Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
BurdaStyle Magazine: 03-2009-132 (132 Men's Shirt) thumbsup - Type:Mens - Shirts    printable version
Viewed 596 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 38 people   
Reviewed by:Christas
photo
Friend of PR
About Christasstarstarstarstar
OK USA
Member since: 3/16/06
Reviews written: 119
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 107 people
patterns reviewed: 116
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/22/10 10:41 PM
Last Updated:12/28/10 5:05 PM


NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
55 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
RMJ said...
Both shirts look great, good job.
12/22/10 10:46 PM
Annette1 said...
What a GREAT review! Pam's instructions (and interfacing) led you down the path to POSILUTELY PURE PERFECTION! I don't think I've ever SEEN a nicer shirt than these two right here. I can't wait to see Jordan MODELING them. :o) Bravo!!
12/22/10 11:02 PM
SewWil said...
These shirts are beautiful. Love your choice of fabric. I'm sure they will look great on your son. I appreciate the detailed review.
12/22/10 11:32 PM
RadarRadiance said...
All I can say is WOW! They are spectacular! I really love the look of the second shirt mat'l, very classy. Your sewing looks better than store bought. Interesting on the weft interfacing, it really gives a custum tailored look. I am so clueless what to use and this looks great!
12/22/10 11:36 PM
FreyaStark said...
Two very smart shirts. Your workmanship is impeccable. He's a lucky man.
12/23/10 2:10 AM
Terri A said...
Really beautiful shirts!
12/23/10 2:44 AM
Dmd4106 said...
Handsome shirts! Great job! Thank you for such a detailed review. Your son will be very pleased
12/23/10 4:50 AM
Sigrid. said...
What perfect shirts. So much nice and perfectly worked out details. Wonderful. Your son is very lucky!
12/23/10 5:16 AM
Kbenco said...
They are smart shirts. I thought I liked the Vogue pattern I use for my husband, but now I want to try this one. Your review is terrific. Thank you for passing on the neckline adjustment directions.
12/23/10 5:48 AM
MaryBeth said...
Lovely shirt work. the collars are so nicely stitched.
12/23/10 6:06 AM
Pam~Off The Cuff~ said...
WONDERFUL Christa ! The shirts are fabulous! So glad my neckline instructions were so helpful to you! I'll be writing them again as a Tutorial with pics on my blog, or perhaps as a pattern-magazine article that one of the Vogue editors has asked me to submit.
12/23/10 6:46 AM
squirrellypoo said...
Great tips and a great shirt, too! I bet that wool is nice and warm, too...
12/23/10 7:07 AM
voet said...
Your son is so fortunate to have a mother who sews for him. You did a superb job.
12/23/10 7:29 AM
Kay Y said...
Nice work Christa! This pattern is definitely a keeper.
12/23/10 8:24 AM
magoe6217 said...
This is truly exemplary work. Both shirts are exquisite. Your sewing skills are not intermediate, more like very advanced. Bravo on a fabulous job. I hope your son will take good care of them and enjoy wearing them for many years.
12/23/10 8:41 AM
carolynw said...
Absolutely perfect - lucky son!! Thanks for the great info from Pamela E. re sizing the neckband. Have a Merry Christmas!!
12/23/10 8:52 AM
Rhoda K said...
What great looking shirts! Very professional. I'll have to ditto all the above ;-)
12/23/10 9:38 AM
Vintage Joan said...
Beautiful shirts!!! I made this shirt for my son last Christmas, but never reviewed it. (He liked it a lot but thought it was way too long, so I performed a surgical operation on it and sent it to him later. Sigh. I'm probably going to use this same pattern to make him another shirt soon, but this time I'll adjust the length beforehand.)
12/23/10 9:52 AM
Barbara V said...
What great work on your son's shirts! They both look fantastic and sure to please him with such wonderful fitting details. I will keep your informative review in mind for the collar fit adjustment tips. Super job as usual! Merry Christmas!
12/23/10 10:30 AM
eugenia123 said...
What fabulous shirts! They both look so sharp and professional. Your son must be very pleased to have such lovely shirts that have been especially fitted and sewn for him by his wonderful Mum!
