SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Butterick> 4827 (Misses Medieval Dress and Belt)

19 more reviews
Review submitted in Fabric Stash - 2011 Contest
Viewed 416 times 
Reviewed by:Maggiedoll
photo

 
 
About Maggiedollstar
MD USA
Member since: 1/8/10
Reviews written: 62
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 53
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/14/10 4:43 PM
Last Updated:2/19/11 7:37 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 5 people   
See other patterns in this category: Costumes    
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $15.95 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Karen Easter said...
I love the color and the line of this dress! It's gorgeous! I, too, have struggled with getting set-in sleeves to look and fit right. A while back, I took Sarah Veblen's on-line class on fitting armholes and sleeves here on PR. It was really helpful, and I think she's taught it off-and-on since then. In the meantime, here's a link to her article on threadsmagazine.com: http://www.threadsmagazine.com/item/4483/to-get-the-right-armhole-fit-the-bodice I think it overlaps with material she presents in her class.
12/7/10 7:23 PM
dfr2010 said...
looks pretty good! Better than what you described in chat LOL I know you've been fussing with the sleeves a lot. Now I'm looking forward to seeing it in shantung.
12/7/10 10:28 PM
Trephas2003 said...
It looks beautiful!
12/8/10 5:48 AM
Karen Easter said...
I really like it better with your ribbon belt, too! I hope you love wearing it!
12/14/10 7:26 PM
JillyBe said...
The green & silver turned out beautiful together - nice job :)
2/19/11 9:50 PM
Aroura said...
Oh my gosh, gorgeous! I love what you have done with this base pattern. Amazing work! (turns the same shade of green with envy) :D
3/1/11 4:11 AM
abbythomas said...
I love what you did with the trumpet sleeves from the other pattern...they look like they fold back nicely. I am making this dress for someone and I think I'm going to borrow your idea. I'll give you full credit in my review, though, no worries! :) Thank you for the creative inspiration!!!
3/19/11 11:39 PM
Maggiedoll said...
Abby, it wasn't my idea, Aroura did it first! Hrm, and I thought I put that in the review somewhere.. LOL, this is what happens when use the same pattern more than once and try to stuff the new bits onto the older review-- I end up not knowing what's actually in the current one!
3/24/11 11:09 AM
Staceyjo75 said...
Can you tell me about how big this dress is around the bottom? I am going to want to put trim around the whole bottom and would sort of like to order the fabric and the trim at the same time. I know it will very depending on size, but a rough estimate would be great. Thanks so much!
3/31/11 3:41 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

New Look 6852

photo
by: valgal

Review
SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

SewBaby Zippy Bunting Pattern

Buy Now
Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Lolita Patterns Olive Peplum Top Pattern

Buy Now
New Look 6107

photo
by: Bootzey

Review