SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Burda> 7587 (COAT)

3 more reviews
Review submitted in Winter Wear Contest
Viewed 893 times 
Reviewed by:quixoticpixels
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About quixoticpixelsstarstar
Member since: 4/2/08
Reviews written: 68
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 34 people
patterns reviewed: 67
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/30/10 1:59 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 14 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
41 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Athene said...
Very nice - I have the pattern but have not tried it out yet, so it was good to see a review.
12/28/10 9:12 PM
Athene said...
I have one question. Is the sleeve width generous enough without alterations to have a sweater or jacket on underneath without feeling tight?
12/28/10 9:58 PM
Rhoda K said...
A beautiful coat and love the style. I look forward to seeing you model the coat.
12/28/10 11:13 PM
psm484 said...
Nice job!
12/29/10 0:05 AM
quixoticpixels said...
Thanks ladies. Athene, the sleeves are plenty roomy for layering.
12/29/10 0:37 AM
dfr2010 said...
What a lovely wool ... this will be a striking coat when finished!
12/29/10 11:46 AM
Janiki said...
like your coat a lot. The fabric is really well-suited to this pattern.
12/29/10 1:54 PM
Heatherrique said...
Sharp looking coat!
12/29/10 2:00 PM
MNBarb said...
Perfect pattern choice for this lovely fabric. You were so right to choose a simple design to showcase the interesting texture.
12/29/10 10:00 PM
maryfrana said...
Such a beautiful fabric and the design matches it. This is just a beautiful, elegant coat.
12/30/10 11:49 AM
quixoticpixels said...
Thank you everyone!
12/30/10 2:00 PM
ryan's mom said...
Oh, I love your coat! Cute style and fab color.
12/30/10 4:08 PM
Christas said...
Beautiful coat! Love the color and the style so much!
12/30/10 4:31 PM
Barbara V said...
What a beauty! So nice and warm. Great job and you look great in it!
12/30/10 5:02 PM
CynthiaSue said...
gorgeous color on you. Do you know if this was originally a BWOF pattern....it looks so familiar!
12/30/10 6:05 PM
CynthiaSue said...
gorgeous color on you. Do you know if this was originally a BWOF pattern....it looks so familiar!
12/30/10 6:05 PM
JanaL said...
This coat is beautiful on you. I like both the color and style on you. Nice work.
12/30/10 6:26 PM
quixoticpixels said...
@CynthiaSue - Hmm..I don't know. It's entirely possible. That would be pretty funny if it was, b/c I have issues going back a couple of years, LOL :)
12/30/10 6:59 PM
Vintage Joan said...
BEAUTIFUL! I had never even noticed this pattern before. I love your retro-looking fabric and button. And that color is gorgeous.
12/30/10 7:02 PM
MNBarb said...
Yay! You finished your coat. Be proud, it's very, very nice!
12/30/10 7:21 PM
Peter in NYC said...
Beautiful coat -- looks great on you!
12/30/10 7:28 PM
Paris75008 said...
Pretty, pretty coat. Love that button!
12/30/10 7:28 PM
JessB said...
Love the colour, the texture, the shape, the button. Everything! Great job!
12/30/10 10:55 PM
lesliez said...
Really beautiful. I love the color and texture of your fabric. It looks great on you.
12/31/10 0:37 AM
Annette1 said...
WOW, this is one LOVELY coat, and most definitely in YOUR color. :o) The snaps are a great idea!
12/31/10 3:54 AM
Andreahg said...
I LOVE your coat, my favorite color! I recently bought this pattern and it's great to see it made up.
12/31/10 8:45 AM
heathertyfeatherty said...
I love this coat! It's so funny because I have a teal wool coating I'm dying to make up and I bought this pattern yesterday afternoon for it. Then I came home a here is your review! So now I am going to have to try it, your version is just too cute.
12/31/10 10:33 AM
Pinkytoo said...
Woo hoo, you made it and it's GORGEOUS! Great job, wear it with pride!
12/31/10 11:47 AM
Karine said...
Very pretty coat - love your fabric!
12/31/10 1:36 PM
janet said...
I LOVE, love, love your very HAPPY coat!
12/31/10 8:19 PM
JillyBe said...
I love everything about this coat! The color, the button, the style...great job!
12/31/10 10:45 PM
sewbehind said...
This is so lovely and I am especially glad to see this exact fabric made up as I have some in my stash! How could I resist? You look great in this.
12/31/10 10:48 PM
yummymummy38 said...
Beautiful coat, gorgeous colour, congrats!
1/2/11 7:10 PM
lyndle said...
I love this! (And I love Burda's description: "tight fits are a thing of the past" - suits me fine!) This is a really gorgeous coat on you and the colour is great.
1/3/11 5:43 PM
FloraNature said...
Beautiful coat, and a great fit! It looks like a vintage designer label.
1/4/11 10:11 AM
BMH said...
This is beautiful!
1/6/11 12:57 PM
Bonnie O said...
Love the fabric. Love the pattern. it looks wonderful!
1/7/11 9:29 PM
taylormade said...
Very cute coat on you. I love your fabric choice and button. Also, I did make the longer version and it looks great (no review yet, but I'm working on it). Sleeve width is very generous, as you said, and I love the size of the lapels~ So great job!
4/13/11 12:06 PM
lylagus said...
Beautiful fabric. I just saw this pattern recommended in Threads magazine. I like how yours came out and think I might try it!
6/20/11 7:42 PM
iSewQuiltArt said...
I have been coat prowling for some time and this pattern has really taken my eye. I love your version in the Vera Wang wool, it is good to read there is plenty of ease in it for garments underneath.
5/14/12 7:11 AM
hazelb66 said...
being quite new to sewing I wouldnt have looked twice at the pattern but your version is stunning. I will now take the plunge and make my first ever coat for the UKs wet and windy weather. thanks so much for the review which is full of tips I will use
9/1/13 8:26 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Christine Jonson Swing Shirt

Buy Now
Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Christine Jonson Easy Coat

Buy Now
No Pattern Used Rosy Ladyshorts

photo
by: Immelu

Review