SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Bernina
Bernina

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4827 (Misses Medieval Dress and Belt)

20 more reviews
Review submitted in Fabric Stash - 2011 Contest
Viewed 439 times 
Reviewed by:Maggiedoll
photo

 
 
About Maggiedollstar
MD USA
Member since: 1/8/10
Reviews: 65 (patterns: 56)
Skill level:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 6 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/14/10 4:43 PM
Last Updated:2/19/11 7:37 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

O! Jolly! Shop


Sweater knit fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Staceyjo75 said... (3/31/11 3:41 PM) Reply
Can you tell me about how big this dress is around the bottom? I am going to want to put trim around the whole bottom and would sort of like to order the fabric and the trim at the same time. I know it will very depending on size, but a rough estimate would be great. Thanks so much!
Maggiedoll said... (3/24/11 11:09 AM) Reply
Abby, it wasn't my idea, Aroura did it first! Hrm, and I thought I put that in the review somewhere.. LOL, this is what happens when use the same pattern more than once and try to stuff the new bits onto the older review-- I end up not knowing what's actually in the current one!
abbythomas said... (3/19/11 11:39 PM) Reply
I love what you did with the trumpet sleeves from the other pattern...they look like they fold back nicely. I am making this dress for someone and I think I'm going to borrow your idea. I'll give you full credit in my review, though, no worries! :) Thank you for the creative inspiration!!!
Aroura said... (3/1/11 4:11 AM) Reply
Oh my gosh, gorgeous! I love what you have done with this base pattern. Amazing work! (turns the same shade of green with envy) :D
JillyBe said... (2/19/11 9:50 PM) Reply
The green & silver turned out beautiful together - nice job :)
Karen Easter said... (12/14/10 7:26 PM) Reply
I really like it better with your ribbon belt, too! I hope you love wearing it!
Trephas2003 said... (12/8/10 5:48 AM) Reply
It looks beautiful!
dfr2010 said... (12/7/10 10:28 PM) Reply
looks pretty good! Better than what you described in chat LOL I know you've been fussing with the sleeves a lot. Now I'm looking forward to seeing it in shantung.
Karen Easter said... (12/7/10 7:23 PM) Reply
I love the color and the line of this dress! It's gorgeous! I, too, have struggled with getting set-in sleeves to look and fit right. A while back, I took Sarah Veblen's on-line class on fitting armholes and sleeves here on PR. It was really helpful, and I think she's taught it off-and-on since then. In the meantime, here's a link to her article on threadsmagazine.com: http://www.threadsmagazine.com/item/4483/to-get-the-right-armhole-fit-the-bodice I think it overlaps with material she presents in her class.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Simplicity 2942

photo
by: Jemajyng

Review
Lazy Girl Designs Slicker Tote Paper Pattern

Lazy Girl Designs Slicker Tote Paper Pattern

Pattern Details
Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Pattern Details