SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5522 (Misses shirts)

55 more reviews
Viewed 461 times 
Reviewed by:Lisa Laree
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Lisa Lareestarstarstarstar
AL USA
Member since: 8/24/02
Reviews written: 243
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 86 people
patterns reviewed: 224
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:12/10/10 11:21 PM
Last Updated:12/10/10 11:21 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
carolynw said...
Lisa this is so pretty - am glad you persisted. That's a bit of a bummer with the arm restriction but I hope you get a lot of wear out of this.
12/10/10 11:27 PM
SusiM said...
OMG! I just wore this same pattern today, and was thinking of adding a review. I made exactly the same alterations that you did: lowered the bust, adjusted the waist length, etc. AND I have the exact experience with armhole/sleeve. It looks great, but there's that problem with raising the arms. I figured it was something I did. Thankyou, thankyou for mentioning all the fitting info. I'll need to add my review soon. Your blouse looks good.
12/11/10 1:28 AM
Margaret said...
The shirt looks great! And I do like the stripes falling horizontally on the collar in front -- reapeats the horizontal stripe on the cuffs. Hope you still get to wear it often despite the sleeves binding. My guess is there is too much armhole depth in this pattern for such a fitted sleeve. I've heard of 1" below your real underarm being a good depth for armholes... although such a fixed measurement applying to everyone seems a bit suspect to me. Thanks, too, for all the informative comments on the fit of this pattern!
12/11/10 4:45 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
I think you did a great job lining up the stripes in the front! Cute top and I appreciate the great review. I have this pattern and will definately do a muslin first.
12/11/10 8:35 AM
Christas said...
Very nice review! Your blouse looks very pretty on you!
12/11/10 10:47 AM
spiphany said...
I've been working on this pattern and am having the exact same problem with the arms binding that you have, and I haven't been able to figure out how to fix it. (I suspect the reason other reviewers haven't mentioned it is because most of them did views with fuller sleeves.)
12/11/10 11:14 AM
blue mooney said...
Nice shirt and very useful review! The stripes look really good - don't think I've seen this pattern made up in a stripe before.
12/11/10 12:31 PM
MNBarb said...
UGH! I made a pattern this summer that had the same arm-binding problem. We need 1) a support group and 2)a solution. Is it that the armscye is too low? BTW, I like this style of blouse on you.
12/11/10 10:31 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Sewing Basics
Sewing Basics

Register

BurdaStyle Magazine 12-2010-111

photo
by: allycovey

Review
You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 200mm Glam Purse Pattern

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Sew Liberated Mischievous Gnome Messenger Bag

Buy Now