SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3521 

11 more reviews
Viewed 487 times 
Reviewed by:Jali
photo

 
 
About Jalistar
SRI LANKA
Member since: 7/2/03
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/24/10 10:03 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
no7262 said...
You really did an amazing job on this dress! Love all the finishing work you did! Nora :)
12/24/10 10:19 AM
lamstu said...
Your dress is beautiful - Fabulous use of the border print!
12/24/10 11:02 AM
dingyadi said...
That is such a pretty dress - the style and fabric are lovely.
12/24/10 11:02 AM
ggf2005 said...
I love your dress, the border print looks amazing. If you don't have the concealed/invisible zipper (manufacturer's metal foot) foot for your machine, I highly recommend investing in one. You will never want to use regular zippers again because they go in so much quicker and neater! I bought the two that fit my Viking and I use invisible zippers almost exclusively.
12/24/10 1:11 PM
crwritt said...
I like how your dress came out, love a border print and they're so hard to come by. I'm wondering why you would line a cotton dress with polyester?
12/24/10 1:19 PM
FreyaStark said...
A lovely dress, and an excellent use of that fabric. It looks great without the belt. Isn't Phahurat wonderful?
12/24/10 3:08 PM
Re Becca said...
Very well done! fabulous use for a lovely piece of coffee.
12/24/10 3:09 PM
AuntieShel said...
Oh, this dress is just so adorable! Fabulous job!!! And the fabric is darling, too!
12/24/10 4:27 PM
Jali said...
Thank you for your kind comments everyone. ggf2005 What I used was an invisible actually and I am not the best at attaching those even with the foot. I get mixed results. Sometimes they turn out well, sometimes they don't. Am working on this. crwritt I used the poly as it was the only thing I had handy and also somehow loving the feel of satin rather than batiste. I do need to learn to match my fabrics better especially with the linings and get some more suitable ones too.FreyaStark Phahurat left me with lovely memories. I was a little dumbstruck with the ready availability of affordable but pretty fabric.
12/24/10 8:22 PM
Diane333 said...
Very beautifully sewn and worn.
12/25/10 9:57 AM
cindy-lou said...
Just beautiful, inside and out. Thank you for the inspiration!
12/25/10 1:50 PM
janet said...
beautiful dress and excellent fitting tutorial. Love your seam finishes. You should be extremely proud of your dress.
12/25/10 2:46 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Gorgeous dress and excellent review!
12/29/10 4:17 PM
Bonnie123 said...
Nice....obviously you are outside of the States to wear a dress so beautiful during this time of the year! :)
12/31/10 12:31 PM
Jali said...
Yes, Bonnie123. This is completely wrong for the northern hemisphere at this time of the year. I am writing from Singapore where its cool from monsoonal rains right now so I wear a shrug over the dress to keep warm. I am never known to sew seasonally appropriate clothing anyhow. Stay warm!
1/2/11 6:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Leather 101
Leather 101

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Buy Now
Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems Men's Islander Shirt Pattern Pattern

Buy Now
Simplicity 4074

photo
by: Salymander...

Review