SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 03-2009-132 (132 Men's Shirt)

4 more reviews
Viewed 606 times 
Reviewed by:Christas
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Christasstarstarstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 3/16/06
Reviews written: 121
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 110 people
patterns reviewed: 118
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/22/10 10:41 PM
Last Updated:12/28/10 5:05 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 38 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
55 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous shirts. I especially love the fabric of the 2nd one. Very helpful review too, especially about the neck size, thanks.
12/30/11 5:14 PM
Miss Fairchild said...
Love the shirts! Fabulous job on doing them. I'd make some for DH, if he could wear them, but he's into T-shirts.
7/28/11 7:57 AM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Outstanding! Great review and beautiful shirt. Can I say "beautiful" for a man's shirt. lol
2/4/11 9:21 AM
cleverkitty said...
I made my husband a shirt for Christmas and I love seeing him in it. Peoples eye pop when I tell them I made it. I enjoyed reading your review, I bought the shirt making book by David Coffin and I'm in the process of reading every word, I got the CD too. Thanks for posting a great review, I totally understand the collar stand cutting out. As I make him more shirts I will explore the pro weft interfacing. Your shirts are a work of art! Well done :)
1/29/11 1:45 PM
Braunie said...
Actually your answer is encouraging because I can hope that someday I'll achieve the same perfection! Off to go stock up on that Sew Exciting interfacing. Thank-you.
1/11/11 10:34 PM
Christas said...
Thank you so much for all the nice comments! Braunie, you are so nice! I wish I did have special equipment, but I only have an iron and pressing ham. I do think that pressing at each step is important. I probably spend almost as much time pressing as I do sewing. I really love interfacing from Sew Exciting.
1/11/11 10:14 AM
Braunie said...
Really impressive and I agree with Magoe6217 that you're an A+ advanced sewer, cause if this (and your other work) is intermediate level, I have a loong way to go. Question: As a beginner, sometimes I have issues with collars and pressing, probably a combo of inexperienced sewing as well as poor fabric/interfacing choices. Do you use special pressing equipment or just a good old iron, ham, point presser, &clapper?
1/10/11 9:58 PM
Karla Kizer said...
I love sewing shirts like this - when they turn out as I imagined them. You did a beautiful job...twice. Congratulations!
1/2/11 10:17 AM
Annette1 said...
Oh WOW, Christa! These shirts truly are CUSTOM MADE. They fit Jordan PERFECTLY. Do you have Kyle's done yet, HUH, HUH, HUH? :O)
12/31/10 4:45 AM
FloraNature said...
Great shirts, no wonder your son looks pleased!
12/29/10 8:20 PM
Christas said...
Thanks, everyone, for all the really nice comments!!! You've made my day! Mesewlot - my dear friend, Annette, gave me the olive green striped fabric. She said that she bought it online at Denver Fabrics. She looked for it again, but didn't see it. The cream and khaki stripe was some I have had in my stash so long that I don't remember where I got it. I hope everyone had a very merry Christmas!
12/29/10 7:04 PM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I would have totally passed this great pattern by were it not for your review! My son has requested custom fit shirts (who knew he cared?) so after I try the Collette pattern, I'll give this one a try! Great Job!!
12/29/10 12:40 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Fabulous - looks like RTW but better!
12/29/10 4:35 AM
mesewlot said...
Gorgeous shirts! My mouth dropped when I saw them~ and, the fabrics are VERY nice! It's been many,many years since I've made my husband dress shirts, :). Makes me want to get back into it,hmm. Did you find these beautiful fabrics on-line or in a local shop? It's very hard to find designer looking shirting for men. Thanks for sharing!!
12/28/10 10:39 PM
annie11 said...
Wonderful shirt, and thank you so much for sharing the information about enlarging the neckline. My husband won't wear a shirt if the neckband is too tight, so his shirts are always too large everywhere else. Interesting comment about the custom shirts without the pocket. I'll have to tell my husband about that one!
12/28/10 7:20 PM
Karendee said...
Fantastic shirts that were just perfectly tailored. These shirts feature every single beautiful detail of a custom shirtmaker. I am so proud of you and the beautiful results for your son. I know he will enjoy these shirts for a long time.
12/28/10 7:18 PM
Karendee said...
Fantastic shirts that were just perfectly tailored. These shirts feature every single beautiful detail of a custom shirtmaker. I am so proud of you and the beautiful results for your son. I know he will enjoy these shirts for a long time.
12/28/10 7:18 PM
Dynamo said...
Great shirts!
12/28/10 6:36 PM
EveS said...
Wow. Just wow. Your work is perfection, the shirts are exquisite!! Thanks for the fabulous mini-tutorial on neckband adjustments, too. Over-the-moon-helpful!!! :)
12/28/10 0:26 AM
Mahler said...
Wonder review and great, great "workwomanship" !!! I want one. Live picture required ;-)
12/27/10 1:08 PM
French.Seam said...
Lovely work: I hate pockets too (they either get inkstains or go saggy ruining the line of the shirt)
12/25/10 3:56 PM
okie2thdoc said...
I've been thinking about making my husband some shirts. This is a great review and I'll be saving it to reference back. Looks wonderful!
12/25/10 9:30 AM
AnneMarie60 said...
Absolute perfection! Excellent review.
12/24/10 10:53 AM
Sweetheart3 said...
Nice review. Excellent workmanship!
12/23/10 11:35 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
