Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
McCall's: 4478 (Infants' Hat) thumbsup - Type:Baby clothes    printable version
Viewed 1079 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:W
photo
About Wstar
USA
Member since: 8/22/02
Reviews written: 65
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 1 people
patterns reviewed: 18
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/28/04 10:42 PM
Last Updated:6/30/04 3:02 PM


See other patterns in this category: Baby clothes    
Available for sale on PR: $11.96 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $11.96  List Price: $14.95   Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
7 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Hilary said...
Too funny- I sewed up one of these as well, and had a lot of the same issues you mentioned~the pattern pieces were confusing, much harder than it had to be, and the seam allowances were difficult to determine. I think I ended up using 3/8" and that was close enough(but not until I had to rip out the first version) you could easily change sizes just by changing the seam allowance :oP . That being said, the hat really did come out cute :o) Good review, very helpful! I would love to see your finished hat(s).
6/29/04 10:53 AM
JDpenelope said...
Hat looks great! But a lot of trouble. I've also had trouble getting headwear to fit infants and children. You can't really go with what the pattern says, but must finnagle, as you did so successfully! Now for some nice hats!
6/30/04 9:14 AM
jen_e said...
The hat turned out very cute despite the problems with directions. Love the fabric!
6/30/04 10:01 AM
Evatgirl73 said...
Very cute fabric choice, the hat looks nice! I reviewed the same pattern, and also discovered (I hadn't had my baby when I made/reviewed it) how HUGE it is.... and the view I like the best isn't that easily modified via seam allowance, so I have to actually make the pattern smaller. I'm planning to do this with a few of the views, knowing now how big it runs! As a comparison, my baby's head circumference is 13"..! ;-)
6/30/04 3:13 PM
W said...
Re size issue -- I agree. I want to reiterate this for those who are planning to sew this pattern ...According to a booklet from my pediatrician, the average newborn baby size (meaning, right after birth) is about 13 3/4 inches for a girl and a hair above 14 inches for a boy. My son has a larger than average head, is not a newborn, and the NB size is still a bit loose on him because he's not quite at the 18" NB pattern size. But that's better than the other hat and clothes I made him before he was born that were already too small for him !!
7/2/04 4:31 PM
Elicia said...
I am attempting to make this baby hat, view F. I just sewed the pieces together with a 1/2" seam allowance as directed and the had came out WAy too small. I guess I'll try adjusting the seam allowance but I think that it will still be too small.
8/20/04 5:28 PM
Gendun said...
WONDERFUL review, thank you!
6/7/12 9:47 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Online Sewing Classes
Bust Adjustments
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Bust Adjustments

BurdaStyle Magazine 04-2008-116 dress
photo
Review by Heidi Ho on 7/19/09
Read Review

Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern
Sewing Workshop San Francisco Coat Pattern

Details
Price: $22.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder
Victoria Jones Collection Busy Diva Apron and Star Potholder

Details
Price: $14.25
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern
Pattern Runway Assymetrical Bow Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $9.50
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Cool Cardigan Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Cool Cardigan Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 6084 Two Hour Top
photo
Review by KatieA on 10/21/07
Read Review

Simplicity 1585 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1585 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

New Look 6210 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )
New Look 6210 Pattern ( Size 10-12-14-16-18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us