SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Vogue Patterns> 1195 (Misses' Top, Dress And Belt)

4 more reviews
Viewed 747 times 
Reviewed by:EMSB
photo

 
 
About EMSBstar
TN USA
Member since: 8/1/10
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/2/11 10:51 AM
Last Updated:1/2/11 11:53 AM




Buy Pattern
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 Pattern Details
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
angela langan said...
I am glad you stayed with it, looks nice, its the innocent looking patterns that can be the worst, lol.
4/4/11 3:57 AM
anne123184 said...
Great review! Love your color combination I'm actually in te process of finishing the dress and I like it so far. You're right about the neckline being low. I added 1.5 centimeter then I lowered the arm hole same size. As for the bias strap, I made my own, a bit narrower, and I hand sewn it :) made my life easier. I really like the fit
2/17/11 11:29 PM
EMSB said...
Jenny-NZ, I agree that the straps are set too wide as well. They do have a tendency to fall off the shoulders. I love your fix idea! I may borrow it :-) I don't know if you have done the side seams yet, but you may find that they interfere with the ability to put a belt over the top. Please post a picture when you're done. I'd love to see someone else's version!
1/3/11 10:23 PM
Jenny-NZ said...
Your version turned out lovely. I just finished the overtop. I added 3cm to the neckline and also added 20cm to the front length at the bottom as when I test fitted the pattern I could see it wasn't going to provide enough tummy cover for my liking as mine is going to be worn over trousers. I have to agree that the bias binding pattern piece provided was a bit mean in its width, if it had been approx 1cm wider it would have made life easier. I'm also finding the neckline becomes "wide" and attempts to fall off shoulders so I am about to add a same fabric thin strap across the back. I haven't put in the slits for the belt yet, its under debate as it looks OK with a belt worn over. However, with a change in the bias binding width I will be making this overtop again.
1/3/11 5:17 PM
janet said...
GREAT SAVE! You ended up with a BEAUTIFUL outfit. KUDOS to you.
1/3/11 7:56 AM
Catherine Daze said...
Love the colours and pleased it turned out well in the end. Thanks for the very helpful review. I've got this pattern and I will bear your experience in mind!
1/3/11 5:26 AM
Kay Y said...
Really pretty!
1/2/11 8:30 PM
SewWil said...
Looks great. You would never know that you came across so many issues while sewing it.
1/2/11 7:16 PM
julie w said...
very helpful review - great save with the lace it turned out beautiful
1/2/11 5:45 PM
VirginiasDghter said...
This turned out very nice! I like the lace detail. Thanks for the review.
1/2/11 3:02 PM
ButtonFaith said...
Glad to see this one reviewed! When this pattern came out I immediately thought 'that's for me!". After your review I'm rethinking it...thanks so much for pointing out the problem areas!
1/2/11 1:40 PM
Beek said...
With all the problems you encountered during the construction process, it still turned out stunningly beautiful.
1/2/11 12:43 PM
happytobehere said...
I like everything about your project! The colours are beautiful together and the lace is lovely.
1/2/11 12:30 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics
Beginners Guide to Dyeing Fabrics

Class Details

Butterick 5811

photo
by: 3kids1036

Review
Victory Ava Paper Pattern

Victory Ava Paper Pattern

More Info
Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

Sewing Workshop Helix Tee and Pants

More Info