SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8452 (Men's Toggle Coat)

5 more reviews
Review submitted in Winter Wear Contest
Viewed 792 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 118 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/30/10 8:52 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 22 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Reconstructing History
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
45 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
DesignsByDenise said...
Peter, you did such a beautiful job on this coat. I'm sure you'll get decades of wear out of it. Top notch! And I'll bet it's still hundreds less than retail even with the splurge on the buttons. Years from now you'll be thanking yourself for spending the extra money.
1/15/11 0:06 AM
JETrinity said...
You have got my vote. And I am always amazed with what you make on your charmingly old style sewing machine.
1/10/11 6:57 PM
Margaret said...
The coat looks excellent! Love the plaid lining and the toggles! Great work.
1/6/11 5:34 AM
manola6176 said...
Amazing!!!!!
1/4/11 3:47 PM
donna mel said...
Awesome coat. Better in solid than plaid. Coats are like couches -- add the snazzy accessories (like a scarf), but stick to simple for longevity. You'll have this one forever.
1/3/11 6:29 AM
Peter in NYC said...
LOL -- exactly! Thanks again, everyone, for the great feedback.
1/2/11 7:35 PM
AnneM said...
The 'real' buttons are worth it for your great coat, Peter. It came out great, and unfortunately you have had lots of opportunities to wear it!
1/2/11 7:21 PM
1SewSweet said...
Wow Peter, this is a great piece! Your work is incredible! I really love this coat! Looks like it's just in time for the weather there!!! Great Job!
1/2/11 12:50 PM
quixoticpixels said...
Very inspiring, Peter! Every little detail on this coat is perfect.
1/2/11 12:13 PM
eword10 said...
I think this is one of my favorite projects of yours. It fits you so well and you really used every ounce of your talent and skill; it shows! When are you going to review the leopard pants? ;)
1/1/11 8:25 AM
JillyBe said...
Absolutely awesome Peter! Every detail - and it looks fabulous on you!
12/31/10 10:43 PM
JessB said...
Great job Peter. I'm so impressed with (and envious about!) how rapidly you have become a masterful seamster (is that the masculine form of seamstress?). Love the coat too.
12/31/10 10:29 PM
janet said...
Very SHARP looking coat, PROFESSIONALLY made! The fabric looks LUXURIOUS! Great TOPSTITCHING!
12/31/10 7:52 PM
cindyann said...
Nicely done, Peter!
12/31/10 2:56 PM
Christas said...
That is one very fantastic looking coat! You should be so proud of your work ...... better than RTW for sure!
12/31/10 1:41 PM
waltzqueen said...
Great looking coat! I had a similar one in jr high in the, ahem, late 60s. Beautiful work! I'm sure you will get a lot of wear out of it this winter! Hope you aren't snowed in! -- former New Yorker
12/31/10 1:05 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
"Me in coat in the snow"... You're just ASKING for your Mother to say, "Do you coat up, Dear!!" ;) It's FABULOUS!! HOW you have progressed this year, Peter !!
12/31/10 12:27 PM
AuntieShel said...
Another amazing project a la Peter!! Your coat is superb and I am awed by your ________ (energy, perseverance, ambition, stick-to-it-ness--not quite sure, but wish I had it.) So glad you splurged on the horn toggles!!
12/31/10 12:14 PM
Candace A said...
Marvelous work--I bet that comes in really handy this harsh winter!
12/31/10 12:10 PM
becca a said...
What a fantastic coat! It is certainly a classic style. I love your horn toggles and the combination of fabrics. What wonderful pictures you have of the process and of the finished coat.
12/31/10 11:21 AM
RadarRadiance said...
