Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3162 thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 1746 times 7 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 4 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:PhyllisC
photo
About PhyllisCstarstarstarstar
MA USA
Member since: 8/2/02
Reviews written: 202
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 81 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/24/04 2:55 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
20 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
jen_e said...
Wow. I really admire your attention to the detailing. Very beautiful!
6/24/04 2:59 PM
Lou. said...
That is gorgeous, so pretty!!
6/24/04 3:16 PM
eleda said...
Your top is beautiful!
6/24/04 4:03 PM
Mini said...
that is a really elegant and creative use of this pattern. Heirloom sewing can be hard to integrate into adult clothing, but this really works.
6/24/04 4:27 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review. I love heirloom sewing, and this example is a great illustration of the fact that it isn't just for babies. I love what you've done with this pattern, and I'll just have to take a long look at it!
6/24/04 5:08 PM
PVA said...
Thanks for this review. I love heirloom sewing, and this example is a great illustration of the fact that it isn't just for babies. I love what you've done with this pattern, and I'll just have to take a long look at this pattern!
6/24/04 5:09 PM
drsue said...
You did a wonderful job. Very creative use of fabric and technique.
6/24/04 6:54 PM
CarolynGM said...
Wow. I love your creation -- very feminine and elegant.
6/24/04 7:28 PM
Ann B. said...
Wow Phyllis, I never would have thought to use these techniques on an adult garment. Your top is just beautiful. That double edge of lace near the neckine is inspired. Thanks for sharing your photo and review.
6/24/04 8:03 PM
jlg said...
Beautiful top. I love the embellishments; they are very elegant.
6/24/04 8:23 PM
Meredith P said...
Really inspiring. I love heirloom sewing, but never could think of "adult" items to apply it to. I particularly like the technique of applying the sleeves with insertion. This is great!
6/25/04 6:17 AM
AnneM said...
Lovely; it looks like it could be a well-preserved heirloom item. What a creative use for this pattern.
6/25/04 6:47 AM
Skymom said...
I love this! I agree with the other comments--you've done a wonderful job of using heirloom techniques to make a sophisticated, not juvenile, top.
6/25/04 7:55 AM
cindyann said...
Wonderful! Very, very pretty.
6/25/04 8:13 AM
JDpenelope said...
I am in awe! Quite an accomplishment!
6/25/04 8:57 AM
Danvillegirl said...
Very pretty! You did a great job.
6/25/04 5:58 PM
Diana M said...
Gorgeous top! Congratulations on a beautiful job.
7/12/04 3:18 PM
Gigi Louis said...
Phyllis, your top is gorgeous! I don't know how I missed your review. Finally! A use for all those heirloom trims I've been stashing.....
1/5/05 9:29 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
Beautiful! I want this pattern :)
6/6/05 0:45 AM
mrs quickly said...
Phylis ~ Thanks for the review. I just purchased this pattern today. I'm glad you mentioned the shoulder is dropped because you sure can't tell from the line drawing. I would love to see a photo. Your link is no longer active. BTW, how would I go about raising the shoulder? Thanks!
6/21/07 0:11 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Sew a Designer Unlined Jacket

Simplicity 2443
photo
Review by lizziwhizz on 1/25/10
Read Review

Simple Things The Hobo Bag Digital Pattern
Simple Things The Hobo Bag Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Reversible Sun Bonnet Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )
Peek-A Boo Reversible Sun Bonnet Digital Pattern ( Size newborn - child )

Details
Price: $4.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2011-7
photo
Review by SilvrGhost on 3/31/11
Read Review

Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic
Sew Liberated Schoolhouse Tunic

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern
Sewing Workshop Tamari Apron Pattern

Details
Price: $8.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 8998 Pattern
Burda 8998 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8909 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8909 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $22.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us