SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Kwik Sew> 2952 (Blouses)

5 more reviews
Review submitted in 2012 Fabric Stash Contest Contest
Viewed 598 times 
Reviewed by:FreyaStark
photo
Friend of PR

 
 
About FreyaStarkstarstarstarstar
AUSTRALIA
Member since: 6/12/08
Reviews written: 166
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 48 people
patterns reviewed: 120
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/18/11 5:19 AM
Last Updated:1/26/12 3:12 PM
Pattern Size:Plus-Sized Regular Petite 


Kwik Sew: 2952 by FreyaStark  Kwik Sew: 2952 by FreyaStark  
Review Rating: Very Helpful by 9 people   
See other patterns in this category: Tops    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
16 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
mssewcrazy said...
Pretty blouse! I always enjoy seeing the shirts you make.
1/27/12 7:57 AM
Jrhee said...
Very cute blouse in a pretty fabric, with a hint of tropical.
1/26/12 2:43 PM
marec said...
Not only did you get a beautiful shirt from your stashed poplin, which I love, but you persevered and mastered that dang pattern :-) I learn so much from your reviews and refer to them often when sewing a woven blouse. (FYI-change cm to mm in paragraph 1)
1/26/12 12:33 PM
RadarRadiance said...
Love your fabric print and fit of this pattern, very nice.....looks perfect on!
1/26/12 10:13 AM
CAgirl said...
Great fit and fabric make for a very attractive blouse!
1/26/12 9:29 AM
mm said...
The fit looks good. A successful addition to your extensive shirt collection.
1/26/12 1:55 AM
fourkid said...
Such beautiful buttons and linen. So sorry about how this did not behave correctly - can you put the darts onto your McCall's pattern - that might be an ideal marriage.
2/18/11 5:02 PM
JETrinity said...
Perfect blouse to use many times. I love the ice blue color.
2/3/11 2:56 PM
Annette1 said...
I hope you whipped this one into shape, because it would be such a shame not to get to wear this BEAUTIFUL ice blue linen with those ICEY buttons. :o)
1/23/11 2:27 AM
FreyaStark said...
Thanks all for those encouraging remarks. No, the front does not lie flat when it's not buttoned. It might have been possible to make it do so if I had thought about the problem more intelligently earlier, but the full horror of it did not strike me until after I'd stitched and cut the buttonholes ...
1/22/11 3:17 AM
grey ann said...
Thank you for this review. The fabric and buttons are lovely, too bad about the puckering, but we all learned from your mistake, so thanks.
1/21/11 8:46 PM
persevering said...
Thanks for posting and sharing your experience. I appreciate your analysis and comparison you give regarding the patterns you sew as well as these types of comments from others. Yes, the linen is beautiful and if you can choose this neutral color shirt to wear unbuttomed for modesty and comfort value over a sleeveless outfit on your travels in hot weather.
1/19/11 12:43 PM
Mini said...

1/19/11 11:39 AM
Mini said...
I think mcCalls 5052 is so much more flattering on you. This one has been in Kwik Sew's catalog for a long time, and has that outdated oversized extended shoulder line that a lot of their tops have. I wish they would update their drafts, because even their newer patterns have this. But since the bust dart works, you can transfer it to a better pattern. And you could re-use the buttons too. - they would look great with one of your Liberty prints.
1/19/11 11:39 AM
mastdenman said...
Your linen is beautiful. Does the front lay flat when it's not buttoned?
1/18/11 9:55 AM
MNBarb said...
The linen is so perfect for summer. Too bad about the front placket business. Those square buttons were such a good choice. I hope you can do a little reshaping to make this a wearable garment.
1/18/11 7:42 AM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Simplicity 8459

photo
by: Jemajyng

Review
Victory Simone Paper Pattern

Victory Simone Paper Pattern

More Info
SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

SewBaby Snap Happy Booties Pattern

More Info