9466 top and skirt
photo
Review by arianamani... on 6/13/09
Read Review

Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)
Oliver + S Badminton Skort, Top + Dress Digital Pattern (5-12)

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Liesl + Co. Women's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern
Liesl + Co. Women's Metro Shirt Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Amy Butler AB021WT
photo
Review by Mary Nanna on 5/27/10
Read Review

10 inch Professional Shears
10 inch Professional Shears

Details
Price: $69.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings
Islander Sewing Systems - MyStyle Greetings

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1686 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )
Simplicity 1686 Pattern ( Size 16-18-20-22-24 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5019 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )
Butterick 5019 Pattern ( Size 2-3-4-5 )

Details
Price: $11.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us