SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 8452 (Men's Toggle Coat)

5 more reviews
Review submitted in Winter Wear Contest
Viewed 786 times 
Reviewed by:Peter in NYC
photo

 
 
About Peter in NYCstarstarstarstar
USA
Member since: 6/9/09
Reviews written: 67
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 119 people
patterns reviewed: 61
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/30/10 8:52 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 22 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
45 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
no7262 said...
Peter I LOVE the coat! You did an awesome job! Nora :)
12/30/10 9:42 PM
talesofawannabe said...
Amazing coat! And I love your blog. :]
12/30/10 10:04 PM
Padmé said...
That's a great looking coat, and you look pretty great looking in it too.
12/30/10 10:41 PM
eibhlin said...
Amazing!!! Well done!!!
12/30/10 10:47 PM
Epona said...
Beautifully made, looks very professional. I do wish Vogue would start producing more men's patterns again. They are so nice. Thanks for the step by step photos, I always learn something new, like sewing on toggles! Thanks, and Happy New Year!
12/30/10 11:56 PM
MNBarb said...
You coat is just great. My favorite details are the back yoke and the hem that looks like it's been sewn by a true professional. I am stealing this technique if I every make a coat. The slim fit is perfect on you and the warmth factor is just in time for the big NY snowstorm!
12/31/10 0:10 AM
FreyaStark said...
You are brave to have tackled such an ambitious project but you've pulled it off superbly well. A very smart garment, and no doubt you'll wear it for years to come.
12/31/10 1:30 AM
Athene said...
You look great in your new coat. Congratulations on such a superb job - Everything about the coat is great including those fabulous horn buttons and toggles. Also really enjoyed viewing the whole process on your blog - it was a lot of work but well worth it.
12/31/10 2:18 AM
AdaH said...
What a great looking coat. Very well done.
12/31/10 2:49 AM
Annette1 said...
BEAUTIFUL coat with EXQUISITE details, from the fabric to the underlining to those toggles to the workmanship. Perfect!
12/31/10 3:49 AM
cleverclogs said...
I've been waiting for the review having followed your adventures on MPB. Congratulations on a fabulous garment! I'll look out for V8452 to make for my partner's 60th (not comin gup for a few years yet so there's hope)
12/31/10 7:09 AM
Sanibelle said...
I love this style of coat and yours is so beautifully crafted. Most deserving of those horn buttons and toggles! :)
12/31/10 7:51 AM
Fran G said...
Fabulous work...so classic. Although the fabric, notions, etc were more costly than expected, look what you have created!! Brooks Bros, indeed!
12/31/10 8:02 AM
Nan Kay said...
You did a fantastic job with this coat. Looks very professional!
12/31/10 8:17 AM
Sewing Joe said...
Beautiful job!
12/31/10 8:18 AM
maryfrana said...
Like a fashion shoot on the snowy steps in NYC. Great looking coat.
12/31/10 8:28 AM
frame said...
I like your toggles.
12/31/10 9:25 AM
betty bushwacker said...
What a challenge this must have been, but your usual meticulous attention to detail has made it shine. Looks great Peter and I'm glad you didn't sew over your finger with those small bits of leather
12/31/10 9:44 AM
optimistic said...
This coat is absolutely fabulous!
12/31/10 9:53 AM
debbieB said...
All I can say is WOW! Beautiful coat!
12/31/10 10:39 AM
RobbieK said...
Your coat is beautifully made and it looks great on. I know you are enjoying it this week!
12/31/10 10:42 AM
Peter in NYC said...
Thanks a million, everybody! :)
12/31/10 10:46 AM
kimmielovesparis said...
Fantastic coat! You did an amazing job. Really enjoy your reviews...lots of pictures.
12/31/10 10:49 AM
JanaL said...
Amazing!!!1 Beautiful work. The toggles look great, so they were worth the splurge.
