SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> Stretch & Sew> F829 (Misses Lingerie)

5 more reviews
Viewed 2025 times 
Reviewed by:TanyaMT

About TanyaMTstarstarstar
Member since: 4/28/04
Reviews: 250 (patterns: 241)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 15 people
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/21/04 10:32 PM
Last Updated:6/21/04 10:34 PM
Review Rating: Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Just Make it Sew

Quality Fashion Fabrics

Patterns from the Past

vintage sewing patterns

Reconstructing History

Historical Patterns
Web site

<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
TanyaMT said... (6/28/04 12:59 PM) Reply
I don't think it is a gusset. All the views have similar attachment of the crotch and it is stitched straight on. The only elastic/easing is at the top and leg openings. The variation in views is the cut (full panty, high leg and bikini) and the recommended elastic/lace trim.
Minya, Warrior Seamstress said... (6/25/04 9:21 PM) Reply
When I look at the envelope sketch, I see what looks like a triangular gusset at the top rear of view E. Is there actually a gusset here, or is it just the way the sketch is shaded?
TanyaMT said... (6/22/04 2:48 PM) Reply
Mini, thanks! Great to know about the numbering system.
Mini said... (6/22/04 2:03 PM) Reply
Tanya (AKA Wonder Woman), the numbering of S&S patterns is different depending on where and when they were bought. The patterns with a letter of the alphabet followed by numbers are the ones sold in chainstores, usually in a smaller envelope and printed on thinner paper. The ones sold at the website are the older version, with better paper and a larger envelope. I wish they didn't do this, as it is confusing to customers. I think S&S made the best lingerie patterns ever, and the instructions are great. You will have fun with all the options in this pattern:).
cindyann said... (6/22/04 12:41 PM) Reply
Great Tanya, that's just what I'm looking for. All the patterns I've tried so far have given me 4 cheeks, if you know what I mean. ;)
TanyaMT said... (6/22/04 11:11 AM) Reply
Penelope, no I didn't take the lingerie class. I do have the Kwik Sew lingerie book that I read cover to cover first. I knew already how to put on FOE from making a diaper cover. The rest was just good instructions on the pattern and a good size chart. Cindyann, I would call them full coverage, yes. They aren't the granny panty type of full coverage but they are definitely on the wider end of the bikini spectrum, wider towards the crotch attachment in the back than most.
cindyann said... (6/22/04 8:15 AM) Reply
Boy are you lucky to find a great fitting pair of panties right out of the envelope! Love your Wonder Woman undies! Would you say the fit is full coverage in the rear?
JDpenelope said... (6/22/04 7:37 AM) Reply
Nice panties...AND they fit! Did you take the lingerie class and did it help with your construction techniques?
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - PANTS
Fun with Fitting - PANTS

Class Details

Online Class
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Class Details

New Look 6823

by: Sheila457

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details
Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Fit For Art Sleeve & Cuff Variations for Tabula Rasa Jacket Pattern

Pattern Details