Online Sewing Class: Altering Jackets
SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Vogue 8815

Here's what you'll learn:

  1. Distinguishing between different types of leather
  2. How to select and how much to buy for your project
  3. Choosing patterns
  4. Supplies and industry tips and tricks to sew with leather
  5. Seams
    • Basic
    • Flat-felled
    • Lapped
    • Cut-edge Lapped
  6. Darts
    • Classic
    • Overlap
    • Slot
  7. How to sew flaps and collars and cuffs
  8. Sewing the Peplum top
    • Cutting and Marking on Leather
    • Staying Leather
    • Pressing Leather
    • Sewing Darts
    • Inserting Zipper
    • Finishing
  9. Bonus: A 29 page PDF document showing step by step photos of all the different types of darts and seams. ">Leather 101 Online Sewing Class

Pattern Reviews> Other> 00 (Carter Smith Bias Jacket)

8 more reviews
Viewed 226 times 
Reviewed by:Kay Y
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Kay Ystarstarstarstar
ON CANADA
Member since: 11/21/04
Reviews: 193 (patterns: 182)
Skill level:Advanced
Favored by: 289 people
more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:12/5/10 8:50 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Kayseri said... (12/24/10 4:39 PM) Reply
Gorgeous jacket and helpful tutorial. I can't wait to try it for myself.
Mahler said... (12/10/10 4:47 PM) Reply
Great top Kay, thank you so much for writting such wonderful tutorials. Sigh, sigh, sigh, may be one day, I will be as good as you ;-)
janet said... (12/7/10 1:03 PM) Reply
Thank you for sharing you FABULOUS jacket! You look absolutely BEAUTIFUL. And MANY, many THANK YOUs for your tutorial. I bought a pattern for this from Barb Originals and could not make "heads" nor "tails" of it. I took her jacket making class at the Chantilly Sewing Expo and the jacket turned out lovely and she was very helpful, but I could not wrap my head around how to replicate it! Now I can and I can make it in ANY fabric. Kudos to you. You have brought ART COUTURE to a new level.
Meredith P said... (12/6/10 6:26 PM) Reply
Thanks so much!
DorothyK said... (12/6/10 2:31 PM) Reply
Very beautiful. Thanks for the helpful instructions. The fabric is stunning and looks great on you.
Margaret said... (12/6/10 4:43 AM) Reply
Those are beautiful! That interesting geometric bias cut goes so well with the crinkle. Thanks for the Press-n-Seal tip.
Annette1 said... (12/6/10 0:07 AM) Reply
Very nice, Kay! You chose the perfect fabric for this drapey top, as it shows off the bias cut. And your CLIENT looks FABULOUS in hers, as well, rolled hem or no rolled hem. :o))
Elona said... (12/5/10 11:24 PM) Reply
Very striking pieces, Kay!
AnneMarie60 said... (12/5/10 9:12 PM) Reply
Very, very clever! You chose beautiful, eye-catching fabric. Thanks so much for the excellent tutorial and photos. Perched atop a box of Press 'n Seal, your "model" looks so pleased with her version of the wrap jacket. Great tip about using the the plastic wrap on difficult fabrics.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Class Details

StyleArc Georgia peplum top

photo
by: PattyE

Review
Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Sew Liberated Myla Tank Pattern

Pattern Details
Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Victoria Jones Collection Men's Hawaiian Aloha Shirt

Pattern Details