SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login
Platinum Sponsor
Fabulous Fit
Fabulous Fit

Pattern Reviews> BurdaStyle Magazine> 10-2010-130 (jacket)

Viewed 946 times 
Reviewed by:style inspired
photo

 
 
About style inspiredstar
Canada
Member since: 6/4/10
Reviews: 78 (patterns: 76)
Body Type:
Skill level:Intermediate
Favored by: 5 people
more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/29/11 3:31 PM
Last Updated:5/15/11 10:19 AM
Review Rating: Helpful by 2 people    Very Helpful by 2 people   
See reviews of patterns from this issue
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.

Merchants on PR

Patterns from the Past


vintage sewing patterns
Deals!

Reconstructing History


Historical Patterns
Web site

Nature's Fabrics


Natural & Organic Fabrics
Deals!

<< Previous      Next >>
5 Comments      Login to Add a Comment    
Sewingelle said... (5/23/11 0:53 AM) Reply
Wow this looks great. I have this one my to-do list and its been on that list now since October last year... Lucky for me I'm in Australia, so if I make it soon, it will still be good for winter! One of the things holding me up is that I can't figure out the instructions for the petersham ribbon trim and how you finish the jacket edge to which the ribbon trim is sewn. So I'm procrastinating and trialling the pattern with a synthetic shearling, without the sleeves..
Lizz said... (1/30/11 1:58 PM) Reply
How will this "wear" without the straps? I am looking to make this jacket, but without them. Will it stay up on your shoulders or does it pull to the back and flap open all the time?
style inspired said... (1/10/11 11:12 AM) Reply
The hem is longer in the back than in the front. The far left piece is the collar and centre front in one piece. The jacket doesn't have a closure, other than the button-on shoulder straps to help keep it on. I think the idea is to cross the straps in the front and button the bottom of the straps to the lower front on the inside.
Kayseri said... (1/9/11 4:32 PM) Reply
Yeah, I'm so glad someone is trying this. It's mid summer here so I've been thinking of trying this in 3 months.
Karen Easter said... (1/9/11 2:20 PM) Reply
Wow, this looks really interesting. Is are the crossed pieces in the Burda photo on the back? Or is it the closure for the front? I can't quite figure out what I'm seeing...
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Online Class
Fit the Tee to a T
Fit the Tee to a T

Class Details

Online Class
Leather 101
Leather 101

Class Details

McCall's 6751

photo
by: sarahjk

Review
BurdaStyle Magazine 05-2014-105

photo
by: grays08

Review
Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Stitch 'n' Flip Jacket Construction  - A downloadable Book by Shannon Gifford

Pattern Details
Victoria Jones Collection Pattern 205

Victoria Jones Collection Pattern 205

Pattern Details