SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Cutting Line Designs> 60565 (By Popular Demand)

24 more reviews
Viewed 1846 times 
Reviewed by:lilhoney57
photo

 
 
About lilhoney57star
MI USA
Member since: 3/16/02
Reviews written: 26
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 8 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/28/04 8:06 AM


Review Rating: Helpful by 1 people    Very Helpful by 6 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
cindyann said...
WOW. Wonderful looking jacket. Thanks for the tips on the topstitching, it's looks fabulous. Your embroidery is awesome. Great work.
6/28/04 8:12 AM
Sew it seams said...
That's a beautiful jacket. The top-stitching, buttonholes, and embroidery are all very professional looking.
6/28/04 8:36 AM
Hilary said...
What a beautiful joob you did! The topstitching looks amazing :o) Did you use a twin needle for topstitching, or just make two passes? Your jacket is really great, your work looks very professional. Thanks for the review!
6/28/04 8:59 AM
PVA said...
Holy Toledo, that is a beautiful piece of work! I can only echo what the others have said -- your topstitching is awesome! Thanks for the review and all the close-up photos.
6/28/04 9:45 AM
D1Diva said...
I'm ordering this pattern now! This is beautiful and will give me a chance to use my embroidery function! Where did you get the design on the back? I'm looking for some patriotic designs that are different than the usual and that one fits the bill!
6/28/04 9:49 AM
Patti B said...
What a beautiful job. I have this pattern and some toile for a jacket -- you've inspired me to get with it! Her instructions are the absolute best.
6/28/04 9:56 AM
Oopsy-Daisy! said...
Beautiful! The embroidery is a very unique touch!
6/28/04 9:57 AM
lilhoney57 said...
You know, I forgot to mention this jacket is for my mom who is recovering in a nursing home from a fall (broken femur) and she wanted a patriotic theme-my son is in the Air Force in S.Korea. The Uncle Sam design is an Amazing Design "Country Charm II" and the "America" was a free download after 911 at embroidery.com. I don't know if it is still available. I did two passes of stitching- the first with the edgestitching or blind stitch foot 1/8" away from the edge and the second with the 1/4 foot or "little foot". That is a special foot for quilting I think. I use it for topstitching all the time because you get an exact 1/4 inch. Thanks for the compliments!!
6/28/04 10:00 AM
lilhoney57 said...
You know, I forgot to mention this jacket is for my mom who is recovering in a nursing home from a fall (broken femur) and she wanting a patriotic theme-my son is in the Air Force in S.Korea. The Uncle Sam design is an Amazing Design "Country Charm II" and the "America" was a free download after 911 at embroidery.com. I don't know if it is still available. I did two passes of stitching- the first with the edgestitching or blind stitch foot 1/8" away from the edge and the second with the 1/4 foot or "little foot". That is a special foot for quilting I think. I use it for topstitching all the time because you get an exact 1/4 inch. Thanks for the compliments!!
6/28/04 10:01 AM
Teri said...
Oh my, you use my favorite sewing tool too....a glass of wine:) Your jacket looks great!
6/28/04 11:01 AM
sheree said...
This jacket looks amazing...better than RTW. Your Mom is going to love it.
6/28/04 11:14 AM
Julia W said...
I just added "Go slow, have a glass of wine and go for it" to my personal collection of sewing quotes. Good advice for the fearful sewer. I am drooling over that jacket!
6/28/04 12:19 PM
kathi s said...
Great review, really well sewn and embroidered jacket! Very cute and wearable!
6/28/04 12:31 PM
Debbie Spriggs said...
Lucky mom! I'm sure she will love this jacket! Your choice of embroidery, and beautiful topstitching are wonderderful details!
6/28/04 3:09 PM
alicia said...
I'm all for having some wine and settling into a project! Great coat. the topstitching is very proffesional.
6/28/04 3:23 PM
Jennie Pakula said...
The topstitching looks great. I'm sure your mum will love it.
6/28/04 5:07 PM
Levone said...
I love your jacket. I can only hope to topstitch HALF as good as that one day, I tend to go too fast. This looks better than jackets I see in the store.
6/28/04 7:35 PM
Lori V said...
What a great jacket, such perfect topstitching.
6/28/04 10:08 PM
Danvillegirl said...
Ditto!
6/29/04 5:52 AM
galadriel45 said...
What great results! Great top stitching, lovely overall design. Thanks for sharing and inspiring.
6/29/04 7:13 AM
Darla in PA said...
The jacket is beautiful. Your mother is going to love it! The topstitching is wonderful. Thanks for the extra hints. Did you do something different at the corners of the pockets?
6/29/04 9:59 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Register

Burda 7396

photo
by: MrsC NZ

Review
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Buy Now
SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

SewBaby One Piece Reversible Sundress Pattern

Buy Now