SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 10-2007-119 (Burda Petite Audrey Coat)

4 more reviews
Viewed 941 times 
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Terri Astarstarstarstar
United States
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 109
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 73 people
patterns reviewed: 94
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/1/11 7:51 PM
Last Updated:1/9/11 7:45 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Knitters Delight said...
Nicely done! This coat is fantastic - from the color to the buttons.
1/12/11 6:11 PM
JuneHawk said...
I love it! I have that issue of Burda and I"m going to have another look now for other patterns. If I didn't live in South Florida I would make that coat.
1/3/11 1:03 PM
simplystitches said...
Absolutely stunning coat!
1/2/11 11:38 PM
AnitaJJ said...
Spectacularly gorgeous coat. Thank you for all the wonderful detail in your review.
1/2/11 8:38 PM
MNBarb said...
I love this perfectly fitted orange coat. It is so unique and beautiful!
1/2/11 8:32 PM
ginnie.wise said...
Absolutely stunning!
1/2/11 8:29 PM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous coat!
1/2/11 6:19 PM
janet said...
This coat is truly a thing of BEAUTY! Excellent TAILORING! Your DD is one LUCKY girl!
1/2/11 5:33 PM
Terri A said...
I edited my review above to reflect that as well. Thanks CarolynGM:-)
1/2/11 5:08 PM
CarolynGM said...
Gorgeous coat and outstanding review. That is a very unusual sleeve treatment that looks almost like set-in sleeves.
1/2/11 5:07 PM
Terri A said...
Hi fuzzygalore, since Burda called it raglan, I just stuck with that... Maybe to Burda it's a raglan style, who knows... The pattern also called for raglan shoulder pads.Very interesting... Thanks for mentioning this. :-) Actually, I see what it is. The raglan element is inherent to the fact that you sew from the sleeve hem all the way up to the neckline. There is no separate shoulder seam. It only appears that way in the photos.... The review is edited above to reflect that the sleeves are not truly Raglan, and not cut on in any way, but a clever "set-in variation" with a seam running the whole top length of the seam to the neckline!
1/2/11 1:35 PM
Beek said...
Great coat! I love that color.
1/2/11 12:50 PM
becca a said...
Absolutely gorgeous coat! Your daughter is lovely in it. How lucky she is to have such a lovely custom coat.
1/2/11 9:21 AM
Sharonspils said...
Absolutely gorgeous coat and thank your daughter for posing for all the wonderfull photographs.
1/2/11 5:43 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Very nice coat, and excellent color :-). Raglan sleeves reach to the neck, so these are merely cut-in. Also, what you looked up was the US definition of knit velours. What Burda means in wool coatings is a brushed melton so the surface is fuzzier, rather than a crisp finish.
1/2/11 5:19 AM
Terri A said...
Thx everyone and haha yeah I want the coat too. My dd is soooo tiny that I'm sure it won't fit me, but I told her IF she ever doesn't want it - I want it back in case I could ever fit in it!!!! Thx again, you guys always encourage/help me to keep going with my sewing projects.
1/2/11 2:29 AM
homejewel said...
Can I just cut to the chase? I WANT this coat :) Stunning!
1/2/11 2:07 AM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous.
1/1/11 11:46 PM
mesewlot said...
Very nice coat, I'm in love with those buttons!
1/1/11 11:33 PM
MaryDB said...
So nice. Well-deserved extra sewing satisfaction!
1/1/11 11:32 PM
ChristineX said...
Great coat! Like you, I'm nowhere near done with Burda, just for reasons like this coat!
1/1/11 11:20 PM
21wale said...
Wow, gorgeous coat! I love the color and the buttons.
1/1/11 9:37 PM
Annette1 said...
GREAT review, information-packed. And the COAT ... well, it's just beautiful, as if your daughter. Your fabric choice was perfect, the color is delicious, and there are so many lovely details, including those buttons. :o)
1/1/11 8:26 PM
Terri A said...
I have yet to finish it but am working hard! Thanks for the kind comments!
12/17/10 1:20 AM
AdaH said...
sorry double post.
12/17/10 1:11 AM
AdaH said...
very good review. Great looking coat
12/17/10 1:11 AM
Sharonspils said...
Thank you for the detailed review, this coat is on my wishlist and I'm sure your daughter will be thrilled with the end result.
12/15/10 10:08 PM
Christas said...
This is coming along beautifully! I am sure that your daughter will love it, and if she doesn't ....... send it to ME!!! The coat really is gorgeous, and I love the color! :-)
12/15/10 4:01 PM
Terri A said...
Thanks both of you. I wanted to include as much info as possible because of the Burda instructions. It is intimidating for people to do so much tracing and then not be sure of the instructions or how it will all work out:-)
12/14/10 8:46 PM
KensingtonCrab said...
How beautiful! Your DD is very lucky!
12/14/10 6:05 AM
Athene said...
A gorgeous coat - I have to take the time to read your review carefully - you have included so much valuable detail.
12/14/10 2:00 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

StyleArc Georgia peplum top

photo
by: LTC

Review
Simplicity 1612

photo
by: CJgal

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Jacket Express Pattern

Buy Now
Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Ultrasuede Jacket DVD

Buy Now