SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8346 (MISSES' COAT)

19 more reviews
Review submitted in Winter Wear Contest
Viewed 949 times 
Reviewed by:Maggiedoll
photo

 
 
About Maggiedollstar
MD USA
Member since: 1/8/10
Reviews written: 65
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/13/10 4:30 PM
Last Updated:12/20/10 10:28 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
22 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
JillyBe said...
Very elegant looking!
12/30/10 3:42 AM
VirginiasDghter said...
Very nice!
12/27/10 8:58 PM
Annette1 said...
All your efforts have resulted in a WONDERFUL coat. I LOVE your fabric, and silk lined, no less!
12/22/10 11:26 PM
jewelsew said...
Very professional looking! I'm sure it looks great on you.
12/22/10 12:11 PM
Beek said...
Gorgeous fabric! I love that short coat.
12/21/10 3:57 PM
MaryDB said...
It turned out so nice! Great work. Thanks for the review.
12/20/10 9:52 PM
iSewQuiltArt said...
Stylish pattern, lovely fabric- and you've learned lots about sewing- what could be better?
12/20/10 4:41 PM
Rhoda K said...
Very nice and very good review! Glad you're happy with your new coat.
12/20/10 4:20 PM
Janiki said...
I love your jacket! Thanks for the review.
12/20/10 3:20 PM
MNBarb said...
I like the princess lines of this coat and your version looks great. It sounds like you learned so much (aside from the frustration) from it's construction.
12/20/10 12:51 PM
SewWil said...
Classic! Very nice coat.
12/20/10 12:45 PM
maryfrana said...
This coat looks so well made. Thanks for the very thorough review.
12/20/10 12:36 PM
Maggiedoll said...
Thanks susan, I'll have to check that one out!
12/14/10 12:47 PM
susanbanks said...
Lovely jacket! If you are looking for the same kind of shape but with the princess seams ending at the shoulder rather than the armhole you could have a look at Butterick pattern 5425 (although this has slightly puffed sleeves).
12/14/10 8:31 AM
Cat MacGregor said...
I merely suggested allowing a little colour show through. DFR!!! 8P
12/13/10 10:32 PM
Christas said...
Very nice looking coat! I really love your wool choice ..... so pretty!
12/13/10 9:16 PM
swing like a girl said...
Nice jacket. I like the short version also.
12/13/10 7:53 PM
dfr2010 said...
Truly lovely wool ... it's a shame the hem was such a nightmare for you. The buttons look great (no matter what Cat says ...)
12/13/10 6:05 PM
SansSouci572 said...
Looking good! I like your short version!!
12/12/10 11:46 PM
Terri A said...
This is going to be a great coat! Love the wool.
12/12/10 11:30 PM
Maggiedoll said...
Yes, that does help. Actually, some parts of the pattern call for tacking-- other call for the french tacking that you mentioned after that. It's easy to google "french tack" though. And I knew what tailors tacks were, but I've usually seen them used as a temporary thing, in place of pins where the pins would distort the fabric.
12/12/10 7:25 PM
moushka said...
In tailoring, the sleeve hem is basted about 1/4 inch from the folded edge to keep it from shifting while the hem is catch-stitched in place. Remove the basting after the hem is hand sewn. 'Tacking' means to loosely stitch together the seam allowances of the sleeve lining and garment sleeve at the shoulder and underarm junctions. A few fairly loose hand stitches joining the two seam allowances will keep the lining from coming out of the sleeve when it's pulled off or put on. This is not the couture method (which involves buttonhole stitching over several long threads) but will suffice in most cases. HTH.
12/11/10 11:10 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Online Class
Altering Pants
Altering Pants

Class Details

Patti's Dolls Tail Waggin Dragon

photo
by: LaurieEm

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 10-2012-118

photo
by: nicegirl

Review
Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

Favorite Things Sweet Es-Cape Pattern

More Info
Sew Liberated Brynna Dress Pattern

Sew Liberated Brynna Dress Pattern

More Info