Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Cutting Line Designs: 42201 (Farewell to Arms) thumbsup - Type:Tops
Review submitted in 2012 Fabric Stash Contest Contest    printable version
Viewed 538 times 6 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 7 people   
Reviewed by:blue mooney
photo
About blue mooneystarstarstar
TX USA
Member since: 12/21/02
Reviews written: 96
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 37 people
patterns reviewed: 93
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/14/10 7:44 PM
Last Updated:1/25/12 7:58 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular 


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
I am not familiar with this pattern company, but really love the shirt you have made from her pattern. The "mystery fabric" looks so nice and stylish sewn into this top! Very nice review!
12/14/10 7:55 PM
FreyaStark said...
A nice shirt - I have often thought about it making it myself but never quite got there. Thanks for a useful review.
12/14/10 8:27 PM
Aixoise said...
Louise Cutting's instructions for the construction of her patterns are the best! They make me smile every time I use them. Your shirt looks terrific. Congrats on a great job, and thanks for the tips about her sales. Must check out her website regularly!
12/14/10 9:09 PM
Peggy L said...
Great looking shirt. I have never tried one of these patterns but every comments on her great instructions. I'll be on the lookout:)
12/15/10 7:13 AM
Woolygal said...
Louise has some great tips on her instructions. If you've ever made her collar, you wouldn't do it any other way. You did a wonderful job on this shirt.
12/15/10 8:13 AM
RLL said...
Your shirt looks great. Whatever your mystery fabric is it sure looks nice. I made this top a couple of years ago and used the totally wrong fabric choice and it was awful (my fault). I was so dissappointed that I put the pattern away. I need to revisit it with more appropriate fabric as I really do like the style. I did not like that the back was longer than the front (my quirk) but that is an easy fix. Thanks for bringing this back to my attention.
12/15/10 11:04 AM
Karine said...
I'm a big fan of Louise Cutting's patterns. I love how she comes up with techniques that are absolutely brilliant. Your shirt is really lovely and looks great on you. Nice job!
12/15/10 4:08 PM
lynne1nor said...
That's a really lovely shirt on you!
12/16/10 3:47 PM
Annette1 said...
Boy, after seeing your shirt, I'm thinking I may NEED this pattern, too. I think the reason I like yours so much is that you've fitted it through the shoulders, instead of it being oversized. It's VERY flattering and expertly tailored, as well!
12/19/10 7:45 PM
Christas said...
Ooooooh!!! The newest version is wonderful! I always enjoy seeing what you are sewing.
1/25/12 8:10 PM
marec said...
This is a wonderful shirt, and I like it as much or more than the original. I love the seam detail and the little pocket. Very impressive and inspiring work.
1/26/12 12:43 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Put it on the Bias
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Put it on the Bias

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Butterick 5421 MISSES' SKIRT
photo
Review by tiadia on 9/24/10
Read Review

Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)
Angela Osborn Daisy Top Digital Pattern (SS10-11-104)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Tiny Bubbles Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue Patterns 8546
photo
Review by Janiki on 3/20/11
Read Review

Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top
Christine Jonson Swirl Skirt & Ruffle Top

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

JSM-Pant 1
JSM-Pant 1

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1438 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1438 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Burda 7183 Pattern
Burda 7183 Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us