SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
PR Weekend Los Angeles

Pattern Reviews> No Pattern Used> 000000 (Jailbird top)

6 more reviews
Viewed 136 times 
Reviewed by:rivergum
photo

 
 
About rivergumstarstarstarstar
Member since: 12/17/06
Reviews written: 134
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 58 people
patterns reviewed: 129
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review

Posted on:1/6/11 3:51 AM
Last Updated:1/6/11 5:22 AM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 4 people   
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
11 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
annie1129 said... (1/13/11 6:52 PM) Reply
Love it!!
CallMeSu said... (1/7/11 1:37 AM) Reply
Sharp! Great work!
rivergum said... (1/6/11 9:11 PM) Reply
Leslie, i covered my kitchen table with newspaper and laid the cut pieces out on that. I then carefully stuck on the masking tape to create the stripes, sticking the ends to the paper. That held everything steady enough for the foam roller. I used Derivan screen printing ink, but i believe Permaset is the best ink and I plan to get some. I also have fixed the ink now, using the dryer and then the oven for good measure. The oven did not damage the fabric and it makes me feel safer than the dryer because I know what the temp is.
Leslie in NZ said... (1/6/11 7:01 PM) Reply
I love the effect you have acheived on this top! Did you tape the fabric down to keep it from moving? What type of ink did you use? I look forward to your next masterpiece!
Schnauzer said... (1/6/11 4:15 PM) Reply
Your top looks great. Well done!
Kayseri said... (1/6/11 1:59 PM) Reply
What a fabulous tunic. If your fabric can take it another way to heat set your ink is to put the garment in the dryer for 15mins on its highest temperature. I shared house with someone screen printing at home and our dryer was going for days in the lead up to Xmas:).
DorothyK said... (1/6/11 11:06 AM) Reply
The entire project is fabulous, from the pattern to the fabric. I love the way it looks on you. Congratulations on a job well done.
nicegirl said... (1/6/11 10:44 AM) Reply
I really like the sleeves--the way the armscye is shaped is really interesting. But I can see it would be a pain to wear! Nice job on the stripes! I think dryers are uncommon in Aus, but if you have access to one you might also turn the shirt inside out and place in a lingerie bag and tumble dry to heat set.
RadarRadiance said... (1/6/11 10:30 AM) Reply
Love the stripes! Looks like a fun top to wear.
na1212 said... (1/6/11 6:34 AM) Reply
Very cool way to start off the year!
FreyaStark said... (1/6/11 4:51 AM) Reply
A fabulously snazzy top. Please don't send it up in flames.
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Put it on the Bias
Put it on the Bias

Class Details

Online Class
Break your Serger Out of the Box
Break your Serger Out of the Box

Class Details

Kwik Sew 2948

photo
by: pdiddly

Review
Silhouette Patterns 312

photo
by: Sew Passio...

Review
Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Sewing Workshop Deja Vu Wrap Pattern

Pattern Details
Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Paper Pattern

Jamie Christina Mission Maxi Paper Pattern

Pattern Details