SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 01-2011-129 (Knit Top with Mock Shrug)

5 more reviews
Review submitted in Fabric Stash - 2011 Contest
Viewed 422 times 
Reviewed by:Heatherrique
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About Heatherriquestarstarstarstar
CA USA
Member since: 6/27/06
Reviews written: 298
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 100 people
patterns reviewed: 298
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/4/11 0:10 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 13 people   
NEW! See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Elliott Berman Textiles


Fabrics for Greater Ideas
Deals!

Gwyn Hug


Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!

Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns


Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
17 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Christas said...
OOOOH, I love it! Both versions look nice. I will have to use your cut and spread method and add an inch there for my next top. I like your highlighter idea too. I felt like I was going cross-eyed trying to find the pieces. It is unreal how cluttered the pattern pages are now. This top looks great on you! Thanks for your very helpful tips on how to make the top more modest and also how to FIND the patterns you want on that crazy Burda "map" by highlighting.
1/4/11 0:33 AM
michellep74 said...
Thanks for a very helpful review. I had a similar head-scratching experience with the neckline on a very simple yet-to-be-reviewed sweetheart top from KnipMode. Your tops turned out very cute, though--I especially like the 2nd version!
1/4/11 0:40 AM
Annette1 said...
I remember quite some time ago pulling the pattern sheets out of my Burda Plus magazine, and just LOOKING at them, trying to figure out what was what, I gave up and put it away! But here you are with TWO great tops, one just slightly more modest than the other. When I read, "I achieved what I called the ultra conservative version as a result of my blunders," I had to laugh, because I'd probably NEED an ultra conservative version. :o) When I was in Wal-Mart today (I always cruise by the fabric department), I noticed the new McCall's were out, and I bought a pattern very similar to this, LIKE I NEED ANOTHER PATTERN. :o) Yours and Christa's tops have turned out so beautifully, I hope I can make one that's CLOSE anyway. GREAT review!
1/4/11 0:50 AM
SewWil said...
I like both of your tops. I've been eyeing this top ever since I received the magazine. I appreciate your detailed and very helpful review.
1/4/11 1:40 AM
dingyadi said...
This is such a great and flattering top. Love this style and love both your versions. Thanks for the really informative review too.
1/4/11 5:32 AM
mssewcrazy said...
You wound up with a great top. I have gotten a russian version of a burda issue that is oop and need to find 3 pieces of the pattern. I have about decided I am out of my league with burda-my hat's off to you for your success with this top. It will be a miracle if I ever find my 3 pattern pieces and then I am done with burda magazines. Life is too short for the maze of lines that they call patterns.
1/4/11 7:54 AM
Barbara V said...
So nice to see your versions of this pretty BWOF top and read your tips for figuring out the correct steps. They both look great on you. I appreciated seeing on your blog the collection of similar style patterns. I've sewn the Sandra Betzina top, but want to try one of the others. Thanks!
1/4/11 10:51 AM
ITAdmin said...
This brought back memories of the disaster I had making the Sandra Betzina version of this style. Apparently, there's something about it that's just confusing. Both your tops look cute, though. I love the fabric for the blue one.
1/4/11 12:45 PM
MNBarb said...
A great neckline on you. You have convinced me that Burda Magazine is NOT for me. I'll just have to stick with their envelope patterns. Hats off to you for getting past the maze of tracing.
1/4/11 12:52 PM
CypGrl said...
I love the navy polka dot one on you. Thanks for the very detailed review -- and all the car photos on your blog link.
1/4/11 1:34 PM
mochimo said...
Both your tops look nice! I have been wanting to make a faux shrug top for some time now and maybe I will give this one a try (I like the S. Betzina/Vogue pattern but it is not sold here and it costs too much to get it from overseas). I will probably wait until the patterns become available as downloads on the Burdastyle site (the pattern sheets have become so complicated and there are so few patterns that I really like in every issue that I prefer not to buy the magazine and download the pattern if I really want to sew something out of BurdaStyle magazine).
1/4/11 4:44 PM
Terri A said...
These tops are tdf. I just love the style!
1/5/11 2:19 AM
Deepika said...
Fab review! Thanks for taking the time to walk us through the construction process. I actually like both your versions.
1/5/11 9:37 AM
Heatherrique said...
Thank you everyone for your kind comments and feedback! I have worn the navy one twice outside the house and it is quite comfortable. The neckline has a a slight "drape" when moving a certain way (still wearable). It could be due to the nature of the material in comparison with the other top. Also I noticed the peeking bra strap is more apparaent with a halter-style bra or racerback bra. I wish i had tightened the neckline a little more.
1/5/11 3:43 PM
ChristineX said...
I love the top. Thank you for the great review!
1/5/11 6:53 PM
Paris75008 said...
They both look lovely on you. Well done! Helpful review and great tip for raising the neckline. The effects of stitching and driving???? If more people did that, maybe there would be less road accidents!!!
1/6/11 7:17 PM
cindyann said...
This review is most helpful!
12/27/11 1:19 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Clone Your Favorite Garment
Clone Your Favorite Garment

Register

Mini Miranda Bag

Mini Miranda Bag

Buy Now
Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Favorite Things A Billfold Pattern

Buy Now
StyleArc Becky Yoga Pant

photo
by: lyndle

Review