12/23/10 10:57 AM
Elke said...
Great looking shirts. Thanks for passing along Pam's instructions on pattern alterations and interfacing used. Very helpful, thanks!
12/23/10 11:02 AM
blue mooney said...
Absolutely beautiful! Your workmanship looks perfect!
12/23/10 11:15 AM
callmeRuth said...
Great review, and fabulous shirts. It's wonderful that you sew for your sons.
12/23/10 12:45 PM
Catbird said...
Christa, these could have come straight from the pages of David Coffin's Shirtmaking book. Absolutely flawless, classic and high-end. People will think Jordan has his own private British tailor stashed away somewhere! You've really done exquisite work here. It will be fun to see them on Jordan when he's got his hair fixed to his liking! :-))
12/23/10 2:37 PM
Catbird said...
p.s., and isn't it wonderful to be part of this community of smart and generous sewists who can come to your rescue at a moment's notice like Pamela did?!
12/23/10 2:40 PM
koo104 said...
Great job, really nice needle! "Needle", is used professionally referring to the craftsmanship of finished product.
12/23/10 4:08 PM
Dale C said...
That looks wonderful! And thanks for sharing Pamela's instructions for enlarging the neckline.
12/23/10 4:16 PM
CallMeSu said...
I love love love these shirts!
12/23/10 5:19 PM
MNBarb said...
I'm just getting ready to sew a shirt for my son. Thanks for the inspiration. Both of your shirts are so nicely detailed and if the fit is right you can just keep making shirts! PS, Happy birthday, I saw you on the list a few days ago.
12/23/10 7:11 PM
Julia C said...
Christas, great shirts! Pam, thank you so much for the tutorial.
12/23/10 9:56 PM
MelissaB in WA said...
What a thoughtful, yet usable gift. They are both gorgeous (er, handsome). I rather like it without the pocket. I'll remember Mr. Coffin's fine words next time I sew one of the men in my life a shirt. Can't wait to see him modeling them. Merry Christmas!
12/23/10 10:48 PM
Sweetheart3 said...
Nice review. Excellent workmanship!
12/23/10 11:35 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Absolute perfection! Excellent review.
12/24/10 10:53 AM
okie2thdoc said...
I've been thinking about making my husband some shirts. This is a great review and I'll be saving it to reference back. Looks wonderful!
12/25/10 9:30 AM
French.Seam said...
Lovely work: I hate pockets too (they either get inkstains or go saggy ruining the line of the shirt)
12/25/10 3:56 PM
Mahler said...
Wonder review and great, great "workwomanship" !!! I want one. Live picture required ;-)
12/27/10 1:08 PM
EveS said...
Wow. Just wow. Your work is perfection, the shirts are exquisite!! Thanks for the fabulous mini-tutorial on neckband adjustments, too. Over-the-moon-helpful!!! :)
12/28/10 0:26 AM
Dynamo said...
Great shirts!
12/28/10 6:36 PM
Karendee said...
Fantastic shirts that were just perfectly tailored. These shirts feature every single beautiful detail of a custom shirtmaker. I am so proud of you and the beautiful results for your son. I know he will enjoy these shirts for a long time.
12/28/10 7:18 PM
Karendee said...
Fantastic shirts that were just perfectly tailored. These shirts feature every single beautiful detail of a custom shirtmaker. I am so proud of you and the beautiful results for your son. I know he will enjoy these shirts for a long time.
12/28/10 7:18 PM
annie11 said...
Wonderful shirt, and thank you so much for sharing the information about enlarging the neckline. My husband won't wear a shirt if the neckband is too tight, so his shirts are always too large everywhere else. Interesting comment about the custom shirts without the pocket. I'll have to tell my husband about that one!
12/28/10 7:20 PM
mesewlot said...
Gorgeous shirts! My mouth dropped when I saw them~ and, the fabrics are VERY nice! It's been many,many years since I've made my husband dress shirts, :). Makes me want to get back into it,hmm. Did you find these beautiful fabrics on-line or in a local shop? It's very hard to find designer looking shirting for men. Thanks for sharing!!
12/28/10 10:39 PM
QuiltSewSewSue said...
