SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Stretch & Sew> F829 (Misses Lingerie)

5 more reviews
Viewed 2021 times 
Reviewed by:TanyaMT
photo

 
 
About TanyaMTstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/28/04
Reviews written: 250
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 16 people
patterns reviewed: 241
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/21/04 10:32 PM
Last Updated:6/21/04 10:34 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
TanyaMT said...
I don't think it is a gusset. All the views have similar attachment of the crotch and it is stitched straight on. The only elastic/easing is at the top and leg openings. The variation in views is the cut (full panty, high leg and bikini) and the recommended elastic/lace trim.
6/28/04 12:59 PM
Minya, Warrior Seamstress said...
When I look at the envelope sketch, I see what looks like a triangular gusset at the top rear of view E. Is there actually a gusset here, or is it just the way the sketch is shaded?
6/25/04 9:21 PM
TanyaMT said...
Mini, thanks! Great to know about the numbering system.
6/22/04 2:48 PM
Mini said...
Tanya (AKA Wonder Woman), the numbering of S&S patterns is different depending on where and when they were bought. The patterns with a letter of the alphabet followed by numbers are the ones sold in chainstores, usually in a smaller envelope and printed on thinner paper. The ones sold at the website are the older version, with better paper and a larger envelope. I wish they didn't do this, as it is confusing to customers. I think S&S made the best lingerie patterns ever, and the instructions are great. You will have fun with all the options in this pattern:).
6/22/04 2:03 PM
cindyann said...
Great Tanya, that's just what I'm looking for. All the patterns I've tried so far have given me 4 cheeks, if you know what I mean. ;)
6/22/04 12:41 PM
TanyaMT said...
Penelope, no I didn't take the lingerie class. I do have the Kwik Sew lingerie book that I read cover to cover first. I knew already how to put on FOE from making a diaper cover. The rest was just good instructions on the pattern and a good size chart. Cindyann, I would call them full coverage, yes. They aren't the granny panty type of full coverage but they are definitely on the wider end of the bikini spectrum, wider towards the crotch attachment in the back than most.
6/22/04 11:11 AM
cindyann said...
Boy are you lucky to find a great fitting pair of panties right out of the envelope! Love your Wonder Woman undies! Would you say the fit is full coverage in the rear?
6/22/04 8:15 AM
JDpenelope said...
Nice panties...AND they fit! Did you take the lingerie class and did it help with your construction techniques?
6/22/04 7:37 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Women's Classic Sport Shirt Pattern

More Info
Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

Paradiso Designs Kimono Jacket Formula Pattern

More Info
Butterick 3654

photo
by: guineveres...

Review