SIGNUP - FREE Membership and 1 FREE Sewing Lesson
| FAQ | Login

Pattern Reviews> Sewing Workshop> Ikina Jacket & Pants (Ikina Jacket & Pants)

9 more reviews
Viewed 749 times 
Reviewed by:Terri K
photo

 
 
About Terri Kstar
NC USA
Member since: 7/19/03
Reviews written: 25
Sewing skills:Advanced
Favored by: 34 people
patterns reviewed: 25
Bio: more...
Report a problem with this review
Posted on:1/9/11 12:10 PM
Last Updated:1/9/11 12:12 PM


Review Rating: Very Helpful by 7 people   
See other patterns in this category: Coat/Jacket    Pants    
To read this review, please Login. Only registered members can read reviews written more than 6 months ago.
<< Previous      Next >>
14 Comments      Login to Add a Comment
Cultured Purl said...
Your sewing is an inspiration to those of us that are new or returning sewists,,lovely job~
5/4/11 7:05 PM
grey ann said...
Thank you for this review. I love all your jackets, but this last one is so special. Just beautiful. I am heading off to cut a muslin from this pattern. Thanks for all the inspiration and I wish you the best of health.
4/20/11 8:08 PM
lesliez said...
I love swing jackets and yours are beautiful, particularly this one with the fur trim. Your ability to remake this jacket over and over in unique ways is truly inspiring!
1/10/11 12:23 PM
magoe6217 said...
All of your Ikina jackets are beautiful, but this one is truly inspired. The faux fur collar and Chanel- style lining makes it a true couture tour de force. I too have made this jacket many times and keep coming back to it over and over again. I have at least two more planned. Thanks for inspiring me with another ingenious variation using this pattern.
1/10/11 10:53 AM
marthamyers said...
So glad to see you back on PR, Terri. I do love your work - we trend towards the same patterns, but you are much more bold than I am! You've inspired me to make another channel-style jacket. I'll bet it feels as yummy as it looks. And the faux fur is divine. Hope your health improves.
1/10/11 9:51 AM
Terri K said...
Thank you all for your generous comments. To clarify, I only gave two of the knit ones away - talk about a nice gift that goes together faster than some crafty thing! Dorothy, re the shoes, most women go down a size in them. I have little feeling in my feet (used to be none) and I was originally fitted in a size 38 that I slopped around in. Then I went down to a 37 that fits correctly. They should be releasing some new colors for spring!
1/9/11 6:12 PM
FreyaStark said...
Fabulous jackets, and an inspirational review.
1/9/11 6:10 PM
Kathy in NM said...
Oh my! What a great interpretation of this jacket. You've made me take a second look at this pattern. I really like all your versions! Thanks for the review!
1/9/11 5:36 PM
pterion said...
Lovely work! What beautiful jackets.
1/9/11 5:23 PM
Kayseri said...
What lovely jackets. I'd never consider this pattern but these are inspiring.
1/9/11 3:47 PM
DorothyK said...
I am blown away by the work you do. These jackets are amazing, and you wear them so well - and with such attitude. I found that shoe line when I was in Pacific Grove last week and fell in love with them. They didn't have my size, so I will be looking for them online. Not only are they cool looking, but they are soooo comfortable.
1/9/11 3:33 PM
JillyBe said...
So lovely! This pattern has always sort of intrigued me, but I wasn't wild about those side flaps. Thank you for the inspiration of the changes you've done :)
1/9/11 3:32 PM
Rhonda in Montreal said...
You've given these jackets as GIFTS??!! YOU are a very generous gal!! Bravo on your work, too ;)
1/9/11 3:15 PM
BillieJean said...
I love all your jackets.
1/9/11 2:13 PM
 
adv. search»
pattern | machine | member
        
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts
Fun with Fitting - BODICE w Darts

Register

The Contemporary Couture Jacket
The Contemporary Couture Jacket

Register

McCall's 6700

photo
by: DeniseAnge...

Review
Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Sew Chic MyrtleWood Dress Pattern (ln7401)

Buy Now
Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Sew Liberated Sunday Picnic Blouse and Dress

Buy Now