SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 5987 

6 more reviews
Viewed 469 times 
Reviewed by:Clareew
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Clareewstar
UNITED KINGDOM
Member since: 5/10/06
Reviews: 40 (patterns: 38)
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 11 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/23/10 6:57 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 11 people   
See other patterns in this category: Outerwear    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
9 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Clareew said... (3/4/11 8:36 AM) Reply
Thank you Beth5646. It is a good show coat
beth5646 said... (3/3/11 3:03 PM) Reply
I am getting ready to cut out this pattern, so I am looking up past reviews. Thank you for your informative review. I am using a Japanese double gauze fabric that I really wanted to showcase, so it sounds like from your review I have picked an appropriate pattern. I also want to say that I absolutely love the greek stitch you used for your hems. I tis gorgeous and I love the way it stands out against your fleece. Thanks for writing such an informative review.
VirginiasDghter said... (12/27/10 8:29 PM) Reply
This is very nice and stylish! Nicely done!
RisaJ said... (12/24/10 10:41 AM) Reply
Love the hem treatment. Good job!
MNBarb said... (12/23/10 7:16 PM) Reply
You did so many things to make this coat better. I love the idea of the hanging pocket and your specialty stitching adds a nice flair. Hope you can figure out some type of closure.
Clareew said... (12/23/10 1:33 PM) Reply
Thank you RLL, I am glad I am not alone in my problems. I tend to walk along with my hand holding the coat closed ( a bit like hand on bump when pregnant)
RLL said... (12/23/10 12:26 PM) Reply
I agree this is a nice looking coat.....and more for show than warmth. I made this last year and have the same issue with keeping it closed and still contemplating the issue. I don't wear it that often for that reason. I really like the way it looks tho and I always get complements when wearing it. I also agree with your comment on the collar to coat instructions and remember scratching my head on that one. I absolutely LOVE how you finished the scarf edge with the greek stitch.
SewWil said... (12/23/10 12:00 PM) Reply
Very nice coat. I love the color.
sewtime said... (12/23/10 10:03 AM) Reply
Beautiful coat!!
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

Vogue Patterns 8825

photo
by: jnageotte

Review
You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

You Sew Girl 90mm Barrel Purse Pattern

Pattern Details
J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

J Stern Designs Womens Jeans Pattern

Pattern Details
Self Drafted Pattern 154297-1002

photo
by: Annette Wr...

Review