SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1202 (Donna Karan Top And Skirt)

1 more reviews
Viewed 642 times 
Reviewed by:ITAdmin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ITAdminstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 11/19/06
Reviews written: 103
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 102
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/1/11 6:22 AM
Last Updated:1/5/11 9:40 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
verobiride said...
Thank you so much for this review. I was going nowhere, was all stressed, completely lost. OK, i had to read your reviews several times, and followed your comments step by step, and finally, here it is. The skirt is finished, thank you so much!..
12/24/11 1:15 PM
verobiride said...
Thank you so much for this review. I was going nowhere, was all stressed, completely lost. OK, i had to read your reviews several times, and followed your comments step by step, and finally, here it is. The skirt is finished, thank you so much!..
12/24/11 1:15 PM
ITAdmin said...
Cosso, I can't think of a reason that you absolutely have to include the lining. But it's been a while since I made this. You may still want to line the top section or at least stitch the seam across the front--the one that's the top seam of the skirt but not the waistline. I do think that's helpful for "adjusting and arranging" when you wear the skirt. I'm not sure how much of a role the lining plays in shaping the garment for wearing.
5/14/11 7:22 AM
Cosso said...
Got the fabric today and I empathise with you...Vogue always manage to find some difficult way to do something that looks easy lol. I didn't want to line my skirt as I'm using a spandex/lycra and it'll make it too heavy. Can I make it do you think, without lining?
5/13/11 4:06 AM
ITAdmin said...
I agree that too thin wouldn't be good, but it does need to be something that drapes well. Also the skirt fabric can't be very thick because of the twist; it could easily become pretty bulky. I used a poly-lycra knit on the lighterweight side for the skirt. For the top, I'm thinking lightweight double knit or, better yet, a nice stable jersey.
3/10/11 9:26 AM
Bonnie123 said...
My fabric is not the thinnest; however, I think a thin fabric would look cheap. What are your thoughts on fabric choice?
3/9/11 12:26 PM
ITAdmin said...
Bonnie, sewing the skirt isn't that time-consuming. There's a fair amount of hemming and edge-finishing, and the back tab/binding pieces were a little tedious. It took me longer than it should have because of figuring out how to put it together. I think I really was handicapped by never having made a wrap skirt. And having such a big piece of fabric to cut out and handle was a bit of a problem in my sewing space. I'll be looking for your review. I'm still thinking about making the top and really want to see that reviewed.
3/8/11 6:58 AM
Bonnie123 said...
Was the project time consuming (do I need to allow for extra time on this project?)
3/7/11 11:44 AM
Bonnie123 said...
Very Nice! Thanks for the tidbits. Pray for me as I embark on this journey (lol). I will attempt to make both top and skirt. Pictures to follow.
3/7/11 11:37 AM
ClioBklyn said...
What an amazing job you did! The skirt looks marvelous on you. I love you comment on figuring out how to wear it - I have a Donna Karan RTW top that took me 3 years to figure out... LOL
2/3/11 1:16 PM
lamstu said...
What an amazing skirt!
1/6/11 9:28 AM
Athene said...
The skirt fits you beautifully and thank you so much for those photos - they really provide a very helpful visual for sewing this skirt. I really liked this pattern but have not purchased it because I thought it might only be for the very vey thin models and not regular sized women - now I know better - its a very beautiful look on you - makes me want to buy the pattern.
1/5/11 10:58 PM
marjenann said...
Wow!! That is one stylish, chic skirt and you look fabulous!!!!
1/5/11 7:15 PM
ggf2005 said...
Great review, very infomative. You look fabulous in this skirt. I would hesitate to put that twisty thing on my bum, but on you it is fabulous.
1/5/11 1:52 PM
marthamyers said...
Fabulous review, ITAdmin. Thanks.
1/2/11 8:19 PM
janet said...
Great skirt.
1/2/11 5:38 PM
Beek said...
This looks so stylish! I have always loved DKNY patterns and this is no exception. Thanks for the great review!
1/2/11 12:53 PM
lesliez said...
Thanks for the ultra helpful review. This skirt looks terrific on you. And it's nice to see it worn with your tailored jacket, a totally different look than on the envelope, and just as great.
1/2/11 1:50 AM
Clareew said...
Great Review for a great garment.
1/1/11 3:55 PM
Annette1 said...
This looks SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO good on you! Would you believe I actually bought this pattern, AS IF Icould actually wear it -- ha! Your review will be a godsend for anybody else making this skirt, very thorough! :o)
1/1/11 3:39 PM
BillieJean said...
Very pretty and so different.
1/1/11 3:36 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Class Details

Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

SewBaby Alphabet Take-Along book Pattern

More Info
Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

Islander Sewing Systems The Ultimate Kinsale Cloak Pattern

More Info
BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2013-104A

photo
by: Kemish

Review