Sewing Patterns, Pattern Review, Sewing Classes, Sewing Machines and Sewing Machine Reviews!
Platinum Sponsor: Stylish Fabric
Over 20,000 of high quality reorderable fabric

[SIGNUP - FREE Membership & 1 FREE Sewing Lesson ]
[Sewing Classes|Shopping Bag Your Shopping Bag|Login|Help]
Sewing Review and Pattern Reviews Sewing Knowledge Base Sewing Patterns Sewing Classes & Sewing Lessons Sewing Machine & Embroidery Machinery Sewing Message Boards Sewing merchants Blog Help/FAQ About Pattern Review
Enter your e-mail address:




Advanced Search
Tags
New to PR?
Sewing Machines
Compare Sewing Machines
Sewing Machine & Serger Reviews
Embroidery Machines
Sewing Reviews
Sewing Patterns
Review Gallery
Sewing Books
Sewing Supplies
Sewing Websites
Sewing Stores
Sewing Class Reviews
Sewing Expo Reviews
Sewing Tips & Techniques
Sewing Podcasts
NEW!Fabric Glossary
Sewing Review RequestsAdd a Review Request
Your Account
Edit Profile
My Page
Favorites
Wish List
Pattern Catalog
Notifications
Friends of PR
Join Friends of PR
Find a member
Deal Corner
Photo Album
Calendar
Chat Room
Chat Schedule
Chat Transcripts
Sewing Classifieds
Add a Classified
Sewing Contests
enter contest
contest report
contest gallery
Favorite Links
reviews with comments
merchant gallery
article archive
newsletter archive
Craft Resources
contact info
shipping rates
returns & refunds
testimonials
Platinum Sponsor - Stylish Fabric
Stylish Fabric
Vogue Patterns: 8648 (Misses' Dress) thumbsup - Type:Dresses    printable version
Viewed 867 times 29 more reviews
Review rated Very Helpful by 3 people   
Reviewed by:KathleenS
photo
Friend of PR
About KathleenSstarstar
NA AUSTRALIA
Member since: 11/18/02
Reviews written: 74
Sewing skills:Intermediate
Favored by: 25 people
patterns reviewed: 68
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:2/1/11 3:30 AM
Last Updated:2/1/11 3:44 AM


See other patterns in this category: Dresses    
Available for sale on PR: $27.50 (See envelope) Click to Buy
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
Buy this pattern for $27.50     Add to Bag Add to Bag
 
thumbsup Pattern with more than 5 reviews!
Merchants on PR
Lanetzliving Vintage Sewing Patterns
Vintage Sewing Patterns
Deals!
Style Arc sewing dress patterns
Patterns That Fit
Web site
Victoria Jones Collection
Timeless Hawaiian styles
Web site
<< Previous      Next >>
13 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
FreyaStark said...
It looks pretty good to me. I like it the way it is, and I don't think a belt would be an improvement. Your solution to insufficient fabric is clever, and the neck trim is a nice touch. Thanks for the link to that fabulous tip about interlining.
2/1/11 4:34 AM
PJH said...
What a lovely dress! I think it's great without a belt.
2/1/11 6:36 AM
loti said...
I like it without the belt, the piping ties the top to the skirt. If you have any scraps you could make a pin and put it on the bodice somewhere.
2/1/11 8:40 AM
SewWil said...
Cute dress. I don't think it needs a belt. Thank you for the detailed review.
2/1/11 9:50 AM
kkkkaty said...
I like it also, and I like the mix of fabrics.
2/1/11 10:00 AM
NancyZL said...
I like it very much as is. As loti said a flower/fabric pin on the bodice could tie it together more .
2/1/11 10:01 AM
homejewel said...
Your dress is beautiful - I love it as is!
2/1/11 12:11 PM
persevering said...
Lovely dress (the piping really ties it in) and great review! Looking at your dress and glimpsing at some of your previous garments (to try to understand what suits you), I suggest you take in the skirt part on the side seams if possible (guess it would be difficult with the lovely interlining/lining) to streamline and have this dress more flattering on you. However, you did great work, and your dress is also beautiful as it is. Congratulations!
2/1/11 12:20 PM
pfaffkj said...
Your dress is lovely. And your constructions is wonderful. I agree with others that a belt would not be a helpful addition. The idea of a fabric pin is a good one. The dress looks very nice on you, I hope that as you wear it, you'll decide you like it more than you do now!
2/1/11 12:45 PM
sunnysewer said...
great summer dress, love the fabric, and I like the contrast white and floral. very nice comprehensive review.
2/1/11 1:24 PM
nicegirl said...
Ah, I think it's cute! It looks so summery and comfortable. If you're not happy with it, I would suggest shortening the bodice a squidge, maybe just half an inch. It looks like it's sitting slightly below your natural waist, which might make it feel boxy (I have a high waist so am very sensitive to waistline placement--it's never in the right place for me as drafted). Just pin out some bodice length and see if that makes a difference. It could also be taken in a little for a more trim look--but frankly, I'd try a wider belt before doing that. I know, both of these require major unpicking and redoing. No fun. I also like Loti's idea of a yo yo or kanzashi pin for the bodice.
2/1/11 2:32 PM
Mel.J said...
Kathleen, thanks for all the tips in this review. I agree with nicegirl's suggestion to try a wider belt (the red colour was good for a belt though). I can imagine it having a real 50's feel. Also, once the weather cools down, maybe a jacket (denim?) over the top would be worth a try.
2/2/11 6:19 AM
JoJo Sews said...
The gorgeous piping brings the dress together and I would agree with nicegirl - if you have the energy you could take in the bodice a little, but Aussie summers can be very hot and a little air flow is not always a bad thing! I feel the whole dress in the floral might have been a bit overwhelming - your bodice is fresh and definitely not out of place. I love the line of the skirt also - perfect, feminine and flattering. Wear it with confidence!
4/30/11 8:36 AM
Login
Online Sewing Classes
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fee: $39.99
(Regular $39.99)
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Online Sewing Classes
The Contemporary Couture Jacket
Fee: $49.00
(Regular $49.00)
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Other Le Cadran de la Mode
photo
Review by MaryBeth on 10/24/09
Read Review

Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern
Favorite Things Lounge Around Pattern

Details
Price: $14.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Fit For Real People DVD
Fit For Real People DVD

Details
Price: $19.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Sis Boom Dana Top and Dress Digital Pattern
Sis Boom Dana Top and Dress Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $10.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern
Blank Slate Basic Blazer Digital Pattern

Details
Price: $7.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Ottobre Woman Magazine 02-2011-9 Perugia Blouse
photo
Review by SilvrGhost on 4/21/11
Read Review

Butterick 4254 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )
Butterick 4254 Pattern ( Size 18-20-22 )

Details
Price: $15.95
Add to Bag Add to Bag

Vogue 8934 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )
Vogue 8934 Pattern ( Size XSM-SML-MED )

Details
Price: $30.00
Add to Bag Add to Bag


Copyright © 2014 PatternReview.com® , OSATech, Inc. All rights reserved.
Conditions of Use | Posting Guidelines | Privacy Policy | Contact Us