Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Kwik Sew: 3108 (ten curved panel skirt) thumbsup - Type:Skirts    printable version
Viewed 1769 times 9 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 6 people   
Reviewed by:jlg
photo
Friend of PR
About jlgstarstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/03
Reviews written: 187
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 154 people
patterns reviewed: 171
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/04 12:42 PM


See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
So Vintage Patterns
Thank You for Joining!
Deals!
Fitz Like a Glove Ironing Board Cover
Made In Australia
Deals!
SewBaby
Unique Sewing Patterns
Deals!
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Patti B said...
Great fabric and cute skirt. Looks like summer.
6/30/04 1:17 PM
Hilary said...
Pretty skirt! I need to get a gore skirt pattern ~but I think i've hit my pattern limit this month. Luckily, tomorrow is a new month :o) lol
6/30/04 1:25 PM
Teri said...
Wow, I love that fabric and what a cute skirt!
6/30/04 1:30 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I love that skirt on you. The print is so lovely. JLG, I used foldover elastic instead of a casing, and I don't have any problems with the poufiness. Maybe that's something to try next time? -Ann
6/30/04 1:51 PM
Skymom said...
I love it. The colors are great--exactly the sort of print you'd want to twirl around in! Don't beat yourself up about the rolled hem. Honestly, trying to do a rolled hem over 10 sets of seam allowances (esp. if you've serged them) sounds like a good way to make yourself crazy. Save the rolled hem for a simpler style. If your fabric is quite lightweight, doing a 5/8 inch topstitched hem should be fine.
6/30/04 2:09 PM
Elona said...
That is too cute! It really is. To reduce the poofiness at the waistline, you could try tapering the seamlines from hip to waist until you had jut enough width to slide over your hips with the elastic waist. Or skip the elastic and maybe just make a shaped,faced waistline with an invisible zipper in one of those seams.
6/30/04 2:23 PM
Lisa Laree said...
What a great skirt! Anyone would think you got in a trendy little boutique! I haven't tried this view on this pattern yet; I need to! I'm wondering about the waist...do you have a lot of extra room when you pull it over your hips? If you do, you could probably trim just a hair off the panels (not much -- spread over 10 seams, even 1/16" would take off 1 1/4" ) at the waist. I try to make pull-on waistbands just an inch bigger than my hip measurement...
6/30/04 2:27 PM
MaryBeth said...
I really like you in brighter colors!
6/30/04 2:40 PM
mudcat said...
I love your fabric. Do you think the XS might work better for getting less fabric at the waist....or possibly XS at the waist and S everywhere else.
6/30/04 7:23 PM
Levone said...
Your skirt looks great on you. I love your fabric, as I bought a piece too from Fabric.com to make a little summer top. ;o) It's good to see it actually made up.
6/30/04 10:40 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I have this pattern and with your review as well as a few others I need to just cut and sew. I love this fabric. I am really liking the retro, geometric look and this skirt made up beautifully. Thanks for the information regarding waist line treatment.
7/1/04 5:39 AM
JDpenelope said...
You have the figure for this style. Waist looks perfect, but thanks for the cautions.
7/1/04 6:35 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
WOW! What a knockout skirt. You look fabulous!
10/4/04 10:02 PM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Online Sewing Classes
Leather 101
Fee: $29.00
(Regular $49.00)
Leather 101

Simplicity 1816
photo
Review by kathleencr... on 8/24/12
Read Review

Peek-A Boo Duck Slippers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )
Peek-A Boo Duck Slippers Digital Pattern ( Size 0 mo -18 mo )

Details
Price: $3.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Amaryllis Dress Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Amaryllis Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Butterick 4865
photo
Review by annakeeton on 5/22/11
Read Review

Petite Plus 202 Pattern
Petite Plus 202 Pattern

Details
Price: $21.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern
You Sew Girl Adult Hats Pattern

Details
Price: $22.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

McCalls 6376 Pattern ( Size 3-45-6 7-8 )
McCalls 6376 Pattern ( Size 3-45-6 7-8 )

Details
Price: $18.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Kwik Sew 4016 Pattern
Kwik Sew 4016 Pattern

Details
Price: $11.99
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us