SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> Frostline Kit (not Burda) (Down Vest from a Frostline Kit)

Viewed 142 times 
Reviewed by:AnitaJJ
photo

 
 
About AnitaJJstar
FL USA
Member since: 7/6/08
Reviews written: 38
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/13/10 5:18 PM
Last Updated:12/13/10 5:23 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 3 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cadienne said...
One of these down vest kits was the VERY FIRST sewing project I made! I need to take some pics and post it. I still wear it.
12/13/10 5:34 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
I made a bicycle bag that hang from the handlebars of my 10-speed.. yes all you youngin's 10 gears only! and skinny tires and a molded leather seat that was hard as a 2 x 4 turned on edge. Frostline! are they still in business???? Kit had all the stuff... thread even.
12/13/10 7:25 PM
Patti B said...
I sewed Frostline kits when we lived in Alaska -- wonder why. They were excellent kits and I wish I had the down vest. I finally finished the heavy parka for DH 10 yrs ago since we had moved back to California before I got his sewn.
12/13/10 9:46 PM
SueV said...
Oh, I use to sew from a company called Alta, that did these kits too. Sew much fun!
12/14/10 0:36 AM
Jane S said...
I nver made anything from a Frostline kit but I definitely remember reading about them! Did the down come in bags, too? I had a weekly "sewing group" with my teaching girlfriends (mostly needlework) and I believe one of them made a parka. Wow, what a recommendation for their good design!
12/14/10 1:45 AM
Ellenatlga said...
My mother used to sew these for us, yes you're right, it was about 30 years ago. I remember her using a lit candle to keep the edges from fraying by melting the nylon! and, oh the feathers! they went flying everywhere! I'm pretty sure they still have every jacket and parka she made those many years ago. Thanks for the wonderful trip down memory lane :)
12/14/10 6:43 AM
fuzzygalore said...
They have 'other' as a company :-). Those kits were good, especially the individual tubes that let you stuff the thing without getting more down in your hair than into the vest..
12/14/10 7:51 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Did you ever think you would need a down vest in FL?? So glad you held onto it! My first items were self drafted tote bags and purses and clothes for my trolls made out of felt but first 'big' project was a red and white striped flannel nightgown in home ec class.
12/14/10 11:27 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
More Knits
More Knits

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Vogue Patterns 8511

photo
by: Jstarr4250

Review
SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

SewBaby The Hat Shoppe Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus D202 DVD

Petite Plus D202 DVD

Buy Now