Fabulous - looks like RTW but better!
12/29/10 4:35 AM
gatorgirl4325 said...
I would have totally passed this great pattern by were it not for your review! My son has requested custom fit shirts (who knew he cared?) so after I try the Collette pattern, I'll give this one a try! Great Job!!
12/29/10 12:40 PM
Christas said...
Thanks, everyone, for all the really nice comments!!! You've made my day! Mesewlot - my dear friend, Annette, gave me the olive green striped fabric. She said that she bought it online at Denver Fabrics. She looked for it again, but didn't see it. The cream and khaki stripe was some I have had in my stash so long that I don't remember where I got it. I hope everyone had a very merry Christmas!
12/29/10 7:04 PM
FloraNature said...
Great shirts, no wonder your son looks pleased!
12/29/10 8:20 PM
Annette1 said...
Oh WOW, Christa! These shirts truly are CUSTOM MADE. They fit Jordan PERFECTLY. Do you have Kyle's done yet, HUH, HUH, HUH? :O)
12/31/10 4:45 AM
Karla Kizer said...
I love sewing shirts like this - when they turn out as I imagined them. You did a beautiful job...twice. Congratulations!
1/2/11 10:17 AM
Braunie said...
Really impressive and I agree with Magoe6217 that you're an A+ advanced sewer, cause if this (and your other work) is intermediate level, I have a loong way to go. Question: As a beginner, sometimes I have issues with collars and pressing, probably a combo of inexperienced sewing as well as poor fabric/interfacing choices. Do you use special pressing equipment or just a good old iron, ham, point presser, &clapper?
1/10/11 9:58 PM
Christas said...
Thank you so much for all the nice comments! Braunie, you are so nice! I wish I did have special equipment, but I only have an iron and pressing ham. I do think that pressing at each step is important. I probably spend almost as much time pressing as I do sewing. I really love interfacing from Sew Exciting.
1/11/11 10:14 AM
Braunie said...
Actually your answer is encouraging because I can hope that someday I'll achieve the same perfection! Off to go stock up on that Sew Exciting interfacing. Thank-you.
1/11/11 10:34 PM
cleverkitty said...
I made my husband a shirt for Christmas and I love seeing him in it. Peoples eye pop when I tell them I made it. I enjoyed reading your review, I bought the shirt making book by David Coffin and I'm in the process of reading every word, I got the CD too. Thanks for posting a great review, I totally understand the collar stand cutting out. As I make him more shirts I will explore the pro weft interfacing. Your shirts are a work of art! Well done :)
1/29/11 1:45 PM
Mahogany Stylist said...
Outstanding! Great review and beautiful shirt. Can I say "beautiful" for a man's shirt. lol
2/4/11 9:21 AM
Miss Fairchild said...
Love the shirts! Fabulous job on doing them. I'd make some for DH, if he could wear them, but he's into T-shirts.
7/28/11 7:57 AM
Sew4Fun said...
Fabulous shirts. I especially love the fabric of the 2nd one. Very helpful review too, especially about the neck size, thanks.
12/30/11 5:14 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Online Sewing Classes
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Butterick 5235
photo
Review by Sewlful on 3/10/11
Read Review

You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern
You Sew Girl Kids Beret Pattern

Details
Price: $15.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King
TAILORED JACKET - A CD Book by Kenneth King

Details
Price: $27.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Emily Bell Sleeve Top Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Emily Bell Sleeve Top Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Angela Osborn Esther Blouse Digital Pattern (SS10-11-102)
Angela Osborn Esther Blouse Digital Pattern (SS10-11-102)

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6354
photo
Review by Trinity. on 3/9/06
Read Review

Butterick 5794 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )
Butterick 5794 Pattern ( Size 18W-20W-22W-24W )

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 3133 Pattern
Kwik Sew 3133 Pattern

Details
Price: $10.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us