Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 1195 (Misses' Top, Dress And Belt) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 705 times 4 more reviews
Review rated Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 9 people   
Reviewed by:EMSB
photo
About EMSBstar
TN USA
Member since: 8/1/10
Reviews written: 29
Sewing skills:Intermediate
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/2/11 10:51 AM
Last Updated:1/2/11 11:53 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    Tops    
Available for sale on PR: $30.00 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $30.00     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Gwyn Hug
Fabric Shopping Help!
Deals!
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
happytobehere said...
I like everything about your project! The colours are beautiful together and the lace is lovely.
1/2/11 12:30 PM
Beek said...
With all the problems you encountered during the construction process, it still turned out stunningly beautiful.
1/2/11 12:43 PM
ButtonFaith said...
Glad to see this one reviewed! When this pattern came out I immediately thought 'that's for me!". After your review I'm rethinking it...thanks so much for pointing out the problem areas!
1/2/11 1:40 PM
GodsgirlT said...
This turned out very nice! I like the lace detail. Thanks for the review.
1/2/11 3:02 PM
julie w said...
very helpful review - great save with the lace it turned out beautiful
1/2/11 5:45 PM
SewWil said...
Looks great. You would never know that you came across so many issues while sewing it.
1/2/11 7:16 PM
Kay Y said...
Really pretty!
1/2/11 8:30 PM
Catherine Daze said...
Love the colours and pleased it turned out well in the end. Thanks for the very helpful review. I've got this pattern and I will bear your experience in mind!
1/3/11 5:26 AM
janet said...
GREAT SAVE! You ended up with a BEAUTIFUL outfit. KUDOS to you.
1/3/11 7:56 AM
Jenny-NZ said...
Your version turned out lovely. I just finished the overtop. I added 3cm to the neckline and also added 20cm to the front length at the bottom as when I test fitted the pattern I could see it wasn't going to provide enough tummy cover for my liking as mine is going to be worn over trousers. I have to agree that the bias binding pattern piece provided was a bit mean in its width, if it had been approx 1cm wider it would have made life easier. I'm also finding the neckline becomes "wide" and attempts to fall off shoulders so I am about to add a same fabric thin strap across the back. I haven't put in the slits for the belt yet, its under debate as it looks OK with a belt worn over. However, with a change in the bias binding width I will be making this overtop again.
1/3/11 5:17 PM
EMSB said...
Jenny-NZ, I agree that the straps are set too wide as well. They do have a tendency to fall off the shoulders. I love your fix idea! I may borrow it :-) I don't know if you have done the side seams yet, but you may find that they interfere with the ability to put a belt over the top. Please post a picture when you're done. I'd love to see someone else's version!
1/3/11 10:23 PM
anne123184 said...
Great review! Love your color combination I'm actually in te process of finishing the dress and I like it so far. You're right about the neckline being low. I added 1.5 centimeter then I lowered the arm hole same size. As for the bias strap, I made my own, a bit narrower, and I hand sewn it :) made my life easier. I really like the fit
2/17/11 11:29 PM
angela langan said...
I am glad you stayed with it, looks nice, its the innocent looking patterns that can be the worst, lol.
4/4/11 3:57 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Restyling with Exposed Zippers
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Restyling with Exposed Zippers

Online Sewing Classes
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Vogue Patterns 7997 MISSES' TOP
photo
Review by mimi g. on 2/11/14
Read Review

SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern
SewBaby Casserole Carrier Pattern

Details
Price: $8.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Petite Plus 603 Pattern
Petite Plus 603 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Peek-A Boo Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Sneakers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern
Oliver + S School Photo Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Manequim 04-2012-2211 Skirt (Saia)
photo
Review by Kathhhhhy on 11/19/13
Read Review

Jalie 2787 Pattern
Jalie 2787 Pattern

Details
Price: $12.75
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6106 Pattern ( Size 42-44 )
McCalls 6106 Pattern ( Size 42-44 )

Details
Price: $13.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us