SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5987 

6 more reviews
Viewed 454 times 
Reviewed by:Clareew
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Clareewstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews written: 37
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
patterns reviewed: 35
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/23/10 6:57 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Clareew said...
Thank you Beth5646. It is a good show coat
3/4/11 8:36 AM
beth5646 said...
I am getting ready to cut out this pattern, so I am looking up past reviews. Thank you for your informative review. I am using a Japanese double gauze fabric that I really wanted to showcase, so it sounds like from your review I have picked an appropriate pattern. I also want to say that I absolutely love the greek stitch you used for your hems. I tis gorgeous and I love the way it stands out against your fleece. Thanks for writing such an informative review.
3/3/11 3:03 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
This is very nice and stylish! Nicely done!
12/27/10 8:29 PM
RisaJ said...
Love the hem treatment. Good job!
12/24/10 10:41 AM
MNBarb said...
You did so many things to make this coat better. I love the idea of the hanging pocket and your specialty stitching adds a nice flair. Hope you can figure out some type of closure.
12/23/10 7:16 PM
Clareew said...
Thank you RLL, I am glad I am not alone in my problems. I tend to walk along with my hand holding the coat closed ( a bit like hand on bump when pregnant)
12/23/10 1:33 PM
RLL said...
I agree this is a nice looking coat.....and more for show than warmth. I made this last year and have the same issue with keeping it closed and still contemplating the issue. I don't wear it that often for that reason. I really like the way it looks tho and I always get complements when wearing it. I also agree with your comment on the collar to coat instructions and remember scratching my head on that one. I absolutely LOVE how you finished the scarf edge with the greek stitch.
12/23/10 12:26 PM
SewWil said...
Very nice coat. I love the color.
12/23/10 12:00 PM
sewtime said...
Beautiful coat!!
12/23/10 10:03 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Class Details

Online Class
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 1248

photo
by: Mimsy Boro...

Review
Wonder Wallet

Wonder Wallet

More Info
You Sew Girl Panel Bag

You Sew Girl Panel Bag

More Info