SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Design and Sew> 337 (Cosmopolitan Jacket)

1 more reviews
Review submitted in Winter Wear Contest
Viewed 807 times 
Reviewed by:JillyBe
photo

 
 
About JillyBestarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 1/20/10
Reviews written: 85
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 57 people
patterns reviewed: 70
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:12/31/10 8:33 PM
Last Updated:1/1/11 6:21 PM


Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 24 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
23 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
madcap85 said...
Wonderful jacket and great review. I am attempting a sherpa jacket and I think your notes may help me out.
1/19/12 12:14 PM
JDpenelope said...
OMG -- It's humbling to read your review. Your intelligent planning and execution conquered the challenges posed by this pattern and your fabric.
2/11/11 9:15 PM
Jennifer shaw said...
Wow, this is such a gorgeous jacket!!
1/8/11 8:51 PM
Kayseri said...
Yummy is the right word. Gorgeous jacket.
1/3/11 9:01 PM
treefrog said...
Just beautiful!
1/3/11 5:17 PM
lamstu said...
I also have this pattern, but it has never risen to the top despite being in constant contention! You version is fantastic! Perfect match of fabric to pattern, and it is REALLY gorgeous fabric too.
1/2/11 10:54 AM
GlButterfly said...
Great jacket and a nice thorough review
1/2/11 2:27 AM
JillyBe said...
Thank you so much for the wonderful comments everyone! :) :) :) Betty I'm thinking that dog clippers might work well for clipping the fur. I think some folks use electric razors (a safety razor didn't work at all). If one wanted to clip ALL of the seams, a more streamlined tool would certainly be helpful!
1/1/11 6:51 PM
carolynw said...
WOW!! You have done one heck of a job here - your jacket is absolutely drop dead gorgeous - am amazed you matched the print at the back - really makes this a knock out!!
1/1/11 6:44 PM
Annette1 said...
WOOHOO!!!!! I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this jacket! It's just PERFECT in this fabric. I'm PEA GREEN with envy. :o)) It looks GREAT on you.
1/1/11 6:37 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Looks great on you, very stylish!
1/1/11 6:25 PM
quixoticpixels said...
Congratulations on finishing! It turned out really, really great!
1/1/11 5:51 PM
Kim12469 said...
Wow...gorgeous! All those construction details are amazing!
1/1/11 3:20 PM
Restart06 said...
Wow, beautiful & looks so comfy! I am glad that I got to see the end result. You will enjoy!!
1/1/11 12:22 PM
Aroura said...
Absolutely gorgeous! The fabric is perfect, inside and out. The button detailing is excellent.
1/1/11 11:51 AM
betty bushwacker said...
I wonder if dog clippers would get close enough to the edge of the shearling to shorten the task?I don't have a piece to try it on, but just a random thought. That is one fabulous jacket you've made.
1/1/11 10:50 AM
Diane333 said...
You made a wonderful jacket that I would love to own. So outstanding.
1/1/11 10:15 AM
Rebecca D said...
Fantastically helpful review and a beautiful jacket to boot. I've had this pattern in the stash forever. Maybe in 2011.....
1/1/11 9:58 AM
becca a said...
What a gorgeous jacket! I love your fabric, the princess lines and the collar. Thanks for the tips on using faux shearling.
1/1/11 9:46 AM
maryfrana said...
Outstanding result! Perfect match of fabric and pattern. Love this look.
1/1/11 9:46 AM
Clareew said...
I have been waiting for your review. It was worth the wait. Absolutely wonderful. I'm sure you will be inundated with compliments every time you wear it.
1/1/11 7:42 AM
Annette1 said...
WOW! This is one BEAUTIFUL jacket, a work of art. I particularly like the way you've done the button(s). I LOVE your fabric, and you've constructed the jacket to perfection. I think you need to raise your rating to at least Intermediate! :o)
1/1/11 0:22 AM
sfshaza said...
What a beautiful jacket! I read your notes on working with the faux shearling with great interest. I want to make a jacket with the same fabric (in a different colorway) and had concerns about working with it. You even matched the pattern in some places! That pocket is invisible! Just beautiful and thanks for your detailed review and photo album!
12/31/10 9:16 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics
Sewing with Slippery & Drapey Fabrics

Class Details

Online Class
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets
Expert Sewing Techniques for Jackets

Class Details

McCall's 6294

photo
by: MNBarb

Review
Simplicity 5284

photo
by: zoeope

Review
Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

Jamie Christina Sunny Day Dress and Skirt Pattern (JC308SD)

More Info
Margo Handbag

Margo Handbag

More Info