Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3521 thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 479 times 10 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:Jali
photo
About Jalistar
SRI LANKA
Member since: 7/2/03
Reviews written: 46
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 12 people
patterns reviewed: 41
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/24/10 10:03 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
15 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
no7262 said...
You really did an amazing job on this dress! Love all the finishing work you did! Nora :)
12/24/10 10:19 AM
lamstu said...
Your dress is beautiful - Fabulous use of the border print!
12/24/10 11:02 AM
dingyadi said...
That is such a pretty dress - the style and fabric are lovely.
12/24/10 11:02 AM
ggf2005 said...
I love your dress, the border print looks amazing. If you don't have the concealed/invisible zipper (manufacturer's metal foot) foot for your machine, I highly recommend investing in one. You will never want to use regular zippers again because they go in so much quicker and neater! I bought the two that fit my Viking and I use invisible zippers almost exclusively.
12/24/10 1:11 PM
crwritt said...
I like how your dress came out, love a border print and they're so hard to come by. I'm wondering why you would line a cotton dress with polyester?
12/24/10 1:19 PM
FreyaStark said...
A lovely dress, and an excellent use of that fabric. It looks great without the belt. Isn't Phahurat wonderful?
12/24/10 3:08 PM
Re Becca said...
Very well done! fabulous use for a lovely piece of coffee.
12/24/10 3:09 PM
AuntieShel said...
Oh, this dress is just so adorable! Fabulous job!!! And the fabric is darling, too!
12/24/10 4:27 PM
Jali said...
Thank you for your kind comments everyone. ggf2005 What I used was an invisible actually and I am not the best at attaching those even with the foot. I get mixed results. Sometimes they turn out well, sometimes they don't. Am working on this. crwritt I used the poly as it was the only thing I had handy and also somehow loving the feel of satin rather than batiste. I do need to learn to match my fabrics better especially with the linings and get some more suitable ones too.FreyaStark Phahurat left me with lovely memories. I was a little dumbstruck with the ready availability of affordable but pretty fabric.
12/24/10 8:22 PM
Diane333 said...
Very beautifully sewn and worn.
12/25/10 9:57 AM
cindy-lou said...
Just beautiful, inside and out. Thank you for the inspiration!
12/25/10 1:50 PM
janet said...
beautiful dress and excellent fitting tutorial. Love your seam finishes. You should be extremely proud of your dress.
12/25/10 2:46 PM
ClaireEmily said...
Gorgeous dress and excellent review!
12/29/10 4:17 PM
Bonnie123 said...
Nice....obviously you are outside of the States to wear a dress so beautiful during this time of the year! :)
12/31/10 12:31 PM
Jali said...
Yes, Bonnie123. This is completely wrong for the northern hemisphere at this time of the year. I am writing from Singapore where its cool from monsoonal rains right now so I wear a shrug over the dress to keep warm. I am never known to sew seasonally appropriate clothing anyhow. Stay warm!
1/2/11 6:53 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Online Sewing Classes
Altering Jackets
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $59.00)
Altering Jackets

Marfy 1637 jacket
photo
Review by Re Becca on 4/30/11
Read Review

Pants Sewing DVD
Pants Sewing DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Totpacks Pattern
SewBaby Totpacks Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Strappy Sandals Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Christine Jonson Patterns Cowl Neck Tunic Digital Pattern
Christine Jonson Patterns Cowl Neck Tunic Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $12.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2008-137 Boy's Shirt
photo
Review by EveS on 5/22/08
Read Review

Simplicity 2297 Pattern( Size ALL )
Simplicity 2297 Pattern( Size ALL )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 1269 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )
Vogue 1269 Pattern ( Size 12-14-16-18-20 )

Details
Price: $32.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us