What a thoughtful, yet usable gift. They are both gorgeous (er, handsome). I rather like it without the pocket. I'll remember Mr. Coffin's fine words next time I sew one of the men in my life a shirt. Can't wait to see him modeling them. Merry Christmas!
12/23/10 10:48 PM
Julia C said...
Christas, great shirts! Pam, thank you so much for the tutorial.
12/23/10 9:56 PM
MNBarb said...
I'm just getting ready to sew a shirt for my son. Thanks for the inspiration. Both of your shirts are so nicely detailed and if the fit is right you can just keep making shirts! PS, Happy birthday, I saw you on the list a few days ago.
12/23/10 7:11 PM
CallMeSu said...
I love love love these shirts!
12/23/10 5:19 PM
Dale C said...
That looks wonderful! And thanks for sharing Pamela's instructions for enlarging the neckline.
12/23/10 4:16 PM
koo104 said...
Great job, really nice needle! "Needle", is used professionally referring to the craftsmanship of finished product.
12/23/10 4:08 PM
Catbird said...
p.s., and isn't it wonderful to be part of this community of smart and generous sewists who can come to your rescue at a moment's notice like Pamela did?!
12/23/10 2:40 PM
Catbird said...
Christa, these could have come straight from the pages of David Coffin's Shirtmaking book. Absolutely flawless, classic and high-end. People will think Jordan has his own private British tailor stashed away somewhere! You've really done exquisite work here. It will be fun to see them on Jordan when he's got his hair fixed to his liking! :-))
12/23/10 2:37 PM
callmeRuth said...
Great review, and fabulous shirts. It's wonderful that you sew for your sons.
12/23/10 12:45 PM
blue mooney said...
Absolutely beautiful! Your workmanship looks perfect!
12/23/10 11:15 AM
Elke said...
Great looking shirts. Thanks for passing along Pam's instructions on pattern alterations and interfacing used. Very helpful, thanks!
12/23/10 11:02 AM
eugenia123 said...
What fabulous shirts! They both look so sharp and professional. Your son must be very pleased to have such lovely shirts that have been especially fitted and sewn for him by his wonderful Mum!
12/23/10 10:57 AM
Barbara V said...
What great work on your son's shirts! They both look fantastic and sure to please him with such wonderful fitting details. I will keep your informative review in mind for the collar fit adjustment tips. Super job as usual! Merry Christmas!
12/23/10 10:30 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Beautiful shirts!!! I made this shirt for my son last Christmas, but never reviewed it. (He liked it a lot but thought it was way too long, so I performed a surgical operation on it and sent it to him later. Sigh. I'm probably going to use this same pattern to make him another shirt soon, but this time I'll adjust the length beforehand.)
12/23/10 9:52 AM
Rhoda K said...
What great looking shirts! Very professional. I'll have to ditto all the above ;-)
12/23/10 9:38 AM
carolynw said...
Absolutely perfect - lucky son!! Thanks for the great info from Pamela E. re sizing the neckband. Have a Merry Christmas!!
12/23/10 8:52 AM
magoe6217 said...
This is truly exemplary work. Both shirts are exquisite. Your sewing skills are not intermediate, more like very advanced. Bravo on a fabulous job. I hope your son will take good care of them and enjoy wearing them for many years.
12/23/10 8:41 AM
Kay Y said...
Nice work Christa! This pattern is definitely a keeper.
12/23/10 8:24 AM
voet said...
Your son is so fortunate to have a mother who sews for him. You did a superb job.
12/23/10 7:29 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Great tips and a great shirt, too! I bet that wool is nice and warm, too...
12/23/10 7:07 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
WONDERFUL Christa ! The shirts are fabulous! So glad my neckline instructions were so helpful to you! I'll be writing them again as a Tutorial with pics on my blog, or perhaps as a pattern-magazine article that one of the Vogue editors has asked me to submit.
12/23/10 6:46 AM
MaryBeth said...
Lovely shirt work. the collars are so nicely stitched.
12/23/10 6:06 AM
Kbenco said...
They are smart shirts. I thought I liked the Vogue pattern I use for my husband, but now I want to try this one. Your review is terrific. Thank you for passing on the neckline adjustment directions.
12/23/10 5:48 AM
Sigrid. said...
What perfect shirts. So much nice and perfectly worked out details. Wonderful. Your son is very lucky!
12/23/10 5:16 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Handsome shirts! Great job! Thank you for such a detailed review. Your son will be very pleased
12/23/10 4:50 AM
Terri A said...
Really beautiful shirts!
12/23/10 2:44 AM
FreyaStark said...
Two very smart shirts. Your workmanship is impeccable. He's a lucky man.
12/23/10 2:10 AM
RadarRadiance said...
All I can say is WOW! They are spectacular! I really love the look of the second shirt mat'l, very classy. Your sewing looks better than store bought. Interesting on the weft interfacing, it really gives a custum tailored look. I am so clueless what to use and this looks great!
12/22/10 11:36 PM
SewWil said...
These shirts are beautiful. Love your choice of fabric. I'm sure they will look great on your son. I appreciate the detailed review.
12/22/10 11:32 PM
Annette1 said...
What a GREAT review! Pam's instructions (and interfacing) led you down the path to POSILUTELY PURE PERFECTION! I don't think I've ever SEEN a nicer shirt than these two right here. I can't wait to see Jordan MODELING them. :o) Bravo!!
12/22/10 11:02 PM
RMJ said...
Both shirts look great, good job.
12/22/10 10:46 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Class Details

Online Class
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Class Details

Butterick 5624

photo
by: Alison Cum...

Review

Pattern

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

Sewn Square One Upline Jacket Pattern

More Info
You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

You Sew Girl 300mm Square Snap PATTERN ONLY Pattern

More Info