Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Au Bonheur des Petites Mains: 10011 (Coat with Round Collar) - Type:Coat/Jacket
Review submitted in Winter Wear Contest    printable version
Viewed 777 times
Review rated Very Helpful by 15 people   
Reviewed by:sfshaza
photo
About sfshazastar
CA USA
Member since: 9/12/07
Reviews written: 156
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 85 people
patterns reviewed: 156
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/31/10 2:02 PM
Last Updated:12/31/10 5:02 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
33 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
pegsewer said...
This is a great review and coat! I love reading about the new techniques and you really personalized it wonderfully---love that needle felting! Thanks so much for being so adventurous with this and your other Au Bonheur pattern reviews--can't wait to see your next creation! Peg
12/31/10 2:34 PM
Vintage Joan said...
Oh, how utterly awesome -- felted needlework polka dots. Wow! :) Great coat.
12/31/10 2:39 PM
Peter in NYC said...
What a great coat! I love those polka dots!
12/31/10 2:50 PM
Annette1 said...
You're always one ... or two, or three ... steps ahead of me! I was ogling this pattern the other night, but never could figure out how to BUY the stupid thing -- ha! Yours is SO CUTE! You win the MOST CREATIVE AWARD. :o) I LOVE the fabric and all those little polka dots. :o)
12/31/10 3:33 PM
Karendee said...
Shams, as I said on your post, you are sewist/designer extraordinary. My mouth is just open in amazement with this results of this clever coat. You should definitely win the contest in every category.
12/31/10 3:36 PM
Elona said...
What a fun, intriguing coat!
12/31/10 3:45 PM
Elona said...
Duplicate post.
12/31/10 3:45 PM
Elona said...
And if one duplicate post is good, then two must be even better. Still a lovely coat.
12/31/10 3:45 PM
Christas said...
What a great coat! Love those colorful polka dots!
12/31/10 4:08 PM
sfshaza said...
Thanks so much for your compliments, everyone! When I wore it out running errands today (and buying coffee :) ), I realized that I forgot to mention that I added inseam pockets. The pattern had no pockets.
12/31/10 5:06 PM
Athene said...
This is a delightful whimsical coat and you look wonderful in it. Enjoyed your review and blog.
12/31/10 6:27 PM
SewWil said...
Great coat. Love the polka dots.
12/31/10 7:32 PM
Catbird said...
I really like your funky sensibility and your fearless go-for-it creativity. Also these swirly silhouettes that you favor. I'd say this is a quintessential San Francisco coat (I lived there, so I know what you mean about the weather) and I hope you get lots of compliments as you go about the city in it! Your reviews are fun.
12/31/10 8:17 PM
JillyBe said...
Too! Much! Fun! I love this coat - both the pattern and what you did with it. You're right, it's a spot on perfect San Francisco coat!
12/31/10 10:26 PM
Fran G said...
Another fabulous creation, Shams! You are so creative and fearless!
1/1/11 8:54 AM
becca a said...
Your coat is gorgeous! I love the felted circles.
1/1/11 9:02 AM
Diane333 said...
Love your coat!!!! Very original and sure to be an attention grabber.
1/1/11 9:58 AM
Rebecca D said...
Gorgeous as usual and thanks for the link to a translated site for those patterns. I think a little New Year's shopping is in store for me. You are an inspiration!
1/1/11 10:07 AM
janet said...
Your IMAGINATION is incredible! The RESULT is superb!!! We ALL need to go a little dottie!!!! HAPPY NEW YEAR.
1/1/11 11:13 AM
DorothyK said...
This is spectacular. I love the whimsy of this piece - the boiled wool, the needle-felted dots, the actual design of the pattern. Your talents never cease to amaze me. You are so inspiring. I would like to make one of these patterns soon, and when I do, your dictionary will be invaluable. Thanks for such an informative review.
1/1/11 11:56 AM
maryfrana said...
This is a whimsical, fashionable coat. Felted polka dots -- that takes dedication.
1/1/11 12:27 PM
Kay Y said...
Super - whimsical is the word that comes to mind. Love the felted dots at the hem. Wear it with pride; you'll be trailing compliments.
1/1/11 12:41 PM
JETrinity said...
What a lovely coat pattern. The polka dots and the buttons just sets this coat for an award.
1/1/11 7:26 PM
Barbara V said...
You did all of this after Christmas?? Wow, that was much work in little time! It is truly a creative masterpiece! I so agree with your terms "fun" and "whimsical". The needle felting embellishments are fabulous. You look great in it!
1/2/11 10:30 AM
Ann Smith said...
This just blows me away! So creative and so successful. It would sell for the big bucks in an arty boutique.
1/2/11 2:26 PM
yummymummy38 said...
Fun, flirty, twirly and whimsical, my fav of your au bonheur creations so far
1/2/11 7:46 PM
treefrog said...
Love the colourful circles. Fantastic!
1/3/11 5:15 PM
lyndle said...
I love this coat! Great blog entry too. It would make me happy just to put this coat on - no wonder you feel like twirling in it. Awesome!
1/3/11 5:37 PM
AnneMarie60 said...
Fabulous, eye-catching embellishments! The flirty coat style suits you perfectly. Absolutely amazing!
1/4/11 12:48 PM
lisa m said...
Wonderful coat. Will you be joining our BABES meeting this Saturday? PLEASE bring the coat!!!
1/4/11 1:16 PM
gloucester said...
Fabulous! You're my heroine!
1/8/11 10:57 PM
JaniePDX said...
I love this coat and all your other Au Bonheur things. How is Au Bonheur's sizing compared to the big 4? Are all sized included in the pattern? You've inspired me to give them a go. Your coat is the bomb!!
1/15/11 1:40 PM
sfshaza said...
Thanks, everyone. Janie, it's more like Burda sizing. I've put a measurement chart on my blog. I requested it from them and converted the metric measurements to imperial. This pattern comes in both regular and plus sizes, but you have to access the correct page - they don't have a pulldown where you select a size. The measurement chart is here: http://communingwithfabric.blogspot.com/2010/01/au-bonheurs-des-petites-mains.html
1/15/11 9:11 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Clone Your Favorite Garment
Fee: $19.99
(Regular $49.00)
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Butterick 5526 Misses' Shirt
photo
Review by Handshake on 1/22/14
Read Review

Lolita Patterns Gunmetal
Lolita Patterns Gunmetal

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern
Bluegingerdoll The Peggy Skirt Pattern

Details
Price: $20.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )
Peek-A Boo Madison Dress Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -8 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )
Peek-A Boo Starboard Jacket Digital Pattern ( Size 3 mo -12 years )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Jalie 2327
photo
Review by Mazzygirl on 10/4/12
Read Review

Simplicity 2454 Pattern( Size ALL )
Simplicity 2454 Pattern( Size ALL )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 1425 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )
Simplicity 1425 Pattern ( Size 4-6-8-10-12 )

Details
Price: $16.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us