SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fashion Fabrics Club
Fashion Fabrics Club

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 3108 (ten curved panel skirt)

9 more reviews
Viewed 1771 times 
Reviewed by:jlg
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About jlgstarstarstarstar
Member since: 3/5/03
Reviews written: 189
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 155 people
patterns reviewed: 172
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:6/30/04 12:42 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 6 people   
See other patterns in this category: Vests    Tops    Coat/Jacket    Suits / Separates    Skirts    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Patti B said...
Great fabric and cute skirt. Looks like summer.
6/30/04 1:17 PM
Hilary said...
Pretty skirt! I need to get a gore skirt pattern ~but I think i've hit my pattern limit this month. Luckily, tomorrow is a new month :o) lol
6/30/04 1:25 PM
Teri said...
Wow, I love that fabric and what a cute skirt!
6/30/04 1:30 PM
GorgeousFabrics said...
I love that skirt on you. The print is so lovely. JLG, I used foldover elastic instead of a casing, and I don't have any problems with the poufiness. Maybe that's something to try next time? -Ann
6/30/04 1:51 PM
Skymom said...
I love it. The colors are great--exactly the sort of print you'd want to twirl around in! Don't beat yourself up about the rolled hem. Honestly, trying to do a rolled hem over 10 sets of seam allowances (esp. if you've serged them) sounds like a good way to make yourself crazy. Save the rolled hem for a simpler style. If your fabric is quite lightweight, doing a 5/8 inch topstitched hem should be fine.
6/30/04 2:09 PM
Elona said...
That is too cute! It really is. To reduce the poofiness at the waistline, you could try tapering the seamlines from hip to waist until you had jut enough width to slide over your hips with the elastic waist. Or skip the elastic and maybe just make a shaped,faced waistline with an invisible zipper in one of those seams.
6/30/04 2:23 PM
Lisa Laree said...
What a great skirt! Anyone would think you got in a trendy little boutique! I haven't tried this view on this pattern yet; I need to! I'm wondering about the waist...do you have a lot of extra room when you pull it over your hips? If you do, you could probably trim just a hair off the panels (not much -- spread over 10 seams, even 1/16" would take off 1 1/4" ) at the waist. I try to make pull-on waistbands just an inch bigger than my hip measurement...
6/30/04 2:27 PM
MaryBeth said...
I really like you in brighter colors!
6/30/04 2:40 PM
mudcat said...
I love your fabric. Do you think the XS might work better for getting less fabric at the waist....or possibly XS at the waist and S everywhere else.
6/30/04 7:23 PM
Levone said...
Your skirt looks great on you. I love your fabric, as I bought a piece too from Fabric.com to make a little summer top. ;o) It's good to see it actually made up.
6/30/04 10:40 PM
Danvillegirl said...
I have this pattern and with your review as well as a few others I need to just cut and sew. I love this fabric. I am really liking the retro, geometric look and this skirt made up beautifully. Thanks for the information regarding waist line treatment.
7/1/04 5:39 AM
JDpenelope said...
You have the figure for this style. Waist looks perfect, but thanks for the cautions.
7/1/04 6:35 AM
Katharine in BXL said...
WOW! What a knockout skirt. You look fabulous!
10/4/04 10:02 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger
Serging Ahead with your 5 Thread Serger

Register

BurdaStyle Downloadable 10/2012 #132 - S

photo
by: norie crea...

Review
Fit For Real People DVD

Fit For Real People DVD

Buy Now
Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Petite Plus 102 Pattern

Buy Now