SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 10-2007-119 (Burda Petite Audrey Coat)

4 more reviews
Viewed 936 times 
Reviewed by:Terri A
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Terri Astarstarstar
Member since: 1/16/08
Reviews written: 106
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 69 people
patterns reviewed: 91
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/1/11 7:51 PM
Last Updated:1/9/11 7:45 PM
Pattern Size:Petite 


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
31 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
A gorgeous coat - I have to take the time to read your review carefully - you have included so much valuable detail.
12/14/10 2:00 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
How beautiful! Your DD is very lucky!
12/14/10 6:05 AM
Terri A said...
Thanks both of you. I wanted to include as much info as possible because of the Burda instructions. It is intimidating for people to do so much tracing and then not be sure of the instructions or how it will all work out:-)
12/14/10 8:46 PM
Christas said...
This is coming along beautifully! I am sure that your daughter will love it, and if she doesn't ....... send it to ME!!! The coat really is gorgeous, and I love the color! :-)
12/15/10 4:01 PM
Sharonspils said...
Thank you for the detailed review, this coat is on my wishlist and I'm sure your daughter will be thrilled with the end result.
12/15/10 10:08 PM
AdaH said...
very good review. Great looking coat
12/17/10 1:11 AM
AdaH said...
sorry double post.
12/17/10 1:11 AM
Terri A said...
I have yet to finish it but am working hard! Thanks for the kind comments!
12/17/10 1:20 AM
Annette1 said...
GREAT review, information-packed. And the COAT ... well, it's just beautiful, as if your daughter. Your fabric choice was perfect, the color is delicious, and there are so many lovely details, including those buttons. :o)
1/1/11 8:26 PM
21wale said...
Wow, gorgeous coat! I love the color and the buttons.
1/1/11 9:37 PM
ChristineX said...
Great coat! Like you, I'm nowhere near done with Burda, just for reasons like this coat!
1/1/11 11:20 PM
MaryDB said...
So nice. Well-deserved extra sewing satisfaction!
1/1/11 11:32 PM
mesewlot said...
Very nice coat, I'm in love with those buttons!
1/1/11 11:33 PM
Lori V said...
Gorgeous.
1/1/11 11:46 PM
homejewel said...
Can I just cut to the chase? I WANT this coat :) Stunning!
1/2/11 2:07 AM
Terri A said...
Thx everyone and haha yeah I want the coat too. My dd is soooo tiny that I'm sure it won't fit me, but I told her IF she ever doesn't want it - I want it back in case I could ever fit in it!!!! Thx again, you guys always encourage/help me to keep going with my sewing projects.
1/2/11 2:29 AM
fuzzygalore said...
Very nice coat, and excellent color :-). Raglan sleeves reach to the neck, so these are merely cut-in. Also, what you looked up was the US definition of knit velours. What Burda means in wool coatings is a brushed melton so the surface is fuzzier, rather than a crisp finish.
1/2/11 5:19 AM
Sharonspils said...
Absolutely gorgeous coat and thank your daughter for posing for all the wonderfull photographs.
1/2/11 5:43 AM
becca a said...
Absolutely gorgeous coat! Your daughter is lovely in it. How lucky she is to have such a lovely custom coat.
1/2/11 9:21 AM
Beek said...
Great coat! I love that color.
1/2/11 12:50 PM
Terri A said...
Hi fuzzygalore, since Burda called it raglan, I just stuck with that... Maybe to Burda it's a raglan style, who knows... The pattern also called for raglan shoulder pads.Very interesting... Thanks for mentioning this. :-) Actually, I see what it is. The raglan element is inherent to the fact that you sew from the sleeve hem all the way up to the neckline. There is no separate shoulder seam. It only appears that way in the photos.... The review is edited above to reflect that the sleeves are not truly Raglan, and not cut on in any way, but a clever "set-in variation" with a seam running the whole top length of the seam to the neckline!
1/2/11 1:35 PM
CarolynGM said...
Gorgeous coat and outstanding review. That is a very unusual sleeve treatment that looks almost like set-in sleeves.
1/2/11 5:07 PM
Terri A said...
I edited my review above to reflect that as well. Thanks CarolynGM:-)
1/2/11 5:08 PM
janet said...
This coat is truly a thing of BEAUTY! Excellent TAILORING! Your DD is one LUCKY girl!
1/2/11 5:33 PM
michellep74 said...
Gorgeous coat!
1/2/11 6:19 PM
ginnie.wise said...
Absolutely stunning!
1/2/11 8:29 PM
MNBarb said...
I love this perfectly fitted orange coat. It is so unique and beautiful!
1/2/11 8:32 PM
AnitaJJ said...
Spectacularly gorgeous coat. Thank you for all the wonderful detail in your review.
1/2/11 8:38 PM
simplystitches said...
Absolutely stunning coat!
1/2/11 11:38 PM
JuneHawk said...
I love it! I have that issue of Burda and I"m going to have another look now for other patterns. If I didn't live in South Florida I would make that coat.
1/3/11 1:03 PM
Knitters Delight said...
Nicely done! This coat is fantastic - from the color to the buttons.
1/12/11 6:11 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Simplicity 1799

photo
by: Sixtiesgir...

Review
SewBaby Baby Doll Puppet Pattern

SewBaby  Baby Doll Puppet  Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Favorite Things Hope Skirts Pattern

Buy Now