SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8685 (Misses' Dress)

24 more reviews
Viewed 735 times 
Reviewed by:PolishPoppy
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About PolishPoppystar
VA USA
Member since: 4/11/09
Reviews written: 8
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 7
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/18/10 6:40 PM
Last Updated:12/18/10 6:45 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $25.00 (See envelope)Click to Buy
 
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
PolishPoppy said...
Oh yes, sorry about the sexy black socks in the photos! (I figured it was a wadder so I did not dress up). :)
12/18/10 6:44 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Vogue "Easy" is NOT Kwik Sew, eh!! I think you learned a LOT from the project!! Would encourage you to try something easier--maybe a Kwik Sew dress?? (Use high bust measurement). Keep at it!! Before you know it, you'll be making tons of pj bottoms, like me :/
12/18/10 6:56 PM
RadarRadiance said...
I'm sorry you had so many problems with the dress. Hopefully someone can think of a way to selvage it. It is a very cute pattern, I haven't seen this one reviewed before, very nice lines on it. I wonder if you did cut it off for a top and then cut out the zipper and use some of the lower material to make a placket type button up in the back ;-) Just some thoughts. Keep on trying, it is how you learn.
12/18/10 7:10 PM
mollyshark said...
What Rhonda says is right on. When using any of the big four patterns (vogue, butterick, mccalls, simplicity) pick size for a dress by high bust, not full bust. HUGE difference. You can always do an FBA for bust room but you'll find the neck and shoulders will fit much better if you do this. I have this pattern so was glad to read your thoughts on it.
12/18/10 7:42 PM
heathertyfeatherty said...
I commend you for trying this as any time I see a knit that needs a zipper I shudder. I love this pattern, and I'm glad to see your review. If I attempt it (big if) I think I might move the zipper to the side so the back seamlines line up easier and if the zipper gives me fits it'll be partially hidden under my arm? This is why I sometimes avoid sewing with knits!
12/19/10 10:37 AM
jmspencer1984 said...
If I were to make this pattern (I've had my eye on it...) I think I would eliminate the zipper altogether. It's a knit dress and from the look of it, it seems like it could just pull over... Keep trying, every project gets better and better!
12/20/10 9:55 AM
PolishPoppy said...
Thank you! your comments are VERY helpful.. and I cannot wait to try the difference between the full vs high bust adjustment on patterns as well.... Thank you again!
12/21/10 8:36 AM
Submarine said...
I made this dress and also ended up with a "spinosaurus-rex" back. I tried stabilizing the zipper area, and that helped a little but did not eliminate the problem entirely. Anybody have any idea how to solve this problem?
12/21/10 4:37 PM
mollyshark said...
One thing that works well for me on zippers in knits is to use 1/4" steam a seam to attach the zipper and then topstitch over it. Of course if you are using an invisible zipper it is a little harder to do this, but you can do it on one side at least. It eliminates stretching of the fabric when you sew it on and that gets rid of the humps. Not sure if there is enough give in this pattern given the very fitted midriff to make it without a zipper.
1/20/11 8:30 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Register

Altering Jackets
Altering Jackets

Register

Simplicity 4025

photo
by: Sheila457

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 07-2010-121

photo
by: Anne Cherr...

Review
Perfect Pouches

Perfect Pouches

Buy Now
Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Jamie Christina Pretty Ditty Apron Pattern (JC303PD)

Buy Now