Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8582 thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 871 times 20 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 3 people    Very Helpful by 13 people   
Reviewed by:rivergum
photo
About rivergumstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 12/17/06
Reviews written: 128
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 123
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/15/10 5:32 PM
Last Updated:12/15/10 5:49 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
marthamyers said...
I love all your tops! I too am sort-of pear-shaped. I keep being drawn to this pattern. I guess I'm going to have to buy it now! Thanks for the inspiring review.
12/15/10 5:42 PM
Lilibet said...
All your tops look terrific on you. It's a great pattern, not just for pears. I'm more hourglass and get compliments every time I wear mine. I made one for a friend who is apple shaped and it looks lovely on her too. As you say it is also very easy to vary to skirt part to get different looks.
12/15/10 6:37 PM
m/m said...
Wonderful mix of fabrics and variations. Did you make the black top too? The necklines work so well together.
12/15/10 6:49 PM
Andreahg said...
I love these tunics on you!
12/15/10 6:55 PM
rivergum said...
m/m, sorry, I didn't make the black top, so i can't recommend a pattern. I was in Europe for their last summer sales and bought quite a few tops from Zarah and H&M to knock off. I find their fabrics and finishing mostly very ordinary, but their styles often have that certain something, even if they are very simple.
12/15/10 7:07 PM
linda 75142 said...
I've got to make this pattern....love your versions! It's in the stash--need to pull it out.
12/15/10 7:52 PM
Knitters Delight said...
No wonder you keep on making these - they all look fabulous on you!
12/15/10 8:16 PM
Hilary said...
They all look great on you~very pretty and flattering!
12/15/10 8:24 PM
lamstu said...
All great tops, but the "Target" b/w is above and beyond!! I would never buy that fabric, but I'd buy your top in a heartbeat. I'll look at the large scale prints more carefully from now on.
12/15/10 8:35 PM
Catbird said...
I love your "target" top and every single other one you've made from this pattern. It's a great style for you and looks like it would flatter so many figures. I think the best compliment for a review is that it makes you want to get up immediately and head for the fabric store/pattern shop and make one for yourself -- and that's what this review did for me! Thank you -- great work!
12/15/10 8:35 PM
FreyaStark said...
Fabulous tops. It's great that the same pattern works so well with different fabric to create quite distinct looks.
12/15/10 8:59 PM
Athene said...
All the tops are great and suit you very well. Very attractive.
12/15/10 10:34 PM
arianamaniacs said...
I love your tops, they look great layered too
12/16/10 2:39 AM
Rebecca D said...
Love all the versions. Great review.
12/16/10 6:33 AM
DorothyK said...
I love all your versions. The target is fantastic and very flattering. I made this pattern awhile ago and am about to publish my review. I did Marcy's neckband and think it's the most interesting feature, so I would highly recommend you try it next time.
12/16/10 10:49 AM
RLL said...
All your tops are great, but I especially love the 'target' top. I am drawn to black and white print anyway. You do look very good in it.
12/16/10 4:05 PM
1SewSweet said...
Love it, love it, love it!!! I made the version with the turtleneck and really didn't like the neckline either!!! I was going to trash this pattern but glad I saw yours!! With your simple neckline treatment, it made all the difference in the world!! Thank you so much for saving this pattern for me! Your versions are absolutely goregous!!
12/18/10 7:50 AM
Nancy Powers said...
I just bought this pattern today and decided to check out the reviews. I love all your versions- I wouldn't have thought to try wool jersey or velour but those versions look great. Thanks for the inspiration!
12/18/10 12:52 PM
Annette1 said...
I can't even TELL you how many times I've eyed this pattern and considered buying it. To date, I haven't, but your tops have ALL turned out SO nicely, I'm certainly tempted. I particularly like that it fits so nicely through the upper body. :o)
12/19/10 7:47 PM
Barb203 said...
The tops look terrific. I have to get that pattern!
12/22/10 6:01 AM
canei said...
I LOVE the fabric. Your top is beautiful....
12/22/10 1:33 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Butterick 5488 Misses' Dress
photo
Review by rosecy on 6/29/10
Read Review

Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern
Favorite Things Blossoms & Bloomers Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket
Christine Jonson Double Collar Princess Jacket

Details
Price: $18.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )
Oliver   S School Days Jacket & Coat Digital Pattern( Size 6m-3T )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Dixie DIY Ballet Dress
Dixie DIY Ballet Dress

Details
Price: $4.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 2587 Misses Dress
photo
Review by MissyBelle on 8/27/10
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3778 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3778 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.49
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1388 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )
Vogue 1388 Pattern ( Size 8-10-12-14-16 )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us