SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1202 (Donna Karan Top And Skirt)

1 more reviews
Viewed 641 times 
Reviewed by:ITAdmin
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About ITAdminstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 11/19/06
Reviews written: 103
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 38 people
patterns reviewed: 102
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/1/11 6:22 AM
Last Updated:1/5/11 9:40 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 18 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
21 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
BillieJean said...
Very pretty and so different.
1/1/11 3:36 PM
Annette1 said...
This looks SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO good on you! Would you believe I actually bought this pattern, AS IF Icould actually wear it -- ha! Your review will be a godsend for anybody else making this skirt, very thorough! :o)
1/1/11 3:39 PM
Clareew said...
Great Review for a great garment.
1/1/11 3:55 PM
lesliez said...
Thanks for the ultra helpful review. This skirt looks terrific on you. And it's nice to see it worn with your tailored jacket, a totally different look than on the envelope, and just as great.
1/2/11 1:50 AM
Beek said...
This looks so stylish! I have always loved DKNY patterns and this is no exception. Thanks for the great review!
1/2/11 12:53 PM
janet said...
Great skirt.
1/2/11 5:38 PM
marthamyers said...
Fabulous review, ITAdmin. Thanks.
1/2/11 8:19 PM
ggf2005 said...
Great review, very infomative. You look fabulous in this skirt. I would hesitate to put that twisty thing on my bum, but on you it is fabulous.
1/5/11 1:52 PM
marjenann said...
Wow!! That is one stylish, chic skirt and you look fabulous!!!!
1/5/11 7:15 PM
Athene said...
The skirt fits you beautifully and thank you so much for those photos - they really provide a very helpful visual for sewing this skirt. I really liked this pattern but have not purchased it because I thought it might only be for the very vey thin models and not regular sized women - now I know better - its a very beautiful look on you - makes me want to buy the pattern.
1/5/11 10:58 PM
lamstu said...
What an amazing skirt!
1/6/11 9:28 AM
ClioBklyn said...
What an amazing job you did! The skirt looks marvelous on you. I love you comment on figuring out how to wear it - I have a Donna Karan RTW top that took me 3 years to figure out... LOL
2/3/11 1:16 PM
Bonnie123 said...
Very Nice! Thanks for the tidbits. Pray for me as I embark on this journey (lol). I will attempt to make both top and skirt. Pictures to follow.
3/7/11 11:37 AM
Bonnie123 said...
Was the project time consuming (do I need to allow for extra time on this project?)
3/7/11 11:44 AM
ITAdmin said...
Bonnie, sewing the skirt isn't that time-consuming. There's a fair amount of hemming and edge-finishing, and the back tab/binding pieces were a little tedious. It took me longer than it should have because of figuring out how to put it together. I think I really was handicapped by never having made a wrap skirt. And having such a big piece of fabric to cut out and handle was a bit of a problem in my sewing space. I'll be looking for your review. I'm still thinking about making the top and really want to see that reviewed.
3/8/11 6:58 AM
Bonnie123 said...
My fabric is not the thinnest; however, I think a thin fabric would look cheap. What are your thoughts on fabric choice?
3/9/11 12:26 PM
ITAdmin said...
I agree that too thin wouldn't be good, but it does need to be something that drapes well. Also the skirt fabric can't be very thick because of the twist; it could easily become pretty bulky. I used a poly-lycra knit on the lighterweight side for the skirt. For the top, I'm thinking lightweight double knit or, better yet, a nice stable jersey.
3/10/11 9:26 AM
Cosso said...
Got the fabric today and I empathise with you...Vogue always manage to find some difficult way to do something that looks easy lol. I didn't want to line my skirt as I'm using a spandex/lycra and it'll make it too heavy. Can I make it do you think, without lining?
5/13/11 4:06 AM
ITAdmin said...
Cosso, I can't think of a reason that you absolutely have to include the lining. But it's been a while since I made this. You may still want to line the top section or at least stitch the seam across the front--the one that's the top seam of the skirt but not the waistline. I do think that's helpful for "adjusting and arranging" when you wear the skirt. I'm not sure how much of a role the lining plays in shaping the garment for wearing.
5/14/11 7:22 AM
verobiride said...
Thank you so much for this review. I was going nowhere, was all stressed, completely lost. OK, i had to read your reviews several times, and followed your comments step by step, and finally, here it is. The skirt is finished, thank you so much!..
12/24/11 1:15 PM
verobiride said...
Thank you so much for this review. I was going nowhere, was all stressed, completely lost. OK, i had to read your reviews several times, and followed your comments step by step, and finally, here it is. The skirt is finished, thank you so much!..
12/24/11 1:15 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Register

Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Register

Contest Mini Wardrobe Contest

photo
by: Sew Whatev...

Review
Kwik Sew Sewing for Toddlers

photo
by: KAHooke

Review
Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Favorite Things Little Sleep Well Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things Little Wrap Dress Pattern

Buy Now