Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8634 (Misses' Top) thumbsup - Type:Tops    printable version
Viewed 850 times 54 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 25 people   
Reviewed by:Annette1
photo
Friend of PR
About Annette1starstarstarstar
NE USA
Member since: 3/5/04
Reviews written: 151
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 202 people
patterns reviewed: 147
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Best Patterns of 2010
Posted on:12/19/10 3:54 PM


See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Budo Bear Designs
Asian Designs
Web site
Patterns from the Past
vintage sewing patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
27 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RLL said...
As usual, this is great on you...especially the red. You look SO good in red!
12/19/10 4:09 PM
Christas said...
Another fun and informative review by you! I love both tops, but the RED one is my favorite. Red is YOUR color for sure! You are soooo speedy. I figure I complete one garment to every ten of yours. Your new tops make me want to sew another top from this wonderful pattern. Love the new hairdo too!
12/19/10 4:16 PM
rivergum said...
This top looks great on you, Annette. I love, love, love the fabric! You always look so elegant in everything you make.
12/19/10 4:29 PM
Sweetiebop said...
Merry Christmas young lady. Another great review and fabulous tops. I really like that fabric too. My computer is so slow and I just pulled up the red top which definitely shows the essence of Annette (bright and cheery).
12/19/10 4:52 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
Gorgeous!!! AND the tops, too ;) Especially the RED--it SNAPS!! ;)
12/19/10 5:12 PM
Terri A said...
Pin in the eye? You are so funny! Great make and thx for the extra info on the sleeves...
12/19/10 6:07 PM
FreyaStark said...
A fabulous top. It looks great! Another sewing triumph for you.
12/19/10 6:44 PM
janet said...
You look BEAUTIOUS in you red top! It makes you look mucho SLIM and ELEGANT. Great fitting SAVE with your french darts. WONDERFUL, THOROUGH review--lots of tips and tricks. Wish I had bought this pattern at the Joann's sale today. Your review, along with Christas made me turn the corner on this pattern. Now I can not wait to make this up!
12/19/10 7:00 PM
Karendee said...
Another wonderful top made in record breaking time. Your speed and workmanship is absolutely amazing. Thanks, also, for the excellent information about altering a ragland sleeve pattern. I always learn so much from your reviews and appreciate all the information told with wit. This is a special pattern that looks so very good on you.
12/19/10 7:29 PM
Meggie LuLu said...
These tops are soooooo pretty!!!! Your hair looks very beautiful, btw!! =)
12/19/10 7:42 PM
carolynw said...
Beautiful tops - love the red on you!! Great review as always - have a wonderful Christmas Annette and keep on inspiring me to sew!! Love the new sassy hair
12/19/10 8:20 PM
Barbara V said...
Gosh....I love both of your tops! You look fabulous in both of them, especially the red. And "pin in the eye" !?! Thanks for the chuckles! Great review with many helpful tips. Merry Christmas!
12/19/10 8:58 PM
callmeRuth said...
Beautiful!!
12/19/10 9:38 PM
michellep74 said...
Great top! I love the neckline on this!
12/19/10 10:06 PM
MNBarb said...
This is such a good neckline for you. Both tops are perfect.
12/20/10 7:15 AM
Grammy Gin said...
You look really gorgeous in the red one...you know that is your true color!! You look good in the animal print as well, but you know! Wishing you & Tim a very Merry Christmas & a HEALTHY New Year.
12/20/10 8:17 AM
sewtime said...
LOVE your top!!
12/20/10 12:36 PM
fuzzygalore said...
Let me be contrary, and say that while you do look gorgeous in the red, the taupe is such a wonderful color with your hair that it'd be too bad to pass it up.. Maybe it'd have been easier to lower the badly-placed empire seam, and do an fba so that you had a few gathers under the bust, or a couple small pleats? Then you wouldn't have had to do so much :-). Empire seams are a big-busted girl's friends I think, if you can put them where they belong.
12/20/10 1:39 PM
Heatherrique said...
Yowza! I wish that I purchased this pattern at the last JA's sale... On a musical note, it is not so coincidental that while starting to read your review, Justin Timberlake's hit song from a few years ago (I like the melody, but not the not-so-conservative lyrics) started playing in the background. I'll change JT's lyrics to "YOU bring the GLAMOUR back...." Thanks for a very informative and fun review.
12/20/10 2:06 PM
Catbird said...
What an epic! I'm always amazed when I read through your process and then compare that to the effortless elegance of the finished product -- I think most people would end up with a mess on their hands, but you've made two GORGEOUS tops! I love them equally. The tamed collar on the animal print one is very beautiful, and the free collar on the red one is beautiful in a whole different way. The darts were a brilliant idea, too. Well, my comment is becoming longer than your excellent review, so I'd better stop now. :-)) Great work!! Oh wait, one more thing -- I love your hair!
12/20/10 4:02 PM
Margaret said...
Both tops look great on you! Thanks for all the fit info. I also find that Vogues often have skinny sleeves compared to some other brands.
12/22/10 8:59 AM
blue mooney said...
Great review - nice animal print that isn't too too. The neckline is lovely!
12/22/10 12:29 PM
JETrinity said...
I think I agree with fuzzygalore. Lower the seam in the front. Some other people have done that. I checked PR and 11 people kept the front seam and had no major alterations. However, 6 people eliminated the front seam and 3 had major alterations. I believe this seam holds the pattern and cowl together.
12/29/10 6:41 PM
KathySews said...
how did I miss this? another great, fun read. I also love the red
1/1/11 12:03 PM
1SewSweet said...
I love this top Annette!!! I have this pattern too and what I made, I assure you doesn't look anything like this...if it had, it wouldn't be a dust rag now!! I'm going to try it again using your technique! Thanks for the tip, love your work!
1/1/11 8:57 PM
pammieh said...
I love this top on you!
1/2/11 0:12 AM
CarolynGM said...
Awesome review -- You illustrated and described your pattern changes wonderfully. Both tops are lovely.
6/18/11 6:46 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $29.00)
Sewing Facings and Developing Facing Patterns

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Simplicity 1805
photo
Review by BluestRose on 11/5/13
Read Review

Kwik Sew 3917 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3917 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1440 Pattern ( Size ONE )
Simplicity 1440 Pattern ( Size ONE )

Details
Price: $17.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 1984 Palazzo Pant
photo
Review by Tailypo on 8/22/05
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Adele 3 Tier Ruffle Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Adele 3 Tier Ruffle Skirt Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Bag Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Bag Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears
8 1/2 inch Dressmaking Shears

Details
Price: $22.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress
Sewing Workshop Tosca Dress

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us