SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Jalie> 2908 (Women's Stretch Jeans)

164 more reviews
Viewed 582 times 
Reviewed by:Mazzygirl
photo

 
 
About Mazzygirlstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 4/28/10
Reviews written: 125
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 40 people
patterns reviewed: 125
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2009
Posted on:12/18/10 8:53 PM
Last Updated:12/18/10 10:04 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 8 people   
See other patterns in this category: Pants    
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $12.75 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Mazzygirl said...
Silknmore, don't know the percentage, but I would have said this denim had not much stretch. it was a reasonably firm denim, but there's enough stretch in it to make these comfortable. hope that makes sense? I think the key with this pattern is you need SOME stretch, & chose your size according to how much stretch ur dealing with (which can be hit & miss at times!!) . The previous 2 pair I made I used some fairly stretchy denim, so I have to wear a belt with them as the get too loose over time... Because of that this latest pair is my favourite...
1/2/11 6:59 PM
Silknmore said...
Beautifully done. Could you tell me how much stretch the denim has or was that not an issue in choosing the fabric or making the pants? Hope mine turn out so well.
1/1/11 9:19 AM
Nancy Rhodes said...
I am beginning to think the US Govt. is going to have to dispense with TARP funds for the Jeans industry... Jalie is going to put them ALL out of business! Just a Fab Job!
12/20/10 8:17 PM
MNBarb said...
This is just a great pattern. I like your low-rise, dark denim version. Now that you have the fit all mastered you can make many more.
12/20/10 7:21 AM
Vonnevo said...
Mazzygirl, you are a gem ! Thanks so much :)
12/19/10 10:31 PM
Mazzygirl said...
Vonnevo, I had a look & its the 100% Lint free cotton. (Thread Emb Silco 700mt (044006)) as you can see, not many colours to choose from which is a shame, as its so nice to sew with.
12/19/10 3:07 PM
JEF said...
They look fantastic and I love your topstitching and back pocket!!!
12/19/10 10:11 AM
Vonnevo said...
Thanks MazzyGirl, I'll look out for SILCO. A quick Google showed it is a Birch product.
12/19/10 8:44 AM
Mazzygirl said...
Vonnevo, I got that from my local store out at Strathpine, its a SILCO brand (also says "wonderfil" on the label) & is a 700m reel (which cost about $5). not many colour choices though, I've bought black & white. Its not as heavy as top-stitching thread, but its about twice as thick as regular thread & sews up beautifully.
12/19/10 6:03 AM
Vonnevo said...
Mazzygirl, these Jalie's look fabulous ! Love your pocket embroidery !!!! Where do you buy heavy matt white embroidery thread in Brissie?
12/19/10 1:50 AM
mesewlot said...
Great job on your jeans! I bought this pattern and I can't wait to make my first pair of REAL jeans. :)
12/19/10 1:02 AM
Christas said...
No wonder you have another pair cut out. You'll never have to buy RTW jeans again since the ones you sew look so amazing!
12/18/10 11:50 PM
annelouise said...
What fabulous jeans, they fit you perfectly and look like high end rtw
12/18/10 9:40 PM
RockNRoll said...
they are fantastic!! Love the embroidery on the pockets!
12/18/10 9:29 PM
Terri A said...
Great make and nice details!
12/18/10 9:05 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Petite Plus D202 DVD

Petite Plus D202 DVD

Buy Now
Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Sewing Workshop Village Bag Pattern

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 1060

photo
by: Barbara V

Review