SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> McCall's> 4478 (Infants' Hat)

10 more reviews
Viewed 1084 times 
Reviewed by:W
photo

 
 
About Wstar
USA
Member since: 8/22/02
Reviews written: 65
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/28/04 10:42 PM
Last Updated:6/30/04 3:02 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Baby clothes    
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $14.95 Pattern Details

Merchants on PR

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Gendun said...
WONDERFUL review, thank you!
6/7/12 9:47 AM
Elicia said...
I am attempting to make this baby hat, view F. I just sewed the pieces together with a 1/2" seam allowance as directed and the had came out WAy too small. I guess I'll try adjusting the seam allowance but I think that it will still be too small.
8/20/04 5:28 PM
W said...
Re size issue -- I agree. I want to reiterate this for those who are planning to sew this pattern ...According to a booklet from my pediatrician, the average newborn baby size (meaning, right after birth) is about 13 3/4 inches for a girl and a hair above 14 inches for a boy. My son has a larger than average head, is not a newborn, and the NB size is still a bit loose on him because he's not quite at the 18" NB pattern size. But that's better than the other hat and clothes I made him before he was born that were already too small for him !!
7/2/04 4:31 PM
Evatgirl73 said...
Very cute fabric choice, the hat looks nice! I reviewed the same pattern, and also discovered (I hadn't had my baby when I made/reviewed it) how HUGE it is.... and the view I like the best isn't that easily modified via seam allowance, so I have to actually make the pattern smaller. I'm planning to do this with a few of the views, knowing now how big it runs! As a comparison, my baby's head circumference is 13"..! ;-)
6/30/04 3:13 PM
jen_e said...
The hat turned out very cute despite the problems with directions. Love the fabric!
6/30/04 10:01 AM
JDpenelope said...
Hat looks great! But a lot of trouble. I've also had trouble getting headwear to fit infants and children. You can't really go with what the pattern says, but must finnagle, as you did so successfully! Now for some nice hats!
6/30/04 9:14 AM
Hilary said...
Too funny- I sewed up one of these as well, and had a lot of the same issues you mentioned~the pattern pieces were confusing, much harder than it had to be, and the seam allowances were difficult to determine. I think I ended up using 3/8" and that was close enough(but not until I had to rip out the first version) you could easily change sizes just by changing the seam allowance :oP . That being said, the hat really did come out cute :o) Good review, very helpful! I would love to see your finished hat(s).
6/29/04 10:53 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Register

Bust Adjustments
Bust Adjustments

Register

McCall's 5525

photo
by: French.Sea...

Review
Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Sewing Workshop Icon Shirt

Buy Now
PerfectFuse Sheer Black

PerfectFuse Sheer Black

Buy Now