SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Marfy> 1751 (Trenchcoat)

1 more reviews
Viewed 494 times 
Reviewed by:marjenann
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About marjenannstarstar
Member since: 8/26/04
Reviews written: 54
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 52
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/2/10 11:37 AM
Last Updated:12/4/10 8:32 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
yorkshire lass said...
Absolutely stunning. The finish is superb. Marfy's are just awesome to work with and the results, as here, always worth the effort.
3/3/11 7:23 AM
Hilary said...
That is a beautiful coat! Well done!
12/6/10 12:13 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Enjoyed your blog entries documenting this coat's construction. It's evident that you invested your time and talents because the coat has graceful structure and shape. I adore the vivid lining. Excellent review. By the way, I am in awe of your yarn arts and jewelery creations, as well.
12/5/10 4:22 PM
Annette1 said...
I spotted your thumbnail the other day, but I didn't have time to LOOK at it then. This is one BEAUTIFULLY TAILORED coat, and your daughter is SO LUCKY to have you sewing for her! I wish you had a coat JUST LIKE IT. :o) I've been too chicken to try a Marfy pattern AND I don't think most of them come in my size. (That's my story, and I'm sticking to it.) I LOVE the lining in yours, too. :o)
12/5/10 3:24 PM
21wale said...
This is a beautiful coat!
12/4/10 8:38 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Wow -- fabulous. And seriously, I think making a coat from a Marfy pattern/ no instructions (not to mention all the other coats and jackets you've made) definitely puts you in the "Advanced" category. :)
12/4/10 4:53 PM
JillyBe said...
I absolutely love linings that pop like that! Very nice job. :)
12/4/10 12:47 PM
SewWil said...
Wow! That is beautiful. Great job. Nice touch doing the lining the way you did.
12/4/10 12:18 PM
Dei said...
Beautifully done. I'm always impressed with people who tackle Marfy patterns.
12/4/10 9:41 AM
carolynw said...
Perfection!! Love your coat
12/4/10 9:22 AM
JEF said...
Beautiful and I LOVE the lining!
12/3/10 9:52 AM
tess said...
A really beautifully tailored coat, wonderful lining, It looks amzing!
12/3/10 6:10 AM
merteuil said...
Beautiful! and I really like your choice of buttons
12/3/10 4:58 AM
MaryDB said...
Absolutely gorgeous. Love the hand topstitching.
12/3/10 1:44 AM
kellyt said...
Beautiful!
12/2/10 11:52 PM
Jolet said...
Looks amazing!!! Wonderful coat with beautiful lining.
12/2/10 11:09 PM
Heatherrique said...
Kudos to you for working with no directions and relying on your skills and talents to create a sharp looking coat. Your daughter will definitely enjoy and treasure this!
12/2/10 11:03 PM
wsm2408 said...
Lovely coat - much better than RTW. You did a great job!
12/2/10 3:11 PM
Re Becca said...
Love it! You did such a fabulous job, the details are impeccable. Your construction skills are just super. I *heart* Marfy's, they are the BEST patterns to work with!
12/2/10 1:55 PM
Elona said...
The coat is lovely, of course, but your cabled sweater really knocks me out!
12/2/10 12:17 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Gorgeous coat and the lining is a wonderful surprise!
12/2/10 12:07 PM
Sewingshaybug said...
wonderful job ! looks nice and warm
12/2/10 11:42 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
All About Linings
All About Linings

Register

Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Register

Vogue Patterns 1549

photo
by: becca a

Review
Vogue Patterns 1315

photo
by: Sue Parrot...

Review
Sew Liberated Bohemian Carpet Bag Pattern

Sew Liberated Bohemian  Carpet Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Favorite Things Little Bow Peep Pattern

Buy Now