SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
PatternReview.com
PatternReview.com

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2952 (Blouses)

5 more reviews
Review submitted in 2012 Fabric Stash Contest Contest
Viewed 592 times 
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 164
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 118
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/18/11 5:19 AM
Last Updated:1/26/12 3:12 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Kwik Sew: 2952 by FreyaStark  Kwik Sew: 2952 by FreyaStark  
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
MNBarb said...
The linen is so perfect for summer. Too bad about the front placket business. Those square buttons were such a good choice. I hope you can do a little reshaping to make this a wearable garment.
1/18/11 7:42 AM
mastdenman said...
Your linen is beautiful. Does the front lay flat when it's not buttoned?
1/18/11 9:55 AM
Mini said...
I think mcCalls 5052 is so much more flattering on you. This one has been in Kwik Sew's catalog for a long time, and has that outdated oversized extended shoulder line that a lot of their tops have. I wish they would update their drafts, because even their newer patterns have this. But since the bust dart works, you can transfer it to a better pattern. And you could re-use the buttons too. - they would look great with one of your Liberty prints.
1/19/11 11:39 AM
Mini said...

1/19/11 11:39 AM
persevering said...
Thanks for posting and sharing your experience. I appreciate your analysis and comparison you give regarding the patterns you sew as well as these types of comments from others. Yes, the linen is beautiful and if you can choose this neutral color shirt to wear unbuttomed for modesty and comfort value over a sleeveless outfit on your travels in hot weather.
1/19/11 12:43 PM
grey ann said...
Thank you for this review. The fabric and buttons are lovely, too bad about the puckering, but we all learned from your mistake, so thanks.
1/21/11 8:46 PM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks all for those encouraging remarks. No, the front does not lie flat when it's not buttoned. It might have been possible to make it do so if I had thought about the problem more intelligently earlier, but the full horror of it did not strike me until after I'd stitched and cut the buttonholes ...
1/22/11 3:17 AM
Annette1 said...
I hope you whipped this one into shape, because it would be such a shame not to get to wear this BEAUTIFUL ice blue linen with those ICEY buttons. :o)
1/23/11 2:27 AM
JETrinity said...
Perfect blouse to use many times. I love the ice blue color.
2/3/11 2:56 PM
fourkid said...
Such beautiful buttons and linen. So sorry about how this did not behave correctly - can you put the darts onto your McCall's pattern - that might be an ideal marriage.
2/18/11 5:02 PM
mm said...
The fit looks good. A successful addition to your extensive shirt collection.
1/26/12 1:55 AM
CAgirl said...
Great fit and fabric make for a very attractive blouse!
1/26/12 9:29 AM
RadarRadiance said...
Love your fabric print and fit of this pattern, very nice.....looks perfect on!
1/26/12 10:13 AM
marec said...
Not only did you get a beautiful shirt from your stashed poplin, which I love, but you persevered and mastered that dang pattern :-) I learn so much from your reviews and refer to them often when sewing a woven blouse. (FYI-change cm to mm in paragraph 1)
1/26/12 12:33 PM
Jrhee said...
Very cute blouse in a pretty fabric, with a hint of tropical.
1/26/12 2:43 PM
mssewcrazy said...
Pretty blouse! I always enjoy seeing the shirts you make.
1/27/12 7:57 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Create a Jacket Muslin
Create a Jacket Muslin

Register

10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro
10 Clever Techniques To Help You Sew Like a Pro

Register

McCall's 6433

photo
by: Josnazz

Review
Butterick 6408

photo
by: lauramae

Review
You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

You Sew Girl Carry All Pattern

Buy Now
Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Favorite Things The Wrap Dress Pattern

Buy Now