You did an amazing job on this coat, looks very handsome and rich, you look great in it! Love the car coat style with toggles. Check this out: http://www.saksfifthavenue.com/main/ProductDetail.jsp?PRODUCT%3C%3Eprd_id=845524446382583&afsrc=1&site_refer=SHOP002&srccode=cii_13736960&cpncode=18-80725938-2 Hopefully a copy and paste works ;-) Very similar, yours looks just as proffesional.
12/31/10 11:16 AM
JanaL said...
Amazing!!!1 Beautiful work. The toggles look great, so they were worth the splurge.
12/31/10 11:06 AM
kimmielovesparis said...
Fantastic coat! You did an amazing job. Really enjoy your reviews...lots of pictures.
12/31/10 10:49 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks a million, everybody! :)
12/31/10 10:46 AM
RobbieK said...
Your coat is beautifully made and it looks great on. I know you are enjoying it this week!
12/31/10 10:42 AM
debbieB said...
All I can say is WOW! Beautiful coat!
12/31/10 10:39 AM
optimistic said...
This coat is absolutely fabulous!
12/31/10 9:53 AM
betty bushwacker said...
What a challenge this must have been, but your usual meticulous attention to detail has made it shine. Looks great Peter and I'm glad you didn't sew over your finger with those small bits of leather
12/31/10 9:44 AM
frame said...
I like your toggles.
12/31/10 9:25 AM
maryfrana said...
Like a fashion shoot on the snowy steps in NYC. Great looking coat.
12/31/10 8:28 AM
Sewing Joe said...
Beautiful job!
12/31/10 8:18 AM
Nan Kay said...
You did a fantastic job with this coat. Looks very professional!
12/31/10 8:17 AM
Fran G said...
Fabulous work...so classic. Although the fabric, notions, etc were more costly than expected, look what you have created!! Brooks Bros, indeed!
12/31/10 8:02 AM
Sanibelle said...
I love this style of coat and yours is so beautifully crafted. Most deserving of those horn buttons and toggles! :)
12/31/10 7:51 AM
cleverclogs said...
I've been waiting for the review having followed your adventures on MPB. Congratulations on a fabulous garment! I'll look out for V8452 to make for my partner's 60th (not comin gup for a few years yet so there's hope)
12/31/10 7:09 AM
Annette1 said...
BEAUTIFUL coat with EXQUISITE details, from the fabric to the underlining to those toggles to the workmanship. Perfect!
12/31/10 3:49 AM
AdaH said...
What a great looking coat. Very well done.
12/31/10 2:49 AM
Athene said...
You look great in your new coat. Congratulations on such a superb job - Everything about the coat is great including those fabulous horn buttons and toggles. Also really enjoyed viewing the whole process on your blog - it was a lot of work but well worth it.
12/31/10 2:18 AM
FreyaStark said...
You are brave to have tackled such an ambitious project but you've pulled it off superbly well. A very smart garment, and no doubt you'll wear it for years to come.
12/31/10 1:30 AM
MNBarb said...
You coat is just great. My favorite details are the back yoke and the hem that looks like it's been sewn by a true professional. I am stealing this technique if I every make a coat. The slim fit is perfect on you and the warmth factor is just in time for the big NY snowstorm!
12/31/10 0:10 AM
Epona said...
Beautifully made, looks very professional. I do wish Vogue would start producing more men's patterns again. They are so nice. Thanks for the step by step photos, I always learn something new, like sewing on toggles! Thanks, and Happy New Year!
12/30/10 11:56 PM
eibhlin said...
Amazing!!! Well done!!!
12/30/10 10:47 PM
Padmé said...
That's a great looking coat, and you look pretty great looking in it too.
12/30/10 10:41 PM
talesofawannabe said...
Amazing coat! And I love your blog. :]
12/30/10 10:04 PM
no7262 said...
Peter I LOVE the coat! You did an awesome job! Nora :)
12/30/10 9:42 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets
Beginners Guide to Sewing Jackets

Register

Vogue Patterns 1549

photo
by: redrockcit...

Review
Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Sew Chic Fantasia Dress Pattern (ln9005)

Buy Now
Newport Tote

Newport Tote

Buy Now
Vogue Patterns 8088

photo
by: JillyBe

Review