SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Laughing Moon Mercantile> #100 

2 more reviews
Review submitted in Fabric Stash - 2011 Contest
Viewed 554 times 
Reviewed by:Maggiedoll
photo

 
 
About Maggiedollstar
MD USA
Member since: 1/8/10
Reviews written: 65
Sewing skills:Advanced Beginner
Favored by: 5 people
patterns reviewed: 56
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/30/11 3:49 PM
Last Updated:2/2/11 2:38 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 2 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
piffle said...
Thank you so much for the FoundationsRevealed link. What a terrific resource! Additionally, your work is really beautiful. So much improvement and creativity. Brava!
7/17/12 7:41 AM
Annette1 said...
Great review, to say nothing of this beautiful corset (both of them, actually). I could just LOOK at them all day, they're so pretty! You really did a nice job.
2/4/11 3:42 PM
loti said...
This is so pretty, I have this pattern but haven't made it yet.
2/2/11 11:30 PM
rozzybabe said...
You've done a super job! We all learn more as we go along, it's having the guts to actually start & finish that counts as much as the sewing "q1uality", which you've done really well. You've inspired me to get this pattern in the spring! Thanks for all the details!
2/2/11 4:26 PM
Ericaeli said...
This really is quite beautiful. It makes me want to learn how to make a corset, and learn what all the terms you used mean.
2/1/11 6:54 PM
rmusic1 said...
I'm impressed, it looks lovely. Well done for your perseverance.
2/1/11 6:45 PM
JillyBe said...
Congratulations on finishing & wtg girl! I admit that I don't know what half the terms you used mean, & I'm a little lost in corset world, but it still looks like an wonderful job well done!
2/1/11 5:59 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Your corset looks fabulous! very perfect looking to me~
1/31/11 9:15 PM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Greetings Maggiedoll, Holidays done and I am back on task with corsetry. I have a cotton muslin sewn and ready to fit. The white ticking from Vogue Fabrics is quite nice actually. I will keep you all posted. I did pick up 3 books recommended for interesting reading on history/culture of women's foundations ie corsets mostly, at the Kent State Fashion Museum. They were all recommended reading from the Corset making DVD. Fascinating. Still think I like my Wacoal bras best!
1/31/11 9:14 PM
Maggiedoll said...
If you decide to do that, make sure you drop by the corset sew-along and let us know! I'm not sure if I'm planning on coutil anywhere in the near future, I still have quite a bit of canvas, and haven't even started experimenting with the herringbone canvas I have (for that matter, I'm not completely sure how "herringbone canvas" differs from coutil..) but I think dfr is planning on coutil as the core of her red brocade corset. For that matter, come stop by the corset sew-alone whether or not you have extra coutil to get rid of! And BTW, Tuesday nights are "official" corset chats. 7pm-ish Eastern, but we tend to be there.. well, we live in the chat room!
12/21/10 10:40 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Hi maggiedoll... I am probably the only gal who is interested in sewing my own... and the New member.. the others have their stuff! V. Good idea though, Until I work out the details, I think I am going to go with the pillow ticking. a working/wearable muslin for the upcoming Season is what I envision. I am also thinking of a dress form wearing corset .. Jan Bones & her paper-tape double is coming to my favorite local store/ class place "Janie's Sewing Corner" in Cleveland. An hour drive, but I can get taped there and be hopefully better able to sew a ball gown that fits! 5 yds sounds like a LOT of corsets... maybe I could parcel it out in the PR classifides... Thanks!
12/20/10 8:23 PM
Maggiedoll said...
Nancy, would you be able to split an order of coutil with members of your reenactment group? RichardTheThread has the best prices on coutil I've seen (for the domestic coutil, apparently not as good as then English coutil, but it's still coutil) they have the "natural" color for $9.95/yard and white for $12.90/yard, plus a few colors that are slightly more. The catch is that they have a 5-yard minimum.
12/19/10 11:03 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
Hi! I think you are well on your way! I have been looking for and shopping price for corset coutil. Definitely not a locally available item. One site suggested cotton pillow ticking and linked to Vogue Fabrics (Evanston IL). I joined a Civil War reenacting group and need a period accurate corset. I will be watching your progress... the Linda Sparks book (reading now) might be helpful to you. Good luck!
12/19/10 10:18 AM
Kim12469 said...
It's looking really good. I have this pattern and really want to make it too. I also have some of that VW canvas so it's good to know I can use it. I like the look of yours even though you say it looks a little like fetishwear.
12/19/10 8:41 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Understanding Wool Fabrics
Understanding Wool Fabrics

Register

Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Elan B530

photo
by: squirrelly...

Review
Brownie-Goose Designs Nelle

photo
by: p3patch

Review
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Designer Dress Shirt Pattern

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

You Sew Girl Best Dress Pattern

Buy Now