Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Burda: Frostline Kit (not Burda) (Down Vest from a Frostline Kit) - Type:Outerwear    printable version
Viewed 142 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:AnitaJJ
photo
About AnitaJJstar
FL USA
Member since: 7/6/08
Reviews written: 38
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 37
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/13/10 5:18 PM
Last Updated:12/13/10 5:23 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
8 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cadienne said...
One of these down vest kits was the VERY FIRST sewing project I made! I need to take some pics and post it. I still wear it.
12/13/10 5:34 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
I made a bicycle bag that hang from the handlebars of my 10-speed.. yes all you youngin's 10 gears only! and skinny tires and a molded leather seat that was hard as a 2 x 4 turned on edge. Frostline! are they still in business???? Kit had all the stuff... thread even.
12/13/10 7:25 PM
Patti B said...
I sewed Frostline kits when we lived in Alaska -- wonder why. They were excellent kits and I wish I had the down vest. I finally finished the heavy parka for DH 10 yrs ago since we had moved back to California before I got his sewn.
12/13/10 9:46 PM
SueV said...
Oh, I use to sew from a company called Alta, that did these kits too. Sew much fun!
12/14/10 0:36 AM
Jane S said...
I nver made anything from a Frostline kit but I definitely remember reading about them! Did the down come in bags, too? I had a weekly "sewing group" with my teaching girlfriends (mostly needlework) and I believe one of them made a parka. Wow, what a recommendation for their good design!
12/14/10 1:45 AM
Ellenatlga said...
My mother used to sew these for us, yes you're right, it was about 30 years ago. I remember her using a lit candle to keep the edges from fraying by melting the nylon! and, oh the feathers! they went flying everywhere! I'm pretty sure they still have every jacket and parka she made those many years ago. Thanks for the wonderful trip down memory lane :)
12/14/10 6:43 AM
fuzzygalore said...
They have 'other' as a company :-). Those kits were good, especially the individual tubes that let you stuff the thing without getting more down in your hair than into the vest..
12/14/10 7:51 AM
KensingtonCrab said...
Did you ever think you would need a down vest in FL?? So glad you held onto it! My first items were self drafted tote bags and purses and clothes for my trolls made out of felt but first 'big' project was a red and white striped flannel nightgown in home ec class.
12/14/10 11:27 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

HotPatterns 1089
photo
Review by Immelu on 8/29/09
Read Review

Simplicity 4043 Pattern( Size ALL SIZES )
Simplicity 4043 Pattern( Size ALL SIZES )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6277 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )
New Look 6277 Pattern ( Size 1/2-1-2-3-4 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 7911
photo
Review by goosegreen on 3/30/10
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Classic Footed Pajamas Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Classic Footed Pajamas Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate A-Line A La Mode Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate A-Line A La Mode Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop Soho Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us