SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> KnipMode Magazine> 12-2010-26 (Men's Shirt)

Viewed 168 times 
Reviewed by:treefrog
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About treefrogstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 2/13/08
Reviews written: 233
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 71 people
patterns reviewed: 230
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/14/10 6:21 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 10 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JillyBe said...
Lucky DH indeed! HOT looking shirt!
12/17/10 2:22 AM
Mazzygirl said...
great looking shirt, & I've nevers een a hidden button down collar before, so will be looking to make this shirt (if my mag issue ever shows up!) to try it out now as it looks like a great idea. Absolutely died laughing at that translation, wonderfully hilarious! Lucky DH, I'll be he loves this shirt & wants more ;-)
12/16/10 7:00 PM
Margaret said...
Very nice! Thank you for all the photos of the hidden collar tab. This looks like a great pattern -- it's hard to find real sleeve plackets. Often I think a yoke goes with either pleats, gathers, or a curve along the top edge of the lower back piece to add ease/reach room, but I guess it depends on how fitted the style is supposed to be. Great pocket too. Well done!
12/16/10 4:07 AM
ClaireEmily said...
Lovely shirt! What a journey. The hidden button tab is very cool.
12/15/10 8:08 PM
MNBarb said...
I was waiting to hear how this collar turned out. The shirt is perfect.
12/15/10 7:41 PM
Sigrid. said...
I'm so glad to see the shirt finished and especially the collar detail. It almost makes me want to make a shirt for my dh (won't happen). Very well done, great shirt.
12/15/10 3:34 PM
Kathi R said...
Thanks so much for the review ... you have found a shirt pattern that actually has a new feature, now I'm on a search to find the magazine so that I can give it a whirl. Your finished shirt is beautiful and the translated instructions you posted in the message board gave me a great big belly laugh this morning....thanks again.
12/15/10 12:36 PM
squirrellypoo said...
Fantastic shirt! It's so good to see the finished product after the collar discussion in the forums! Thanks loads for the step-by-step photos of the collar construction, too. Lucky Mr Treefrog!
12/15/10 5:31 AM
Sharonspils said...
A very smart, classy shirt and you have achieved an excellent result even with the language barriers. Brilliant.
12/14/10 9:31 PM
said...
Wow, you are so clever and its a great shirt!
12/14/10 9:16 PM
Elona said...
Well, on the strength of this very handsome shirt, I just had to buy this issue of KnipMode to use the pattern for my own dh. Thank you for the recommendation and the fine example. By the way, if the shirt is going to be washable, I have found you can control slippery, wiggly fabrics by laying them out nice and flat (after pre-shrinking and drying) on a sheet and spraying the heck out of them with spray starch. When dry (which happens quickly), they will have a slightly crisp, papery hand which makes them easy, easy to sew. When the garment is complete, just toss in the washer to remove the starch.
12/14/10 8:09 PM
Christas said...
I agree with FreyaStark. Lucky Mr. Treefrog! His new shirt looks awesome. What wonderful sewing!
12/14/10 7:18 PM
Sarsez said...
Well done. DH looks all "choked up" with pride.
12/14/10 6:47 PM
jannw said...
That looks so good! Love the pocket and the way the collar lays. You did use care and patience and it shows..great tie also
12/14/10 6:47 PM
FreyaStark said...
A very nice smart shirt. Lucky Mr Treefrog! My impression is that if a shirt has a yoke, there is extra ease in the back - the back is pleated or gathered into the yoke. Yet one Kwik Sew pattern I've made had a yoke with a plain back so I guess the extra ease or shaping isn't obligatory.
12/14/10 6:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Butterick 4985

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
McCall's 5114 OOP

photo
by: FreyaStark

Review
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's City Western Shirt Pattern

Buy Now