SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 7587 (COAT)

3 more reviews
Review submitted in Winter Wear Contest
Viewed 890 times 
Reviewed by:quixoticpixels
photo

 
 
About quixoticpixelsstarstar
WA USA
Member since: 4/2/08
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 34 people
patterns reviewed: 67
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/30/10 1:59 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
Very nice - I have the pattern but have not tried it out yet, so it was good to see a review.
12/28/10 9:12 PM
Athene said...
I have one question. Is the sleeve width generous enough without alterations to have a sweater or jacket on underneath without feeling tight?
12/28/10 9:58 PM
Rhoda K said...
A beautiful coat and love the style. I look forward to seeing you model the coat.
12/28/10 11:13 PM
psm484 said...
Nice job!
12/29/10 0:05 AM
quixoticpixels said...
Thanks ladies. Athene, the sleeves are plenty roomy for layering.
12/29/10 0:37 AM
dfr2010 said...
What a lovely wool ... this will be a striking coat when finished!
12/29/10 11:46 AM
Janiki said...
like your coat a lot. The fabric is really well-suited to this pattern.
12/29/10 1:54 PM
Heatherrique said...
Sharp looking coat!
12/29/10 2:00 PM
MNBarb said...
Perfect pattern choice for this lovely fabric. You were so right to choose a simple design to showcase the interesting texture.
12/29/10 10:00 PM
maryfrana said...
Such a beautiful fabric and the design matches it. This is just a beautiful, elegant coat.
12/30/10 11:49 AM
quixoticpixels said...
Thank you everyone!
12/30/10 2:00 PM
ryan's mom said...
Oh, I love your coat! Cute style and fab color.
12/30/10 4:08 PM
Christas said...
Beautiful coat! Love the color and the style so much!
12/30/10 4:31 PM
Barbara V said...
What a beauty! So nice and warm. Great job and you look great in it!
12/30/10 5:02 PM
CynthiaSue said...
gorgeous color on you. Do you know if this was originally a BWOF pattern....it looks so familiar!
12/30/10 6:05 PM
CynthiaSue said...
gorgeous color on you. Do you know if this was originally a BWOF pattern....it looks so familiar!
12/30/10 6:05 PM
JanaL said...
This coat is beautiful on you. I like both the color and style on you. Nice work.
12/30/10 6:26 PM
quixoticpixels said...
@CynthiaSue - Hmm..I don't know. It's entirely possible. That would be pretty funny if it was, b/c I have issues going back a couple of years, LOL :)
12/30/10 6:59 PM
Vintage Joan said...
BEAUTIFUL! I had never even noticed this pattern before. I love your retro-looking fabric and button. And that color is gorgeous.
12/30/10 7:02 PM
MNBarb said...
Yay! You finished your coat. Be proud, it's very, very nice!
12/30/10 7:21 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Beautiful coat -- looks great on you!
12/30/10 7:28 PM
Paris75008 said...
Pretty, pretty coat. Love that button!
12/30/10 7:28 PM
JessB said...
Love the colour, the texture, the shape, the button. Everything! Great job!
12/30/10 10:55 PM
lesliez said...
Really beautiful. I love the color and texture of your fabric. It looks great on you.
12/31/10 0:37 AM
Annette1 said...
WOW, this is one LOVELY coat, and most definitely in YOUR color. :o) The snaps are a great idea!
12/31/10 3:54 AM
Andreahg said...
I LOVE your coat, my favorite color! I recently bought this pattern and it's great to see it made up.
12/31/10 8:45 AM
heathertyfeatherty said...
I love this coat! It's so funny because I have a teal wool coating I'm dying to make up and I bought this pattern yesterday afternoon for it. Then I came home a here is your review! So now I am going to have to try it, your version is just too cute.
12/31/10 10:33 AM
Pinkytoo said...
Woo hoo, you made it and it's GORGEOUS! Great job, wear it with pride!
12/31/10 11:47 AM
Karine said...
Very pretty coat - love your fabric!
12/31/10 1:36 PM
janet said...
I LOVE, love, love your very HAPPY coat!
12/31/10 8:19 PM
JillyBe said...
I love everything about this coat! The color, the button, the style...great job!
12/31/10 10:45 PM
sewbehind said...
This is so lovely and I am especially glad to see this exact fabric made up as I have some in my stash! How could I resist? You look great in this.
12/31/10 10:48 PM
yummymummy38 said...
Beautiful coat, gorgeous colour, congrats!
1/2/11 7:10 PM
lyndle said...
I love this! (And I love Burda's description: "tight fits are a thing of the past" - suits me fine!) This is a really gorgeous coat on you and the colour is great.
1/3/11 5:43 PM
FloraNature said...
Beautiful coat, and a great fit! It looks like a vintage designer label.
1/4/11 10:11 AM
BMH said...
This is beautiful!
1/6/11 12:57 PM
Bonnie O said...
Love the fabric. Love the pattern. it looks wonderful!
1/7/11 9:29 PM
taylormade said...
Very cute coat on you. I love your fabric choice and button. Also, I did make the longer version and it looks great (no review yet, but I'm working on it). Sleeve width is very generous, as you said, and I love the size of the lapels~ So great job!
4/13/11 12:06 PM
lylagus said...
Beautiful fabric. I just saw this pattern recommended in Threads magazine. I like how yours came out and think I might try it!
6/20/11 7:42 PM
iSewQuiltArt said...
I have been coat prowling for some time and this pattern has really taken my eye. I love your version in the Vera Wang wool, it is good to read there is plenty of ease in it for garments underneath.
5/14/12 7:11 AM
hazelb66 said...
being quite new to sewing I wouldnt have looked twice at the pattern but your version is stunning. I will now take the plunge and make my first ever coat for the UKs wet and windy weather. thanks so much for the review which is full of tips I will use
9/1/13 8:26 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

Buy Now
You Sew Girl Panel Bag

You Sew Girl Panel Bag

Buy Now
Simplicity 1230

photo
by: The Dreams...

Review