12/31/10 11:06 AM
RadarRadiance said...
You did an amazing job on this coat, looks very handsome and rich, you look great in it! Love the car coat style with toggles. Check this out: http://www.saksfifthavenue.com/main/ProductDetail.jsp?PRODUCT%3C%3Eprd_id=845524446382583&afsrc=1&site_refer=SHOP002&srccode=cii_13736960&cpncode=18-80725938-2 Hopefully a copy and paste works ;-) Very similar, yours looks just as proffesional.
12/31/10 11:16 AM
becca a said...
What a fantastic coat! It is certainly a classic style. I love your horn toggles and the combination of fabrics. What wonderful pictures you have of the process and of the finished coat.
12/31/10 11:21 AM
Candace A said...
Marvelous work--I bet that comes in really handy this harsh winter!
12/31/10 12:10 PM
AuntieShel said...
Another amazing project a la Peter!! Your coat is superb and I am awed by your ________ (energy, perseverance, ambition, stick-to-it-ness--not quite sure, but wish I had it.) So glad you splurged on the horn toggles!!
12/31/10 12:14 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
"Me in coat in the snow"... You're just ASKING for your Mother to say, "Do you coat up, Dear!!" ;) It's FABULOUS!! HOW you have progressed this year, Peter !!
12/31/10 12:27 PM
waltzqueen said...
Great looking coat! I had a similar one in jr high in the, ahem, late 60s. Beautiful work! I'm sure you will get a lot of wear out of it this winter! Hope you aren't snowed in! -- former New Yorker
12/31/10 1:05 PM
Christas said...
That is one very fantastic looking coat! You should be so proud of your work ...... better than RTW for sure!
12/31/10 1:41 PM
cindyann said...
Nicely done, Peter!
12/31/10 2:56 PM
janet said...
Very SHARP looking coat, PROFESSIONALLY made! The fabric looks LUXURIOUS! Great TOPSTITCHING!
12/31/10 7:52 PM
JessB said...
Great job Peter. I'm so impressed with (and envious about!) how rapidly you have become a masterful seamster (is that the masculine form of seamstress?). Love the coat too.
12/31/10 10:29 PM
JillyBe said...
Absolutely awesome Peter! Every detail - and it looks fabulous on you!
12/31/10 10:43 PM
eword10 said...
I think this is one of my favorite projects of yours. It fits you so well and you really used every ounce of your talent and skill; it shows! When are you going to review the leopard pants? ;)
1/1/11 8:25 AM
quixoticpixels said...
Very inspiring, Peter! Every little detail on this coat is perfect.
1/2/11 12:13 PM
1SewSweet said...
Wow Peter, this is a great piece! Your work is incredible! I really love this coat! Looks like it's just in time for the weather there!!! Great Job!
1/2/11 12:50 PM
AnneM said...
The 'real' buttons are worth it for your great coat, Peter. It came out great, and unfortunately you have had lots of opportunities to wear it!
1/2/11 7:21 PM
Peter in NYC said...
LOL -- exactly! Thanks again, everyone, for the great feedback.
1/2/11 7:35 PM
donna mel said...
Awesome coat. Better in solid than plaid. Coats are like couches -- add the snazzy accessories (like a scarf), but stick to simple for longevity. You'll have this one forever.
1/3/11 6:29 AM
manola6176 said...
Amazing!!!!!
1/4/11 3:47 PM
Margaret said...
The coat looks excellent! Love the plaid lining and the toggles! Great work.
1/6/11 5:34 AM
JETrinity said...
You have got my vote. And I am always amazed with what you make on your charmingly old style sewing machine.
1/10/11 6:57 PM
DesignsByDenise said...
Peter, you did such a beautiful job on this coat. I'm sure you'll get decades of wear out of it. Top notch! And I'll bet it's still hundreds less than retail even with the splurge on the buttons. Years from now you'll be thanking yourself for spending the extra money.
1/15/11 0:06 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Sewing Workshop Zona Jacket Pattern

Buy Now
Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Petite Plus 104 Pattern

Buy Now