Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Design and Sew: 337 (Cosmopolitan Jacket) - Type:Coat/Jacket
Review submitted in Winter Wear Contest    printable version
Viewed 779 times 1 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
Reviewed by:JillyBe
photo
About JillyBestarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/20/10
Reviews written: 82
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 53 people
patterns reviewed: 67
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/31/10 8:33 PM
Last Updated:1/1/11 6:21 PM


To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Elliott Berman Textiles
Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!
Sewn Square One
Patterns for Your Style.
Web site
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
sfshaza said...
What a beautiful jacket! I read your notes on working with the faux shearling with great interest. I want to make a jacket with the same fabric (in a different colorway) and had concerns about working with it. You even matched the pattern in some places! That pocket is invisible! Just beautiful and thanks for your detailed review and photo album!
12/31/10 9:16 PM
Annette1 said...
WOW! This is one BEAUTIFUL jacket, a work of art. I particularly like the way you've done the button(s). I LOVE your fabric, and you've constructed the jacket to perfection. I think you need to raise your rating to at least Intermediate! :o)
1/1/11 0:22 AM
Clareew said...
I have been waiting for your review. It was worth the wait. Absolutely wonderful. I'm sure you will be inundated with compliments every time you wear it.
1/1/11 7:42 AM
maryfrana said...
Outstanding result! Perfect match of fabric and pattern. Love this look.
1/1/11 9:46 AM
becca a said...
What a gorgeous jacket! I love your fabric, the princess lines and the collar. Thanks for the tips on using faux shearling.
1/1/11 9:46 AM
Rebecca D said...
Fantastically helpful review and a beautiful jacket to boot. I've had this pattern in the stash forever. Maybe in 2011.....
1/1/11 9:58 AM
Diane333 said...
You made a wonderful jacket that I would love to own. So outstanding.
1/1/11 10:15 AM
betty bushwacker said...
I wonder if dog clippers would get close enough to the edge of the shearling to shorten the task?I don't have a piece to try it on, but just a random thought. That is one fabulous jacket you've made.
1/1/11 10:50 AM
Aroura said...
Absolutely gorgeous! The fabric is perfect, inside and out. The button detailing is excellent.
1/1/11 11:51 AM
Restart06 said...
Wow, beautiful & looks so comfy! I am glad that I got to see the end result. You will enjoy!!
1/1/11 12:22 PM
Kim12469 said...
Wow...gorgeous! All those construction details are amazing!
1/1/11 3:20 PM
quixoticpixels said...
Congratulations on finishing! It turned out really, really great!
1/1/11 5:51 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Looks great on you, very stylish!
1/1/11 6:25 PM
Annette1 said...
WOOHOO!!!!! I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this jacket! It's just PERFECT in this fabric. I'm PEA GREEN with envy. :o)) It looks GREAT on you.
1/1/11 6:37 PM
carolynw said...
WOW!! You have done one heck of a job here - your jacket is absolutely drop dead gorgeous - am amazed you matched the print at the back - really makes this a knock out!!
1/1/11 6:44 PM
JillyBe said...
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments everyone! :) :) :) Betty I'm thinking that dog clippers might work well for clipping the fur. I think some folks use electric razors (a safety razor didn't work at all). If one wanted to clip ALL of the seams, a more streamlined tool would certainly be helpful!
1/1/11 6:51 PM
GlButterfly said...
Great jacket and a nice thorough review
1/2/11 2:27 AM
lamstu said...
I also have this pattern, but it has never risen to the top despite being in constant contention! You version is fantastic! Perfect match of fabric to pattern, and it is REALLY gorgeous fabric too.
1/2/11 10:54 AM
treefrog said...
Just beautiful!
1/3/11 5:17 PM
Kayseri said...
Yummy is the right word. Gorgeous jacket.
1/3/11 9:01 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Wow, this is such a gorgeous jacket!!
1/8/11 8:51 PM
JDpenelope said...
OMG -- It's humbling to read your review. Your intelligent planning and execution conquered the challenges posed by this pattern and your fabric.
2/11/11 9:15 PM
madcap85 said...
Wonderful jacket and great review. I am attempting a sherpa jacket and I think your notes may help me out.
1/19/12 12:14 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Sewing Basics
Fee: $14.99
(Regular $14.99)
Sewing Basics

Online Sewing Classes
Fit the Tee to a T
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Fit the Tee to a T

Peek-a-Boo Pattern Shop Sugar Plum Nightgown
photo
Review by MayenDesig... on 10/10/13
Read Review

Basic Top
Basic Top

Details
Price: $16.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Simplicity 4786 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )
Simplicity 4786 Pattern( Size ONE SIZE )

Details
Price: $14.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Au Bonheur des Petites Mains 40033
photo
Review by Noile on 4/10/12
Read Review

Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)
Jamie Christina Sol Hoodie Digital Pattern (JC316SHE)

Details
Price: $10.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Bag Digital Pattern ( Size one size )
Peek-A Boo Does it all Diaper Bag Digital Pattern ( Size one size )

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern
SewBaby Patchwork Purse Pattern

Details
Price: $9.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Miranda Day Bag
Miranda Day Bag

Details
Price: $9.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us