Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Christine Jonson: 505 (Swing Shirt) - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 2078 times 3 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 18 people   
Reviewed by:Diane E
photo
Friend of PR
About Diane Estarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 4/8/02
Reviews written: 69
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 102 people
patterns reviewed: 65
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/22/04 6:09 PM
Last Updated:6/22/04 6:24 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $18.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $18.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mandolin82 said...
Great review - lots of handy info. I have this one on my wish list now.
6/22/04 6:40 PM
Linda E. said...
Love you shirt.. I have made this out of some rayon wasn't real happy with it. I like yours I may try it out of some red linen I have.
6/22/04 7:21 PM
Mini said...
Interesting review. The envelope picture is hard to interpret-looks kind of like a retro 80's style with the dropped shoulders and shoulder pads. Yours definitely looks more modern without the pads.
6/22/04 8:49 PM
Lisa Laree said...
The pattern illustration never really spoke to me, but I like your 'beach shirt'! I may have to try this one...someday...;) Great review, as usual, Diane!
6/22/04 8:57 PM
Georgene said...
This pattern definitely has an air of the Big 80's, but I like what you've done with it to make it more 'today'. Good sun cover up, for sure!
6/22/04 9:48 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review! It certainly does look like it will be a great beach shirt! I appreciate all the helpful ideas you developed while "under construction".
6/23/04 0:12 AM
MaryBeth said...
Thoughtfully done project. Thanks for the tips on construction.
6/23/04 4:39 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Good review. I have had mixed success with these patterns and you are right they are drafted for a taller person. So adjustments are necessary for lenght for vertically challenged individuals like me.
6/23/04 6:34 AM
alicia said...
I really like the linen. Thanks for the in-depth review.
6/23/04 7:21 AM
Gigi Louis said...
Your shirt turned out really great, Diane! I too like too spend a lot of time outdoors - there's nothing better than a linen shirt for a little extra sun protection.
6/23/04 7:43 AM
SouthernStitch said...
I really like this style, and your shirt looks great in linen. Thanks for the good review!
6/23/04 9:12 AM
Barbara at Cat Fur Studio said...
Diane, your shirt is great. It will be lovely for the beach and beyond!
6/23/04 6:35 PM
Slyone said...
Diane, thanks for the review. ditto to all the praise for this beach shirt. I think the tapered sleeves were designed for a lycra blend which is why they would probably be too narrow in linen. Great work, Jackie
6/24/04 3:43 PM
jlongo said...
Excellent review!
5/20/06 10:31 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Create a Jacket Muslin
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Create a Jacket Muslin

Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Simplicity 2700
photo
Review by JennyAnne on 1/7/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3527 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3527 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5893 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Butterick 5893 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 5357
photo
Review by sewin on 10/3/10
Read Review

Dixie DIY Ballet Dress
Dixie DIY Ballet Dress

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Lily Bird Studio Amy's Peplum Top Digital Pattern
Lily Bird Studio Amy's Peplum Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.90
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jeans for Real People DVD Set
Jeans for Real People DVD Set

Details
Price: $24.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt
Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us